We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Save Saved
You added Riad Aladdin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Aladdin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-7,8 et 9 Derb Touareg Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at Riad Aladdin for three evenings with three friends. First off, the staff was incredibly obliging and helpful. I came down with a sinus infection while down there and one of the porters actually walked with me to the pharmacy in the medina, after running first to the pharmacy himself to be sure it was open! Also, the staff were always willing to sell us wine, whether it was 8pm or 2am on a Sunday (we're students), which is hard to come by in the medina.

Also, the riad is located within a direct 10 minute walk to the centre square and close to the other major tourist attractions.

The bathrooms and rooms are basic (pretty, but basic) but clean and perfectly adequate -- it's nice budget accomodation.

Also, we had dinner at the riad one night and the food was very well prepared.

Bad things: if you're looking for upscale food/going out, the medina is NOT the place to stay. Stay in the french area which is located west of the Medina (1-2 miles) which is much nicer and you can just walk to the medina.

Also, our driver (arranged by the hotel) from the airport to the hotel was....scary. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

we are a party of nine people who stayed in this lovely riad for 4 nights. we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. the riad is beautifully decorated and each room is different and imaginatively kitted out. my 12 year old daughter in particular loved her room with a tented ceiling and red bedding. the breakfast is good and i think the price is good value. we would all recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

me and my wife stayed at this riad for three nights bed and breakfast. super location in the medina area of marrakesh close to all attractions. cristophe arranged everything for us from transfer to and from airport and excursion to atlas mountains and all the staff were friendly .evening meals at the hotel were good value the breakfast varied a little every morning. the rooms were cleaned every morning and clean towels replaced used ones. the riad has a lot of tables and chairs for guest to sit and chat and the terrace upstairs is worth every penny, sitting on the terrace and chatting with views of local houses and sounds really made my holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Riad Aladdin is in an excellent location for both exploring the Medina (the main square is only a 10 min walk away) and jump-off point for exploring other parts of the city and the countryside.

Easy access to the riad for taxis and tour vans as it is right beside the Badii Palace.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, catering to special requests without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed here as part of an organised holiday in Morocco. It's well located to the south of the centre of the cityl not in the Souk - ie you don't get lost all the time. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly; rooms up to standard and full of interesting stuff. We would recommend it as a place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

When booking the trip I was not sure what to expect since there have not been any recent reviews. The location was ideal for us as we were travelling with grandparents and needed accommodation with good access. We were able to park 20 metres from the front door. The walk to Djemaa el-Fna was 5 minutes at a fast pace but as the walk past all the shops is so interesting it always took much longer. The rooms were all interesting and different. The rooms on the ground floor are quite dark. We needed an extra mattress for our daughter which made our room a bit of a squash although other rooms were bigger. We had dinner on the first night complete with candlelight, rose petals spread on the table cloth and a nice bottle of rosé wine. We explained our daughter was diabetic when the welcome mint tea arrived (always full of sugar) and from that point on the staff altered her meals with no input from us which we were very impressed with. Special mention goes to Hamsa as without his care, attention and smile our stay would not have been so special.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

I have just taken my girlfriend to Marrakech for the weekend to celebrate her birthday and we were both very impressed. We stayed at Riad Aladdin which is only 15 minutes in a cab from the airport and easy to find, inside the medina but just around the corner from the Baddi palace and the Place des Ferblaners - where you find Kosybar and another brilliant traditional Morroccan restaurant/bar the name of which escapes me - but you can;t miss it. It's only a 10 minute walk into the main square where all the action happens down one straight, well lit and friendly street so you can easily walk into the square for a play with the monkeys and stroke the snakes and then head back to your Riad without fear of getting lost or harrased - there's a pottery shop about half way down on your left hand side run by some Monk, very friendly and nice pots.

Riad Aladdin itself is very clean and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the room we stayed in was really funky and the bathroom a feat of engineering!! Not to mention the bed - i very nearly didn't come back...

You get the usual drawbacks with staying anywhere in Marrakech, there is a faint whiff in the alley ways around town - you can't stop the cats using them as a litter tray but that is what happens the world over and there is always someone drilling or grinding or causing some chaos in the streets. For me, this was the perfect combination of being close to all the action and feeling like i was in the middle of Marrakech, whilst the Riad was a beautiful and peaceful oasis in the middle of the mayhem.

Go there now.

  • Liked — Trendy Friendly Serenity
  • Disliked — The wasps that got stuck in my honey
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Address: 6-7,8 et 9 Derb Touareg Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.