We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis in the middle of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Harmattan

Save Saved
You added Riad Harmattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Harmattan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   78 derb Boutouil Kennaria, Marrakech 20000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #460 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful oasis in the middle of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was an absolutely brilliant stay in the Raid Harmattan.
Such a beautiful Riad I've never seen.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Each time a harmonious well-being.
The location of the riad is tucked away.
Unfortunately, the neighbors were very loud at times.

Room Tip: The room "Tanger" with access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a week in this Riad and were quite happy with it. It is a very short walk to Djemar el Fna, but bear in mind it is impossible to find without help the first time. Our room was in the new part of the Riad, it was big and comfy...we loved the big bathtub. But one could alos seem there were some bit and pieces left for the room to be completly ready. The head of the shower did not fit on the hook on the wall so you have to hold it all the time...which was a bit annoying. We came back to our room once to find it was completly flooded as the pipe under the sink on the bathroom broke, but the staff fixed it the same they and we were lucky that none ofour belonging wa spoilt.

In general I would recommend this Riad if you are on a budget as it is beautiful and centric.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with a friend earlier this week. As has already been pointed out by other reviewers, the riad is VERY hard to find at first (we would have been still looking for it now had we not been led there by the chariot guy who transported our bags...), however, it's easy to get to grips with where it is once you have done the journey to and from the medina a couple of times. The location was really good as it was just a few mins' walk to Djemar el Fna (once we had mastered the art of how to get there!).

The building itself is lovely but the decor could do with a bit of a re-vamp. The comedy photos of the owner all over one wall (basically a shrine to himself) were fairly amusing but really detracted from the beauty of the building, as did the decor in general. This is not a huge deal, however, as we were only there for sleeping.

The riad was pretty noisy - any sound made there carried throughout the building. However, this was more due to the building design itself rather than people being antisocially rowdy or anything like that.

I wasn't keen on the shower. The shower head didn't fit into the unit on the wall which meant you had to hold it while having a shower. The plug hole appeared to be blocked, which meant the shower turned into a paddling pool after a short while. Also, the water ran cold after a while. On our second morning at the riad we didn't have any hot water at all and had to ask for it to be fixed (which it was, pretty quickly).

The room was pretty small too, but adequate.

Overall, I thought the place was OK but there are probably better places to be found for a similar amount of money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends and I stayed here during our trip to Marrakech and we all agreed that we would choose L'harmattan again if we went back. Yes, it can be tricky to find at first but the location is top class and if needs be, the staff would come to help you find your way from the main square. A big thank you to Christophe and Said for being so friendly and attentive. Said even got on his bike at 1.30am to come and pick us up when we got lost after a late night at the Kosy bar! Seriously how many places would do that for you? If you need to arrange a trip out or just lounge about the riad they will make sure that you are taken care of. We were roomed in the riad next door as they were busy and I have to say, it was an excellent surprise. The rooms were beautiful! Fantastic roof terrace with amazing views, mint tea upon arrival and very decent breakfasts. Clean, welcoming, relaxed, friendly, great location and helpful what more can you ask for??? Thanks again guys! Scott

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this riad for 4 days during our citytrip to Marrakech. Finding the place was a true challenge and not that pleasant for two women by themselves, because we had to navigate through a labyrinth of small, dark alleys and passageways. But once we entered the riad, we found a lovely, peaceful place, which seemed to have come from a 1001 nights fairytale! The riad is beautifully decorated, peaceful, quiet and the owner did everything to make us feel at home. There are several places where you can sit and relax (i.e. the rooftop terrace!) and drink Moroccan tea with cookies 'on the house'. The owner helped us finding our way and gave some good advise on certain trips and other practicalities. He does speak only French though and hardly any English. The breakfast was well taken care of, with freshly squeezed orange juice every morning.
The only negative aspect I can think of is the shower, which turned cold every now and then. Plus, it would be nice visiting this place with male company to feel a bit more at ease on your way to and from the riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Ouarzazate which is perfect for two friends (2 single beds), but the shower tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this riad for a couple of weeks in July, and absolutely loved it. It is clean, well run and incredibly friendly. Although initially tricky to find, after one trip there you're set. Upon arrival we were offered mint tea and biscuits. The breakfasts were very good, though a bit samey after staying for a while, though we were there longer than most other guests. The manager Said was very smiley and friendly. He didn't speak much English, but he always found a way to help. Overall, a fantastic place to stay: traditional, within easy reach of the main square, and clean. Perfect for the price range.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Compared to the other riads we stayed in while in Morocco (Dar Azaouia in Asilah, Riad Harmonie in El Jadida and Al Atik in Fez - all fantastic choices), this riad was the worst of them all by far. I'm not sure how it compares to other riads in Marrakesh - maybe the standards are lower there. We stayed in two rooms because we extended our stay by one night at the last minute. We stayed in the Dakhla Suite the first night - hardly a suite but a room with a loft. The showerhead broke from the pressure of the water at 9 pm on the first evening, and when I demanded an immediate replacement, the Frenchman (the owner? a friend of the owner?), who was lounging around in his underwear, was very rude and said we'd have to wait until the morning to get it fixed. "Come on," I said, "this is Morocco. People sell things 24 hours a day." In the end, Said, the man who actually works there, brought us a new one. The second and third nights we were in the Sahara Suite, which was big and nice but had no outside windows, so it felt like being in a cave. The bed was comfortable, but the kids had to sleep on couches. The terrace is very dirty and not very comfortable - the spiral stairs to the top looked ready to fall off at any minute. The padlocks provided to lock the rooms were an absolute joke - our suitcase locks were stronger! The breakfasts were OK, but in general the same boring things every day. Nothing homemade except for the orange juice. The decorations were a bit funky, and the gallery of pictures of the French owner looking like a movie star (maybe he is) was a little discerning. WiFi worked only in the lower courtyard. On the positive side, the location was excellent, though it is quite hard to find, and the air-conditioning worked very well. All in all, I am sure there have to be riads in Marrakesh on the level of the others we stayed at in Morocco. I wish we had had the luck to find one.

Room Tip: The Sahara Suite has no windows to the outside, so if you like fresh air, choose another room. The D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Harmattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmattan

Address: 78 derb Boutouil Kennaria, Marrakech 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Harmattan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Harmattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Harmattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.