We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Aladdin to your Saves list
Riad Aladdin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I truly recommend this Riad! It is located in the Medina and I would never have wanted to miss staying in the Medina! The staff were absolutely lovely :) Just like one big happy family! You can have a hammam in the Riad, chill out on the terrace - there is even a shower there if you get too hot! the location is good, only about 10-15 minute walk to Jeema al Fna square and right next to a small square where you can always catch a taxi! Also there is a cash machine quite close which can be useful! All the rooms are unique and very romantic! The breakfast was quite good too and they make the BEST COFFEE IN THE WORLD! We went as a couple in a large group and it would fit great for both! The setting of the Riad is beautiful with nice views from the terrace. Would really recommend this riad to anyone! They do not have any special safe-box in the rooms but we always felt safe there and nothing disappeared in our large group. They have hair-dryers on request at the front desk, as well as an iron and ironing board. Thank you so much :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called Caid - no. 14 - and it is probably the most romantic room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A great oasis in the Marrakech Medina. Had a fantastic stay. Close to Jema el Fna square and the main souks. Breakfasts were fabulous and the peace perfect. The rooms varied in size, ours was perfect for two with excellent shower/ bathroom. The rooms was quiet apart from Saturday mornings Koran school next door. Having said that, it wasn't an issue. The location was excellent for accessing most tourist destinations within the Medina.

Room Tip: All the room were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We visited January 2014 (although this review will only date back to May 2013).
Had a fantastic stay here for 5 days. Lovely B&B type hotel, quite basic on rooms (i.e. no tv) but we didn't need it. The hotel is right in the heart of the old city - next to the palace with storks on the top of the walls which you can see and photograph from the roof top terrace of this gorgeous place. All the rooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style. There is a hamam and other delights, the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfasts were great - the freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurts, breads etc were to die for :o) Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely place to stay if you don't mind being in "the thick of it" :o) the souks to Jamaa el Fna Square was a bit like running the gauntlet for the first day or so until the traders got used to us but then we were left alone to enjoy the mile walk through the alley from the hotel to the square.

Room Tip: look at their website - plenty of photos to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Riad Aladdin is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech. Every room is decorated in different ways with a fantastic sense of style. I would love to take their bathrooms with me to Copenhagen. They have very good beds.

The terrasse is very nice with a fantastic view over Marrakech.

It is situated in the middle of the medina just by the Badi Palace.

The staff is fantastic. They are very nice and there is a very good atmosphere in the riad. The breakfast is nice and you can sit by the open fire and enjoy it. I love that.

There is only one thing, that could be better. The dinner is not very good. That's a pity, because this is the most beautiful and nice place. And although the dinner is not very good I give them five stars anyways because the rest is perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice, but there is more light at the first and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

...residence in the heart of Marrakech. Friendly and forecomming staff. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are delicious. Friendly Service. The house, room and bed was always clean.
Negative:
There is no Safe, roomkeys are laying at the lobby-desk without controll, cause the desk is without personal the Most Time of the day.
But:
We felt secure and nothing of our private and personell things were touched hole the week.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Riad Aladdin in Marrakech. We chose the hotel based upon previous reviews of which the majority described it as excellent.

We arrived around 8.30pm, the taxi driver was unsure where the Riad was even with the address and the map from the hotel website. It was a little concerning that despite the tripadvisor recommendations that this did not appear to be a very well known place.

We were invited in and asked to sit, tea and biscuits were served while our passports were taken, presumably to be photocopied and were then handed back to us. It took a while and we were unsure what was happening.

The breakfast room was pointed out to us and we were ushered to our room in the corner of the ground floor. We upgraded our room to a superior one when booking through easyjet holidays. The room was basic, but it was a good size and traditionally decorated.

Unfortunately, on pulling back the bed spread there were a number of hairs in the bed, although the sheets were clearly clean, there were hairs. I assumed that these were from the blanket or bed spread, which I doubt are laundered between guests. The bed was very uncomfortable and had an obvious dip in the middle. I felt as though I was sleeping downhill/uphill depending on which side I rolled onto. The following morning we asked to be moved and were initially told that we would have to pay to move rooms, another member of staff advised that they would ask the manager the next day as he was not available that day, Later in the day we asked again and were advised that we could move the following morning. We were moved for the last night of our stay and in fairness to the staff, they allowed us to look at the alternative rooms to decide which we wanted.

Positives: The Riad is close to two 'palaces', the continental breakfast was good, the rooms that we stayed in were of a decent size, there is air con/heating in each room, the communal areas would be lovely to sit in during nice weather. It is around 15 minute walk to the main square. There was decent wifi.

Negatives: as we stayed out of season, we felt we had out of season service. There was little information offered to us - a guest sheet would have been sufficient - warning about the tax, Riad facilities etc. we had to find things out ourselves. There was no one on reception - you had to hang around to wait for someone to see to you. We asked about a safety deposit box - we were told they have their own security and that we could leave valuables in our room (keys were left out on the reception desk for anyone to pick up - not very safe for our liking, again we were not told to leave our key when we went out) Generally could have been cleaner - the hairs in the bed aside, there were rugs in the two rooms that we had which were clearly very dirty and completely unnecessary. I would rather a clean floor with no covering than a dirty rug.

So, to sum up, we were disappointed with our stay. If we had spoken French perhaps we would have had better service. A guest information pack/sheet would have been useful and would have made us feel more comfortable about our surroundings. We were not keen on leaving the room key out for anyone to help themselves to, had we have known about the lack of safety deposit box (which was listed on the hotel's website if I recall) we would not have picked this Riad.

nb. the rooms do not have a hairdryer and we haggled down to 70 each in a taxi to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager C, Gérant at Riad Aladdin, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Emma and Mark ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Riad ALADDIN .

we are very committed to the satisfaction of our customers and we take into account all comments made to us .

1 – For the taxi , I'm sorry you fell on a taxi who did not know ALADDIN ? Aladdin is very easy to find. To avoid theses problem we propose a transfer service with a partnered comapny .
2 - I can confirm that you had a superior room. After reading your comment, I went unannounced visits to the room you were in and I can assure you that I did not find any hair on the cover of the bed and carpet were spotless (even if they are weathered with time) .
3 - Following your desire for a firmer bed , we've actually offered another room and without extra cost since you had already booked a superior room.
4 - Some customers have actually not used the Guest House and I can confirm that all security requirements are met through a loyal team , dedicated and attentive through which nearly 10 years we have never had to deplore any theft of personal belongings .
I can assure you , given your comments, that special attention has been and will be reminded regularly to the team about the cleanliness of the Riad and information that must be provided at check -in. We try every day to improve and thanks to your comments that we will succeed.

We look forward to seeing you next time

Yours

Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This review is a peculiar one. We weren't staying at this Riad, but we stumbled across it during sightseeing when it was time for lunch. Unfortunately, one of our group fell ill due to the heat and dehydration just before we ate, and the staff they were very very generous. They offered all their help, gave us temporary access to a room with AC, and supplied water at no extra cost whilst this person recovered. We're eternally grateful for their hospitality.

Additionally, the food was excellent!

I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Address: 7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.