We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded to Paradise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dar Sabra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dar Sabra to your Saves list
Hotel Dar Sabra
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Douar Abbiad | Palm Groove, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #391 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Upgraded to Paradise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of February. We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival to be informed that we had been upgraded from a junior suite to a superior. Well immediately I am afraid this makes us very biased as from then on how could we complain about anything haha.

The superior room was absolutely gorgeous and the design was fantastic elegant, beautiful and luxuriant. The highlight for us was the double sized bath. All of this was fantastically made up for our arrival with flowers everywhere.

A special mention must go to Hassan the receptionist he really bent over backwards to help me on many occasions. His English is excellent, he is incredibly friendly, cheery and welcoming the perfect host. A special mention he even mastered how to say grill hehe.

Everything runs at Moroccan time which means slowly. Having been to Morocco before I quickly remembered this and eased back into their pace, this makes it a lot less stressful.

The hotel is beautifully designed all over with no moments of peering behind the scenery that can so often be the case at hotels trying to be a certain style. There is genuine pieces of art dotted around with contemporary sculptures littering the grounds. Stunning pools all light up at night, a mix of modern and traditional architecture created a feeling of well thought out design.

My only real niggle was that the food was overpriced for what it was and lacked variety. If you want to just eat in the hotel then you may be disappointed. Saying that Marrakesh is only a free shuttle bus ride away takes about 10 minutes, where you will be overwhelmed with cheap amazing food.

All in all a truly wonderful time.

Thank You Dar Sabra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    58
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
52
125
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Winter sun is what we wanted on our one week holiday and winter sun is what we got. We chose the Dar Sabra from a Voyage Prive special offer but the reviews on TripAdvisor and the look of the place on the website were very inviting. The property itself is of an unusual design but pleasing to the eye although the works of sculpture and art left me feeling as if we weren't really in Morocco. Three swimming pools looked very inviting in the 23c temperatures but in spite of reassurances at least one of them was heated, none of them were and this prevented us (or anyone else) from getting anymore than thigh-high is the freezing water! Still, very refreshing!! Meals in the cozy little restaurant (with beautiful log fire) were of quite an acceptable standard but were spoilt by being delivered luke warm. The reason for this is that the crazy designer forgot to place a door between the kitchens and the restaurant area thereby forcing the waiters to walk out of the kitchens, around the outside of the hotel and back into the Restaurant. Quite how the meals would be delivered during rainstorms, I can't imagine! The staff themselves were very courteous and helpful but a number of them were clearly in need of training as, for example, whilst attending the buffet breakfast, they would simply watch as the coffee or fruit juices or crockery ran out. Once this was pointed out to them, they were quick to scuttle-off and get replacements but it was the fact that this had to be pointed out to them by the guests. It became a little annoying in the end and lowered our expectations of the breakfast experience. So if there's anything that the management of the place needs to do as a result of this posting, it's INVEST IN STAFF TRAINING! It will prove worthwhile because the staff are keen to give a good service and please the guests. Finally, the room was quite pleasant and certainly offered loads of space. Our double bed was huge and comfortable. The shower was also large (2 occupants - no problem - 3 if you're lucky!) and there was a good supply of hot water. TV was a complete waste of time as the satellite signal was hopeless, but who cares - a good book, conversation or a game of cards were great alternatives. One little extra which would add to the comfort factor would be tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Just a few 'tweaks' here and there and this hotel would be a nice, relaxing place for a short stay. I think I would return at some future date.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights as an extended weekend for a birthday getaway in the sunshine. As so often happens as you approach riads and hotels in Morocco, they can be quite daunting and uninviting. The road to the hotel is basically non existent, more a dirt track. However once the gates open to Dar Sabra, it is pleasantly surprising, an oasis in the Palmaraie region. Check in was smooth and we were then offered seating outside in the sunshine. It was lunchtime on arrival, we decided to take lunch in the sunshine whilst we waited for our room to be made ready. It was rather relaxed and little explained about where and when we could get into our room. I was shown our room after i approached reception (they did not notify us) and on initial inspection was impressed by the size of the room and the large panoramic window overlooking a quiet secluded pool. We had the afghan room. However on closer inspection the room was dark and many of the lights were either not working or too dim to see to get dressed. The panoramic window was great, but the curtains needed to be closed when dressing and definitely when laying in bed as those walking from reception had a birds eye view! In fairness we did enquire about the Indian room next door and was offered the room when the air conditioning was fixed. By the time we made the decision to take the offer another guest had moved in! A note worth taking - we could hear the guests next door from the bathroom. The taps in the sink are positioned too far back from the sink and the mirrors are either side of the sink, meaning you have to lean sideways to use the mirror.

The decor of the hotel is stylish boutique, with interesting artwork around the grounds. The outside pool a little fresh in February but probably wonderful in the summer. Double hammocks and comfortable sun beds surround the garden and pool and don't feel crowded.

The hotel offers a shuttle service and is a little costly at 150 dirhams one way into central Marrakech, small yellow taxis at 100 dirham can be easily found for the return journey. Don't be fooled by the friendly shuttle bus driver who will suggest that a local horse drawn carriage is better value for a one and a half hour tour - he will be taking his cut and a better deal can be negotiated with the tourist carriages and they are much cleaner!

The reception staff are courteous and helpful and were very obliging when we requested another duvet. It might have helped if we had been told that the air conditioning acts as a heater and we might not have needed one. However the requests for additional pillows seemed to have fallen on deaf ears and we gave up waiting. Also the safe wasn't working and again no one came back to fix it - this also happened to other guests!

Lunch and dinner menu is a bit limited, but the food is reasonable if a little expensive. However the service is a bit hit and miss affair - perhaps because its low season and few staff. There seems lack of management and needs some organisation. Breakfast seems most chaotic - buffet style, but basic items have to be requested - such as cereal bowls!

On the whole it is a nice hotel. A little out of the way and the cost of cabs need to be considered in your budget. During high season it may be a bit more organised.

There are a lot of similar hotels and riads in the area and if I were going again I might shop around.

Room Tip: Check what rooms are available on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in the Afgahn suite for two nights - my husband, 11 month son, and myself, and it was wonderful. It's a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the old medina and we felt like the only guests there (even though we were not - it was that peaceful). The staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcomed. The property itself is interesting and you can enjoy wandering the grounds viewing the pieces of art that are scattered around. It was too cold to swim when we were there but the pools looked inviting and we wished we could have utilized them. Highly recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great place to escape to after the madness of the downtown souks. Elegant modern architecture blended with wonderful landscape, tasteful interior design and huge pools. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only min point was the rather limited choice on the menu and the rather pricy spa services. Highly recommended, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful arty contemporary hotel, can't fault much. It was the relaxation we needed after a three day Marrakech adventure in a town centred riad. Staff were exceptional ,very attentive and the rooms very accommodating.I would very much recommend it to anybody, chance is you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carqueiranne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Dar Sabra. Everything was perfect : rooms, outside and heated pools, transfer shuttles, quietness.

A great place to relax and enjoy the medina (city center) in the same trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Hotel Dar Sabra, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. FranckAnnik,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about Dar Sabra on Tripadvisor. We are so honored!
We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. And we’re downright honored when you choose to spend a day as special as your HONEYMOON with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your feedback which will certainly be passed along to the team.
Merci beaucoup from all Dar Sabra staffs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dar Sabra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Sabra

Address: Douar Abbiad | Palm Groove, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Sabra 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Dar Sabra Hotel. Located in a 2-hectare garden in the heart of the palm grove of Marrakech, Dar Sabra is a design hotel. A very modern and luxurious 2 bedroom villa with private pool for lovers or several themes suites from different countries. All rooms are air conditioned and feature a minibar, a flat-screen satellite TV, a hairdryer, free WIFI, and much more. Dar Sabra has many contemporary art sculptures in the open air , a sublime spa, 6 pools, tennis courts, table tennis, a gym, a free shuttle 3X per day between the hotel and the Medina. Notre chef proposes an international cuisine for lunch and dinner by the pool or in the restaurant. The hotel also prepares Moroccan meals or special meals on request. The buffet breakfast can be served by the pool or in the restaurant. A free private parking on site is available to guests, the hotel is located 15 km from the Medina and bustle of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dar Sabra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dar Sabra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.