We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrasting feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Save Saved
You added Riad Aladdin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Aladdin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-7,8 et 9 Derb Touareg Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Horgen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Contrasting feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've been recently in Marrakech and Riad Aladdin was booked by our travel agency and offered as a lovely spot in the Medina.
On the positive side the staff is very helpful always friendly. Is centrally located, just a short walk from Bahia Palace and Badi Palace. The terrace is lovely with flowers and cactus and during the nesting period you can actually watch the storks feeding their babies. Lunch and dinner were excellent, tradionally cooked and with really good flavour. Completely recommendable!
On the negative side though there are some things to mention:
- Overall cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel itself was poor, the floors and carpets were dirty and the bed cover had stains.
- Our first room was humid and smelly and the air conditioner smelled really bad.
If you don't care about small details as we did, then for sure you will have a better time.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, and try to get a "superior" room. Ask to see the rooms first (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe A, M at Riad Aladdin, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Irene and Andrea,
Thanks a lot to took time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are aware to the remarks and suggestion of our Guest.
Regarding the general cleaning, we use the vacum everyday and it is unacceptable that your room was not perfect. We have already change the filter of the air conditioner of the first bedroom you used.
There was a mistake in the used water network of the communal operator and we are very sorry for this disappointment.
We are happy you have enjoy our cooking and our staff.
Thanks for your constructive review

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Riad Aladdin for three evenings with three friends. First off, the staff was incredibly obliging and helpful. I came down with a sinus infection while down there and one of the porters actually walked with me to the pharmacy in the medina, after running first to the pharmacy himself to be sure it was open! Also, the staff were always willing to sell us wine, whether it was 8pm or 2am on a Sunday (we're students), which is hard to come by in the medina.

Also, the riad is located within a direct 10 minute walk to the centre square and close to the other major tourist attractions.

The bathrooms and rooms are basic (pretty, but basic) but clean and perfectly adequate -- it's nice budget accomodation.

Also, we had dinner at the riad one night and the food was very well prepared.

Bad things: if you're looking for upscale food/going out, the medina is NOT the place to stay. Stay in the french area which is located west of the Medina (1-2 miles) which is much nicer and you can just walk to the medina.

Also, our driver (arranged by the hotel) from the airport to the hotel was....scary. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

we are a party of nine people who stayed in this lovely riad for 4 nights. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. the riad is beautifully decorated and each room is different and imaginatively kitted out. my 12 year old daughter in particular loved her room with a tented ceiling and red bedding. the breakfast is good and i think the price is good value. we would all recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

me and my wife stayed at this riad for three nights bed and breakfast. super location in the medina area of marrakesh close to all attractions. cristophe arranged everything for us from transfer to and from airport and excursion to atlas mountains and all the staff were friendly .evening meals at the hotel were good value the breakfast varied a little every morning. the rooms were cleaned every morning and clean towels replaced used ones. the riad has a lot of tables and chairs for guest to sit and chat and the terrace upstairs is worth every penny, sitting on the terrace and chatting with views of local houses and sounds really made my holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Riad Aladdin is in an excellent location for both exploring the Medina (the main square is only a 10 min walk away) and jump-off point for exploring other parts of the city and the countryside.

Easy access to the riad for taxis and tour vans as it is right beside the Badii Palace.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, catering to special requests without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed here as part of an organised holiday in Morocco. It's well located to the south of the centre of the cityl not in the Souk - ie you don't get lost all the time. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly; rooms up to standard and full of interesting stuff. We would recommend it as a place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

When booking the trip I was not sure what to expect since there have not been any recent reviews. The location was ideal for us as we were travelling with grandparents and needed accommodation with good access. We were able to park 20 metres from the front door. The walk to Djemaa el-Fna was 5 minutes at a fast pace but as the walk past all the shops is so interesting it always took much longer. The rooms were all interesting and different. The rooms on the ground floor are quite dark. We needed an extra mattress for our daughter which made our room a bit of a squash although other rooms were bigger. We had dinner on the first night complete with candlelight, rose petals spread on the table cloth and a nice bottle of rosé wine. We explained our daughter was diabetic when the welcome mint tea arrived (always full of sugar) and from that point on the staff altered her meals with no input from us which we were very impressed with. Special mention goes to Hamsa as without his care, attention and smile our stay would not have been so special.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Address: 6-7,8 et 9 Derb Touareg Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.