We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palmier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Palmier to your Saves list
Riad Palmier
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #441 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in Riad Palmier in March and i must say even then the weather was very hot. The hotel itself is great. It looks and feels lovely. Our room was nicely deigned and quite spacious. We loved the en suite shower room. On the roof of this hotel you can relax on the terrace or in the tent. The only minus is the swimming pool. It's very small. The staff and the owners are amazing. Honestly we couldn't ask for better service. They will bring your food whenever you want it and wherever you want it. For example you can ask to have breakfast on the roof at 10am and it will be there :D Their food is very fresh and cooked by a proper chef (typical morrocan cousine ). Staff can speak good english comparing to most places in Morroco. - everybody speaks french. Hotel is located right in the middle of the old city So you have 5-10 min walk to all the markets, restaurants and the main square. Although it is inside of a busy city you cannot hear almost anything inside. It was very helpful after all the noise in the city. I would recommend this place for people planning to visit Marrakech for 3 days and then stay somewhere outside Morroco. The hotel is lovely but as soon as you will go outside people won't stop bothering you to come into their shop and buy stuff. Aww and don't pay the taxi driver on the airport more than 80 dirhams. They will try to charge you 300 but a normal price is 60 so when you are giving them 80 you are already overpaying. Overall it was a really lovely and interesting stay i would go back there again, But only for 3 days

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 1st floor so you won't hear people when they are eating their breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Charming Riad with a great location - when we arrived at the Riad the staff welcomed us very warmly. And showed us our rooms. They also gave recommendations on what to see and where to eat. The romms are have a great individual maroccan style design. after a day in the souks the riad is a haven of tranquility. From the rooftop terrace you can see the storks at the badi palace. I also recommend to order once or twice Maroccan food in the Riad, the servings are huge and delicious. Overall a great place in Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were bowled over by this place from start to finish! Firstly, it is in such a fantastic location- just a short walk from the souks and around the corner from a taxi rank and Kosybar. What more could you need?! The decor is so tasteful and romantic, with fresh roses everywhere, candles and jasmine scent in the evening. We stayed in room 6 and loved it. The service is impeccable! The French owners and Rashid and Fahoud were very attentive and discreet- offering us tips and advice whenever we needed it. Fahoud even collected our bus tickets for Essouira to save us time! The evening meal was the best value for money out of all the restaurants we visited and absolutely delicious. Yes the breakfast gets a little repetitive but its included in the price of the room so who cares?! Its nice anyway! It did get a little cold at night but the heater in the room was switched on for us every evening so we would arrive back from a hard day of exploring to a cosy room. We loved the private balcony- although I'd expect that it would get more use at a warmer time of year. The communal roof terrace was great- probably because there weren't many guests so it was possible to have the whole sunny terrace to ourselves at certain points in the day- it was possible to sunbathe even in February!
The only criticism that I can think of, that I guess would common to all riads of the same design is that you can hear everything- from the birds, to the mosques' calls to prayer and (unfortunately) the other guests. Perhaps they should be reminded that everything can be heard and so they should keep it down a bit? Anyway a pair of earplugs wouldn't go amiss! Its mostly quiet, but the noise of other guests when we were trying to sleep- particularly early in the morning- annoyed me. Although my partner didn't notice the noise- so perhaps I'm more sensitive. However, I had a pair of earplugs that did the job when necessary!
In all, the beauty, great service and location made this one of the best places we've stayed. And we've experienced 5 star hotels. This is a different kind of place to stay but still upholds high standards.

Room Tip: room 6 only has one next door room, it has a door to the bathroom- which apparently some rooms don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Really enjoyed our five night stay at Riad Palmier. Rooms are traditonal,clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served wherever you choose around the Riad and whatever time you like. The location is brilliant, near the palaces and Jewish area with a number of different roads that can take you to the main square.

The Riad staff were excellent, friendly and informative and couldn't do enough to help you. They gave us advice,directions,booked restaurants and even cooked us a gorgeous tagine one night. Tasty and very reasonably priced.

We also took advantage of the on site hammam,gommage and massage which was delightful.

If you're looking for a traditional relaxing stay in the heart of the madness of Marrakech then you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was just at this Riad with a friend for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The owners are French and very hospitable with lots of useful information and suggestions. The room was comfortable but recommend bring wool pjs in the winter to make sure you sleep comfortably although the rooms do have a heater/air conditioning unit on the wall inside. This makes some noise so we only used it for heating up the room while out at dinner and then turned it off. We stayed in room 7 on the sunny terrace which was lovely in the morning to sit in the sun while eating breakfast. The location is very convenient right beside the ruins of the Palace Badia with a view to the palace walls and a flock of storks nesting on the walls making their sounds and honoring us with their graceful presence.

Room Tip: Room 2 seems to be a very spacious and romantic room. We had room 7 on the terrace which was nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This Riad is goregous and the staff are all lovely and very friendly. We literally hibernated in the riad as Marrakech was a little overwhelming! I loved all the candle light and the tent on the roof terrace was our favourite reading spot. It's in a brilliant location, right in the heart of everything but just set back enough away from the main square. I'm so pleased we stayed here as it really made our holiday! the food is very reasonable and delicious and the rooms are very comfortable. Couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra to get the room with the balacony which was lovely to have our breakfast on ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hi everyone!

Me and my partner we stayed at riad Palmier and all i can say is you will not be disappointed! It is not perfect but it is a great value for money!! The location is great and the service is amazing! The owners are very nice couple and the people who work there are nice and friendly. I did a big research before i choose riad palmier but i think i did the perfect choice. The rooms are not too big but they are enough. We had good service everyday and whatever we asked they always tried to help. If i need to point one bad thing is that they do not have any ironing service in the riad and i could not iron my clothes i did look for a laundry shop to do that. However, because im very fussy with the food and scared to eat bad food and get sick we decided to eat at the riad and let me tell you we did the best choice!! The food is great and they cooked fresh and specially for us. It was also cheaper!! Also, at night they would put only candle outside and it was so romantic!!
please do not hesitate to contact me if you need more information.
Loved it and i would go back and stay with them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Palmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palmier

Address: 22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Palmier 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Palmier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palmier Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Palmier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.