We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good food & Relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katsura

Katsura
Rue Oum Errabia, Marrakech, Morocco
024 43 43 58
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Real good food & Relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place as we eat a lot of sushi back in birmingham, Eng. The decor is very modern japanese style, and the food was great! We had a board full of veggie sushi, rice and noodles between us and it was all lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, and as we left, the doorman called us a petit taxi over so we could go home comfortably for a very good price. This is definitely a place we won't forget, as this is where my boyfriend proposed to me under candle light!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    86
    36
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A liitle Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As lovers of Thai food we decided to give this one a try and were not disappointed.
Cosy cafe style restaurant, food excellent ,wine was good too! reasonable prices.
Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great sushi and thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited with friends in December. The restaurant is a lot more casual than expected and the waiters were not very good at speaking English. However, the excellent sushi and noodles made up for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A nice change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having worked in Marrakech for several weeks Katsura was recommended to me during my last week. This is a great shame as undoubtedly I would have been a regular here.
A modern venue and quite small the Katsura serves an excellent range of Japanese and Thai food. Prices are good and beer costs 28dh for a bottle of flag special.
I tried the lamb massaman curry which was very tasty and on another occasion tried the Pad Thai which again was very good.
It was nice to have a bit of spicy food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Its Thai and Sushi and Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were not going to order Sushi as its really hot in Marrakech and at lease 300km to the nearest sea. We started with a fried rice with chicken. When that came we realised that this place was special. Oh it was just so delicious! Others had ordered Sushi so we asked the waiter if he could recommend something. He made us up a small order. When that came we were equally impressed. This place was on par with any western medium to high quality sushi place. The only down side was the menu being in French.. but then again its like that in some places in Paris so we can forgive them.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsura also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Katsura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katsura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.