We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Lalla F'dila

Save Saved
You added Dar Lalla F'dila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Lalla F'dila
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Derb Allilich | Kaat ben nahid - Moukef -, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This place is very nice with great service! The rooms are great and the roofterrace with view of whole Marrakech is outstanding. The place is difficult to find the first time, but when youve found it once, its no problem.
The two guys working there provide all kinds of service: picking you up at the big square and follow you to the riad, follow you to the atm, serving breakfast, booking other riads for you if you need and organizing excursions. The riad was clean, with spacious rooms. On the roof there are sunbeds and also a big coach with protection from the sun and a shower if its too hot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    36
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
113
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Despite the location, the architecture is beautiful, the Riad got some large and clean rooms but i would highly not recommand this place if you are planning to travel in winter. It was freezing cold and we had to ask many times before to get some tiny heaters ( it was around 12 degrees at night time).I had no hot water in the bathroom and it never got fixed in 6 nights spent over there.
Then if you are not well traveled you also need to know that the riad is lost in some little street where a taxi can't take you and In the evening the streets are poorly lit, so it is not advisable to come back too late at night time because you could feel unsafe .
Aziz , the employee would try very hard to help you , he is very nice and always smiley.He will always offer to find you if are lost in the medina , which happen a lot , it s the fun experience of the medina!
But overall I think that it is way too expensive for the service provided, and this place give you the feeling to be abandonned , which is a shame because it could be amazing if someone was taking care of it.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms upstairs got AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were 3 female friends travelling to marrakesh for a break in the sun for 5 nights, I would however advise going in a cooler month- july/august it was hitting 50 degrees and we were trying to be especially respectful with our attire as it was ramadan.

ROOM-thankfully we had the suite room upstair which had aircon! we also had a room downstair it wasn't too hot but didn;t have aircon. The suite was clean, well decorated and great value for money.

RIAD AND SERVICE- . Aziz was a great host greeting us with mint tea and biscuits and we were able to treat this place like home although if u arriving after 5 he speak limited english so brush up on your french. He will also offer to find you if u get lost so they do make you feel safe espec if you solo women travelling. Mourad( who is there during the day) speak good english and is helpful but:

DO NOT GET MOURAD TO GET YOU A TAXI ANYWHERE WHEN YOU HAVE ARRIVED( ie to a hamman etc), HE WILL SEVERELY RIP YOU OFF, don't pay more than around 30 dirhams for 2/3 people in total( not per person) during the day, to get to most places ie gueliz, hivernage.

DO however Get the airport transfer on the way there although its pricy and be warned you will get out the taxi and your bags with be pulled in cart to riad ( road isn't wide enough) but its worth it, it is difficult to find 1st time - everyone gets lost first time in the medina but thats the fun of it .

LOCATION- good and central This riad was a welcome peaceful place in the middle of the madness of the medina and situated close to the souks and the square

You get the real Moroccan experience staying in the middle of the medina. It is also clean, safe and welcoming and quiet. The breakfast is simple but pleasant and the terrace and little plunge pool are a lovely place to relax in the midday sun.I would recommend this place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the Riad for 6 nights and each one was a pure pleasure. We are a family of four and we were provided with a suite that was absolutely lovely and very spacious.
We felt very welcome when we arrived at the airport and then at the Riad. There is a culture shock depending on how well traveled you are, but put yourself in the hands of the locals and you will be strolling around the city in no time. The markets are like nothing on earth, keep some small Dirham change in your pocket for the unexpected treats, for example fresh grapes and dragon fruits are everywhere.

At the Riad, Aziz provided us with a stellar service throughout our stay, guiding us to and from El J'Fna square until we were familiar with the route. If you are undecided on Marrakech, we advise DO NOT HESITATE - the people are fantastic, the place if perfectly safe, and we were a family with a 10 and 13 year old. The balcony is well suited and provides panoramic views of the Medina, and stunning sunsets and rises where you can choose to have your breakfast. If you get a chance to go get pizza on the back of the scooter, grab it with both hands..!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely beautyful! Lovely details, super clean, total quiet (much needed in noisy city like Marrakech), lovely staff. We were there in July at 47 degrees and I the riad was the cool and calm break needed I order to enjoy the city at this extreme climate. Mourat helped us to find a place to park the car in the chaotic streets of Marrakech and gave us great advise for restaurants nearby and all sorts of "marocco" questions I had. There was aircondition in our room (1st floor) which was a stunning And absolutely quiet room with a large and new bathroom. I hope to come back at a cooler season to stay there again and also enjoy the charming roof terrace. Whomever was responsible for the design of the rooms and common areas really put his whole heart to it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Morocco and it was one of the highlights of our holiday. The staff were very lovely (big thanks to Aziz!!!) who showed us the way to go and even walked with us so we wouldnt get lost and also came to collect us when it was late at night and dark. We felt very welcome and relaxed. The rooms are beautiful with incredibly high ceilings that mean the room stays cool. The riad also serves cold beer which is a welcome reprieve from a fairly alcohol free city in the heat of mid-day, relaxing on the roof terrace was great. I would recommend to anyone staying in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We booked the Hamra Room and it was beautiful and great value for money. We had a glimpse at the Jos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo214
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

As previous reviewers have stated Dar Lalla F'dila is an oasis is the hectic and hot medina with the most friendly and helpful staff you could hope to find in any hotel. Aziz and Mouriad will do anything to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible.

A quick word about the location - Yes its very hard to find, located down some typically nondescript winding streets in a non-touristy part of the Medina. But anywhere not directly adjacent to the main market square is like this in the old town. There are plenty of hotels located on the wide boulevades of the New Town outside the walls but if you want to experience Marrakesh than getting lost in the maze of the Medina is all part of the fun. Sure the constant hassle of young men trying to direct (and misdirect!) you for tips can get annoying, but once you've learned they way (which we had by lunch on the first day) you can just smile and say 'no thanks'. The riad is a couple of minutes walk to Ben Youssef Merdersa & the Museum of Marrakech, and right around the corner from the fabulous La Fondouk restaurant. Its only a few minutes more to the souks and about 10 minutes to the main market square. So in summary the location is pretty much ideal. Aziz will walk you to and collect you from anywhere you need to go until you're comfortbale with finding you own way around.

Do however accept the offer to be collected from the airport or station! Sure it's more expensive than a local cab, but not by much and you're pick up from the gate and delivered to the door. Taxis cannot get to the riad entrance so your bags are carried via cart for the last few streets.

We stayed in the Harma room which was stunninng with incredible high ceilngs and a large bathroom. This is one of the rooms on the ground floor surrounding the beautiful courtyard. There is no air con in these lower rooms, but even on a 40 degree day it was cool and comfortable. The higher rooms all have air con. The rooms open out into the courtyard like is traditional, so closing shutters and drawing curtains is needed when changing etc, but the courtyard is deserted most of the time so we it didnt bother us at all.

We also partook of a couples hamman and massage at the riad which was unbelivable and relaxing after hectic day of haggleing in the hot markets.

Basically I could not have imagined a better place to stay and experience Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Lalla F'dila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla F'dila

Address: 17 Derb Allilich | Kaat ben nahid - Moukef -, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Lalla F'dila 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Lalla F' Dila is a douiriya (dependence) - house of reception of vizier Mnebhi, War Minister of sultan Moulay-Abd el Aziz at the end of the XIXth century- of Dar Mnebhi who accommodates the museum of Marrakesh today.This dar with rare architectural characteristics is a real small jewel in the historical heart of the Medina. Its owners wanted to rehabilitate it in a modern way while preserving its charm and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Dar Lalla F'dila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Lalla f`Dila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Lalla F'dila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.