We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Thai and Sushi and Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katsura

Katsura
Rue Oum Errabia, Marrakech, Morocco
024 43 43 58
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Its Thai and Sushi and Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were not going to order Sushi as its really hot in Marrakech and at lease 300km to the nearest sea. We started with a fried rice with chicken. When that came we realised that this place was special. Oh it was just so delicious! Others had ordered Sushi so we asked the waiter if he could recommend something. He made us up a small order. When that came we were equally impressed. This place was on par with any western medium to high quality sushi place. The only down side was the menu being in French.. but then again its like that in some places in Paris so we can forgive them.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    66
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you want to eat Thai, eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The same goes for sushi , I know it's bad to crave something like this in marrakech , but it was worthwhile , it may look a bit canteen like , but it is not . The food is very very good, and equals any Thai or sushi we have had in London , maybe better than london

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing! Foodie highlight of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spotted this place when we were having lunch nearby early on in our holiday and as I like sushi and we both like Thai food we decided we would give it a go.

First impressions are very good as the building, decor and atmosphere are all very impressive. We didn't have a reservation but managed to get a table as it was quiet when we arrived but soon filled up. The menu is split in two (Sushi/Thai) and I opted to have a Suchi starter of California Rolls while my girlfriend ordered spring rolls.

A quick point we must include. We had read reviews before going and a vegetarian visitor who also didn't eat eggs pointed out they weren't awfully good with special dietary needs. This person may be pleased to hear that the waitress specifically asked us if either of us were allergic to eggs :)

The starters came quickly and whilst I was very impressed with my sushi my girlfriend's spring rolls were incredible!

For the mains we both had noodles (my girlfriend had vegetable noodles being vegetarian and I had chicken noodles) and they were both great. We split a desert of a trio of sorbets which were also up to the very high standard of the food that had already been set with what we had already had.

The total bill came to 400 dirham so about £32 for two starters, two mains and a desert with a half bottle of red wine and a couple of heinekens which was very very reasonable!

We were seriously impressed with this place and would recommend it to anyone in Marrakech!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were only on a short break so wanted to go for good food, after a quick serch on here this took our eye. After 3 days of morrocon food we wanted a change.
This was a lovely small inside outside eate, the roof pulled back to let in the cool breeze. The menu is in French but the staff are happy to help and there were a few pictures as with Thai/sushi places back home. Food was lovely, looked and tasted homemade. The prices were good too. I wasn't too impressed by my creme brûlée but apart from that the meal was lovely. Worth a meal if your in the area

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great selection of food, good location and a feel of indoor outdood eating with the remocable roof. Service really good and prices fair

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsura also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Katsura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katsura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.