We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little piece of heaven upon earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Lalla F'dila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Lalla F'dila to your Saves list
Dar Lalla F'dila
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Derb Allilich | Kaat ben nahid - Moukef -, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Corfu, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven upon earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

at least that what it felt for us after coming back from an exhausting day of wondering around souks and monuments.small 5-room only hotel which despite the fact that is lost in some alley that is extremely hard to find it is very comfortable and relaxing place to be at.the keeper Aziz did his best to ensure that everything we requested was taken care off and the room was enormous with a bathroom on a mezzanine but with no tv (no problem for us though as we needed some detox) and the internet having virtually no reception inside the room (seems to be an issue in every riad we stayed in morocco).everything else was excellent from the breakfast to the cleanliness and the terrace for those visiting Marrakech during warmer months of the year.Thanks Aziz!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    39
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
116
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stunning small Riad. Large rooms and generous breakfast. Wonderfully quiet but yet in the heart of the Medina. The beauty of the place is it's design, space and true Moroccan furnishing.
If you are driving, as we were, it is quick and easy to get into and out of the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pros: The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and I liked the design and general appearance of the riad - it looked authentic without being tacky or cheesy. There was a lot of help available by way of booking activities, and if you have out of the ordinary requests (like charging my iphone on their computer) the staff were kind and helpful. Since we were checking out very early in the morning, we were shown how to prepare our breakfast etc in the kitchen which I thought was nice! Room was comfortable and clean, breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely.

Cons: You need to get a guide or someone to show you the way to Jemaa El F'na as soon as possible in the trip because there are no comprehensive maps of the numerous maze-like alleys of Marrakech and it is very easy to get lost. We ended up taking over an hour to get somewhere we wanted to go once! The breakfast is plentiful but gets really dull after a few days - the crepes in no way match the ones made by the ladies on the streets. Some people may be intimidated by the area where the riad is located - it's a bit out of the usual tourist area but interesting nonetheless and we never felt in danger (solo travelers might have a different experience). Also, we stayed on the ground level in spacious room with the bathroom up a small flight of stairs - this was really quaint but that bathroom doesn't have a door and has inadequate ventilation (it was always a little bit mouldy-smelling or humid). I always went to the shared toilet near the exit instead of using our private toilet, which was fine. The riad is not particularly beautiful or luxurious, just quaint and comfortable. We had the staff book 2 activities for us - a camel ride and quad biking - and these seemed a bit hit and miss because the camel ride was lame in comparison with what my boyfriend did last time for the same price, however the quad biking ride was awesome (we went out in the desert past the Palmerie, into tiny villages and even had some mint tea with someone living in a village). The pool is like a little bath on the roof - it even has a shower! :)

Not recommended for a romantic getaway but great for a base while exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can't think of words to do this riad justice. It was quiet simply amazing! Upon arrival Aziz the riad "guardian" couldn't do enough to help us. He showed us around the riad, our rooms, where breakfast is served, the plunge pool and the relaxing roof terrace with views of the main square in the background. He then proceeded to escort us to the main square. Being four girls travelling to Marrakech for the first time, the tiny streets can be very daunting and you could easily get lost. Aziz took us right into the heart of the action and gave us a card with his telephone number on to call when we wanted to be picked up. At 10.45 he was outside Cafe France waiting for us. Now that's service!! He even organised for therapists from the local spa to come to the riad to give us a pedicure! He couldn't do enough for us and was always on hand should we have needed him.

Breakfast was fruit with flat pancakes, bread with jams, tea, coffee, orange juice and mint tea and can be served anytime between 8 and 11am. The rooms are very clean and tidy, decked out in traditional Morrocan style. The roof terrace of a night time is oustanding. It is so quiet and peaceful, only the occasional calls from the mosques can be heard.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are travelling to Marrakech, especially if you are a group of girls!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This place is very nice with great service! The rooms are great and the roofterrace with view of whole Marrakech is outstanding. The place is difficult to find the first time, but when youve found it once, its no problem.
The two guys working there provide all kinds of service: picking you up at the big square and follow you to the riad, follow you to the atm, serving breakfast, booking other riads for you if you need and organizing excursions. The riad was clean, with spacious rooms. On the roof there are sunbeds and also a big coach with protection from the sun and a shower if its too hot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Despite the location, the architecture is beautiful, the Riad got some large and clean rooms but i would highly not recommand this place if you are planning to travel in winter. It was freezing cold and we had to ask many times before to get some tiny heaters ( it was around 12 degrees at night time).I had no hot water in the bathroom and it never got fixed in 6 nights spent over there.
Then if you are not well traveled you also need to know that the riad is lost in some little street where a taxi can't take you and In the evening the streets are poorly lit, so it is not advisable to come back too late at night time because you could feel unsafe .
Aziz , the employee would try very hard to help you , he is very nice and always smiley.He will always offer to find you if are lost in the medina , which happen a lot , it s the fun experience of the medina!
But overall I think that it is way too expensive for the service provided, and this place give you the feeling to be abandonned , which is a shame because it could be amazing if someone was taking care of it.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms upstairs got AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were 3 female friends travelling to marrakesh for a break in the sun for 5 nights, I would however advise going in a cooler month- july/august it was hitting 50 degrees and we were trying to be especially respectful with our attire as it was ramadan.

ROOM-thankfully we had the suite room upstair which had aircon! we also had a room downstair it wasn't too hot but didn;t have aircon. The suite was clean, well decorated and great value for money.

RIAD AND SERVICE- . Aziz was a great host greeting us with mint tea and biscuits and we were able to treat this place like home although if u arriving after 5 he speak limited english so brush up on your french. He will also offer to find you if u get lost so they do make you feel safe espec if you solo women travelling. Mourad( who is there during the day) speak good english and is helpful but:

DO NOT GET MOURAD TO GET YOU A TAXI ANYWHERE WHEN YOU HAVE ARRIVED( ie to a hamman etc), HE WILL SEVERELY RIP YOU OFF, don't pay more than around 30 dirhams for 2/3 people in total( not per person) during the day, to get to most places ie gueliz, hivernage.

DO however Get the airport transfer on the way there although its pricy and be warned you will get out the taxi and your bags with be pulled in cart to riad ( road isn't wide enough) but its worth it, it is difficult to find 1st time - everyone gets lost first time in the medina but thats the fun of it .

LOCATION- good and central This riad was a welcome peaceful place in the middle of the madness of the medina and situated close to the souks and the square

You get the real Moroccan experience staying in the middle of the medina. It is also clean, safe and welcoming and quiet. The breakfast is simple but pleasant and the terrace and little plunge pool are a lovely place to relax in the midday sun.I would recommend this place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Lalla F'dila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla F'dila

Address: 17 Derb Allilich | Kaat ben nahid - Moukef -, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Lalla F'dila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Lalla F' Dila is a douiriya (dependence) - house of reception of vizier Mnebhi, War Minister of sultan Moulay-Abd el Aziz at the end of the XIXth century- of Dar Mnebhi who accommodates the museum of Marrakesh today.This dar with rare architectural characteristics is a real small jewel in the historical heart of the Medina. Its owners wanted to rehabilitate it in a modern way while preserving its charm and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Lalla F'dila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Lalla f`Dila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Lalla F'dila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.