We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, truely Moroccan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palmier

Save Saved
You added Riad Palmier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Palmier
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming place, truely Moroccan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in riad Palmier in May 2013. If you want to experience real Morocco staying in a traditional riad is a must. Riad Palmier is very well situated, not far from the main square Jenaa el Fna (a pleasant 15-20min walk pretty much along just one street), and we never got lost. The rooms are small but charming, truely Moroccan style. Very friendly staff and the owner who is French gave us a thorough explanation on arrival of all the nearby attractions and also provided a map. I also loved the storks nesting on the nearby walls of the palace's ruins. Breakfast is continental (juice, yogurt, pancake, coffee), but quite good. We also had a complimentary pick-up at the airport.
Some general tips:
Riads are former "rich-man" houses transformed into boutique hotels. All rooms are overlooking the internal yard that usually has a small pool and some lounge chairs. Perhaps in terms of riad who your neighbours are matters a bit more than in a normal hotel, as its like staying all together in one big house. We were lucky as other people in our riad were quite and friendly. Also, I recommend to rent a more expensive room on the 1st or 2nd floor, as the ground floor rooms' doors and windows open into the common lounge area and they are less private and noiser (everyone passes by them).
A bit of warning to people suffering from allergies: it can be triggered by the antique furniture and natural-feather pillows that are common in riads (happened to us).
All in all, I recommend riad Palmier as a good base to explore Marrakech. We also stayed in the new part of the city but if you are after a proper Moroccan experience I would recommend to stay in old Medina for at least 1-2 nights. Also dont pay too much attention to the horror stories of being constantly harrased on the streets, Moroccans are really polite and good mannered compare to some other arabic countries. Noone was aggressive, and the only time we were pestered was in Atlas mountains valley by some boys selling palm-leave camels, and even that wasnt really much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed here in March 2012 but I still can remember how beautiful this hotel is. It is located in Medina, few steps away from the shops and just few minutes walk to Jemaa El Fna.

The hotel is located off the main road so in the beginning we were very scared to get off from the taxi because it;s not only that we were ripped off, we also can not see any sign of this hotel from the main road, However, the moment we arrived at the premises of Riad Palmier, we were greeted by their staff who made us a traditional Moroccan tea. The owner then explained the map of Marrakech to us suggesting the things we need to see, places to eat, etc.

The breakast is served whenever you want, whatever you want, and wherever you want. So we had breakfast by the pool which was good, breakfast by the terrace and breakfast by our balcony which was a nice touch. The food is fresh and the bread taste like it's just baked. I can not fault the breakfast nor the service we receive from everyone at the hotel.

As we were a bit hesitant to eat outside during our first few days in Marrakech, we were having our dinner in the hotel which was delicious. The food, although I am not an expert on Morroccan kitchen, tasted so fresh and home-made. The portions were also very big. 1 dish was enough for 2 people.

In the evening, the pool is graced with big floating candles giving a romantic feel.

The owners were very nice and helpful. I had a problem with my bank card during my stay and the owner let me use her phone to call long distance for free.

We also asked the staff to help us book bus tickets as well as booking a table for dinner which they were very happy to oblige.

Overall, this hotel is great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Riad Palmier in October 2012 for 5 nights. We got to know the staff and the manager very well. They are all locals who can help you navigate the craziness outside the calm of the Riad's walls. We were on the top floor overlooking the pelicans in their nests. We had the terrace all to ourselves. The room was very small but the terrace and the service made up for it. We feel very lucky to have stayed at this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Marrakech for only two days and between the visit to the city and the interaction to the population, we had an amazing time on Riad Palmier. When we were walking to the Riad we were a bit scared to see what would it be like, because we need to walk in a narrow and dark street (it was getting dark, about 7pm). But then we entered in the small Riad, and we were already amazed in the first secounds. It was a small paradise, a marroquine paradise, with an amazing palmier, an amazing pool, a very beautiful and very well decorated Riad. The rooms, were so pretty, an amazing surprise. All in a very traditional marroquine style. We were already very happy with our choice, but more amazing than that, it was the service. All the employes were very nice, always trying to fill our needs, always giving us all of the best. On our secound day, we ate our breakfast on the terrace, a very good breakfast with some tradicional marroquine pancakes. The hotel manager and the employer that was on duty will we were there, always helped us in what we needed to know about the city. The manager also invited us to a small meeting, where he explained all we needed to know and all the places we should see. It was an amazing journey, and Hotel Riad Palmier were the best place we could stay. We recomend all the visitors of Marraquech to go there, and we have to thank to Hotel Riad Palmier for the best stay we ever had!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is amazing, we arrive the 1st of August, right in the middle of Ramadan and the highest heat you could ever imaging (117C), it was very nice to come back to our Riad to refresh our selves in the pool, even tough the size is small, just for the 3 of us was just fine. The service is the best part, they will do whatever they can to make you feel comfortable, they will help you find taxis, tours, anything you want. My husband asked one of them who is a soccer fan to get a Barcelona T-shirt at the market because we couldn't find a lower price and he did, he even gave us Moroccan music as souvenir. The manager Jean-Fracois is great, he was there every day to make sure everything was ok with us and in case we needed help for anything. The rooms were spacious with AC, although bathrooms were a bit warmer due to have the water heater on, we had to open the bathroom window to maintain the heat out. Decor is wonderful, we really loved it there. We had a dinner on the roof, we couldn't hear any sounds from the streets, that was very nice. In the morning you wake up to the sounds of the birds. Badi palace is next door and Jemma plaza is just a 10 minute walk. I definitely recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: centric, 5 star riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in Riad Palmier in March and i must say even then the weather was very hot. The hotel itself is great. It looks and feels lovely. Our room was nicely deigned and quite spacious. We loved the en suite shower room. On the roof of this hotel you can relax on the terrace or in the tent. The only minus is the swimming pool. It's very small. The staff and the owners are amazing. Honestly we couldn't ask for better service. They will bring your food whenever you want it and wherever you want it. For example you can ask to have breakfast on the roof at 10am and it will be there :D Their food is very fresh and cooked by a proper chef (typical morrocan cousine ). Staff can speak good english comparing to most places in Morroco. - everybody speaks french. Hotel is located right in the middle of the old city So you have 5-10 min walk to all the markets, restaurants and the main square. Although it is inside of a busy city you cannot hear almost anything inside. It was very helpful after all the noise in the city. I would recommend this place for people planning to visit Marrakech for 3 days and then stay somewhere outside Morroco. The hotel is lovely but as soon as you will go outside people won't stop bothering you to come into their shop and buy stuff. Aww and don't pay the taxi driver on the airport more than 80 dirhams. They will try to charge you 300 but a normal price is 60 so when you are giving them 80 you are already overpaying. Overall it was a really lovely and interesting stay i would go back there again, But only for 3 days

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 1st floor so you won't hear people when they are eating their breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Charming Riad with a great location - when we arrived at the Riad the staff welcomed us very warmly. And showed us our rooms. They also gave recommendations on what to see and where to eat. The romms are have a great individual maroccan style design. after a day in the souks the riad is a haven of tranquility. From the rooftop terrace you can see the storks at the badi palace. I also recommend to order once or twice Maroccan food in the Riad, the servings are huge and delicious. Overall a great place in Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Palmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palmier

Address: 22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Palmier 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Riad Palmier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palmier Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Palmier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.