We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a group - fantastic service - very friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Aladdin to your Saves list
Riad Aladdin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a group - fantastic service - very friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at Riad Aladdin as part of a large group - we occupied the entire riad. From the welcome on arrival, till the assistance in getting us ready to leave, the staff really could not have done more. Everyone was extremely helpful/accommodating and very friendly.

The accommodation is in a traditional Marrakech style, with a very good level of facilities. If anything is needed, just let the staff know. Don't expect telephones or televisions in your room - it's not that kind of place. But if you want bags of character in a great central location - Riad Aladdin has it in spades.

Potential downsides: well, if there are any, it may be that other residents may keep you awake if they are up late. We were in a large group, so we only had ourselves to blame! If you want peace and quiet - be sure to let them know, so they can allocate a room in a quiet area. That said, compared to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, the Riad is a haven of tranquillity. Also, the lack of a swimming pool (so far as I could see) may be a disadvantage in high summer. In winter we found the weather to be fantastic (low 20's and sunny during the day) though it cooled off a lot at night - bring sweaters in winter time.

Many of our group made use of the massage facilities and hammam at the Riad Aladdin. The staff will be happy to book appointments for you. Personally, I cannot recommend the 'relaxing' massage highly enough - brilliant massage and incredible value for money at less than £40 for a full hour. I was floating for the rest of the day!

In summary - this is a brilliant place to stay for a group and if you can get a big enough group to fill it - all the better. We felt very well looked after, secure and welcome at this very attractive riad. We were only sorry we had to leave.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very close to busy areas of the riad, so be clear if you want peace and quiet. All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Would definitely return to this Riad. The rooms are quirky and very comfy. Only negative was the slightly stale water smell which came and went in the bathroom, but it was not too much to worry about as the rooms were spotless; just a little plumbing glitch. The terrace is fab and you feel you can touch the storks as they nest on the palace walls nearby. Brekkie was great with four or five different pastries, pancakes and toast choices. The location is perfect; next to the Badia palace, in the medina, an easy walk to the square but totally quiet. We visited in December and it was lovely to end the evening sitting by the log fire and thrashing the 'other half' at scrabble!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

At the beginning we reserved "riad Altair" but then we were asked to choose Riad Aladdin,due to some booking problem. And we did and it was a very good choice! When we arrived we received all the necessary information from Christophe, who s probably the owner and was very sympathic. The Riad is very well situated, just behind of the el Badia palace and very close to Bahia palace and only 10 minutes comfortable walk to the place of Djemaa el Fna, 5 minutes walk from the Kashbah, a much less touristic place of the medina like the central souks. 10 minutes from " les bains de Marrakech" The Riad is very cosy and the staff is very friendly. The Riad is very clean, and the kitchen is really excellent. We had our first dinner here, couscous maison, with a bottle of Moroccan red wine, the best couscous in my life. Many thanks for that!! Great culinary experience. Also, the breakfast was excellent, with Moroccan specialties, first morning in the terrace of the top of the roof, where we had an amazing view to the Medina and to the Atlas. You have also storks on the other roofs, colours, smells of roses and other spices.....amazing. Our room and the separate bathroom was clean and big enough. The service of the staff was excellent with a personal touch.but I had a real feeling to be part of a kind of quietness, some special taste and feeling, the palm trees and flowers were very green an nice, nothing to compare to any western hotel, motel or anything else. It was our first moroccan and Riad experience, but surely not the last one!! They're was some very discrete and relaxing music in the daytime and afternoon some Mozart or other classical music, and some traditional music as well. We would return to this Riad again and I can only advise to others.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hello Team of Riad Aladdin,

we stayed at Riad Aladdin end of April, 2012 and again in May on our way back. We had booked via Sahara Services. We liked Riad Aladdin very much, rooms and breakfast and everything. The riad is very easy to find. You just walk to Jemaa El Fna in 3 minutes and into the souks and to famous places like Palace El Badii. Thank you so much again, all the best!Regine and Jochen, Helga and Friedrich from Germany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've been recently in Marrakech and Riad Aladdin was booked by our travel agency and offered as a lovely spot in the Medina.
On the positive side the staff is very helpful always friendly. Is centrally located, just a short walk from Bahia Palace and Badi Palace. The terrace is lovely with flowers and cactus and during the nesting period you can actually watch the storks feeding their babies. Lunch and dinner were excellent, tradionally cooked and with really good flavour. Completely recommendable!
On the negative side though there are some things to mention:
- Overall cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel itself was poor, the floors and carpets were dirty and the bed cover had stains.
- Our first room was humid and smelly and the air conditioner smelled really bad.
If you don't care about small details as we did, then for sure you will have a better time.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, and try to get a "superior" room. Ask to see the rooms first (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe A, M at Riad Aladdin, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Irene and Andrea,
Thanks a lot to took time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are aware to the remarks and suggestion of our Guest.
Regarding the general cleaning, we use the vacum everyday and it is unacceptable that your room was not perfect. We have already change the filter of the air conditioner of the first bedroom you used.
There was a mistake in the used water network of the communal operator and we are very sorry for this disappointment.
We are happy you have enjoy our cooking and our staff.
Thanks for your constructive review

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Riad Aladdin for three evenings with three friends. First off, the staff was incredibly obliging and helpful. I came down with a sinus infection while down there and one of the porters actually walked with me to the pharmacy in the medina, after running first to the pharmacy himself to be sure it was open! Also, the staff were always willing to sell us wine, whether it was 8pm or 2am on a Sunday (we're students), which is hard to come by in the medina.

Also, the riad is located within a direct 10 minute walk to the centre square and close to the other major tourist attractions.

The bathrooms and rooms are basic (pretty, but basic) but clean and perfectly adequate -- it's nice budget accomodation.

Also, we had dinner at the riad one night and the food was very well prepared.

Bad things: if you're looking for upscale food/going out, the medina is NOT the place to stay. Stay in the french area which is located west of the Medina (1-2 miles) which is much nicer and you can just walk to the medina.

Also, our driver (arranged by the hotel) from the airport to the hotel was....scary. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

we are a party of nine people who stayed in this lovely riad for 4 nights. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. the riad is beautifully decorated and each room is different and imaginatively kitted out. my 12 year old daughter in particular loved her room with a tented ceiling and red bedding. the breakfast is good and i think the price is good value. we would all recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Address: 7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.