We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big step down from other riads we stayed in during our trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Harmattan

Save Saved
You added Riad Harmattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Harmattan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   78 derb Boutouil Kennaria, Marrakech 20000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A big step down from other riads we stayed in during our trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Compared to the other riads we stayed in while in Morocco (Dar Azaouia in Asilah, Riad Harmonie in El Jadida and Al Atik in Fez - all fantastic choices), this riad was the worst of them all by far. I'm not sure how it compares to other riads in Marrakesh - maybe the standards are lower there. We stayed in two rooms because we extended our stay by one night at the last minute. We stayed in the Dakhla Suite the first night - hardly a suite but a room with a loft. The showerhead broke from the pressure of the water at 9 pm on the first evening, and when I demanded an immediate replacement, the Frenchman (the owner? a friend of the owner?), who was lounging around in his underwear, was very rude and said we'd have to wait until the morning to get it fixed. "Come on," I said, "this is Morocco. People sell things 24 hours a day." In the end, Said, the man who actually works there, brought us a new one. The second and third nights we were in the Sahara Suite, which was big and nice but had no outside windows, so it felt like being in a cave. The bed was comfortable, but the kids had to sleep on couches. The terrace is very dirty and not very comfortable - the spiral stairs to the top looked ready to fall off at any minute. The padlocks provided to lock the rooms were an absolute joke - our suitcase locks were stronger! The breakfasts were OK, but in general the same boring things every day. Nothing homemade except for the orange juice. The decorations were a bit funky, and the gallery of pictures of the French owner looking like a movie star (maybe he is) was a little discerning. WiFi worked only in the lower courtyard. On the positive side, the location was excellent, though it is quite hard to find, and the air-conditioning worked very well. All in all, I am sure there have to be riads in Marrakesh on the level of the others we stayed at in Morocco. I wish we had had the luck to find one.

Room Tip: The Sahara Suite has no windows to the outside, so if you like fresh air, choose another room. The D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This riad is not good at all and I cannot understand why it is so high recommended! I travelled over the world but this riad was the worst never had
At first is not easy to find it and you have to ask and pay someone to bring you there.
The staff is not friendly at all! no smiling and quiet rude.
After three days sleeping there, the towels were not changed so I put them on the floor to have clean one but when we came back we found the same dirty towels. Then I asked Said (men’s staff) to have clean one and he answered that they do not change them every day
but only when they are dirty so when I told him that our were dirty he said that they were not (even if I put them on the floor). I have to argue with him about 10 minutes to have clean towels, AMMAZING!
Then the breakfast was everyday same, coffee milk bread no fresh but warmed on microwave with industrial strawberry jam and orange juice.
Breakfast before 8.00am was not possible. One day we left at 7.30am and we could not have breakfast, the evening we asked to drying a coffee and one mint tea but they charged us 3euro for them!
The rooms are not so clean and not sure because the door are closed by a padlock really easy to open and also the walls are so thin that you can heard everything from the next rooms

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The riad is placed in a little corner of the Medina (could be difficult to find it the first time), 5 minutes from the main place, Djemaa el Fna. It has something more then the others we stayed in, probably because they care a little more about you (as we arrived, they offered us a mint tea with homemade biscuits). The atmosphere is the one of an artistic place, because of the paintings of moroccan artists on the walls.
The rooms were large, cleaned and beautiful. Breakfast is served in a typical moroccan living. The wifi is alweys available, the employee was very kind to us and the last day of our stay, he kept our luggage in the riad to allow us a pleasant last visit.
Very quiet, perfect for families.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

So central to the hustle and bustle of the Medina, 5 mins from the Jem El Fna square. Great service, clean comfortable rooms and great rooftop tarrce with great views over the City and to the mountains. A word of caution- this place is really hard to find- the maze of pathways to fiind is quite challenging for a first time visitor to Marrakech!!! get the owners to send you a map before you arrive- once you know the way it's easy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Harmattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmattan

Address: 78 derb Boutouil Kennaria, Marrakech 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Harmattan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Harmattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Harmattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.