We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside this supposed '4star' there's a 3-star bursting out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dellarosa hotel suites & spa to your Saves list
Dellarosa hotel suites & spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Inside this supposed '4star' there's a 3-star bursting out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Found a 3-night break to Marrakesh is at£189pp from Travel Interaction. Flights, upgrade to a Junior Suite, either a Complimentary dinner or city tour, plus a Hammam at the hotel spa (per person) and Moroccan tea and pastries on arrival.

Sounds greah huh. External impressions and the reception area are quite pleasant - except there's a sign - translated in 3 languages with photos(!) forbidding any food or drink being brought into the hotel. I have never, ever, had a hotel forbidding guests from bringing not even water. That spoilt things for us because we felt we had to rush to finish drinks or ice-creams we'd bought en route back to keep cool along our way.

Check in was quick - we arrived after midnight after a 4-hour flight delay. We hadn't remembered about the tea/pastries welcome until the next day the receptionist told us because we had arrived so late it wasn't done so he would arrange for to have it then - we didn't get the pastries, but that was good of him to point out.

We had emailed to let them know of our late arrival based on the experiences of other travellers, but one email kept bouncing back - this one worked though dellarosa.hotel@gmail.com.

On checking into the Junior suite - it was definitely better than a double; one of which we saw and it looked a little on the small side. It had double aspect windows, 'pool views' - unfortunately the pool area is surrounded by high wall so those were our views. The suite was very spacious and a real bonus having a sitting/dining area plus a bedroom, however it is tired and slipping in maintenance.

The safe was broken (replaced on request);
Some of the curtains were hanging off the rail (ignored when pointed out);
As well as the notice sign at the entrance of the hotel forbidding any food or drink - there is no complimentary tea/coffee provided with the coffee filter machine - again, even 3* hotels have these, so basically, to make use of the coffee machine is all extra cost - you have to buy the coffee from them.
Having a kitchenette is a good first impression, but not even a spoon is provided - can't see the point in providing a microwave and hob, but it isn't reasonable to expect people to buy utensils and cookware to make use of them.
there were no robes/slippers in our Suite;
the bath taps were loose;
the shower head badly positioned causing flooding - you need to position a towel at the end of the bath or risk mopping up.
There was a price list for the mini bar, but it was empty.
Air conditioning was very good and worked fine
The 'Hamman' as part of the deal was only ACCESS to the Hamman - it was not made clear that what everyone expects, i.e. the steam, the lathering, etc is not what is offered. She lets you into what's just really a basic sauna then after 25 mins tell you to have a shower and that's it!


There are a few other spas within easy walking distance if you turn right and right again, and I used one that I found on the next street from the back entrance of the hotel (but there's a rule that you can't enter/exit from the back). That salon was called Salon Las Vegas, found by accident by crossing over from the back of the hotel and walking to the left and around the corner.

Also, this may be our oversight, but we don't recall any information in the advert or booking that there would be a city tax payable on checkout - this should be advised more prominantly to ensure you put money aside. We still had some cash, plus they were holding a 100dirham deposit against a plug adapter, so we were OK.

As mentioned briefly, don't forget chargers/electrical items with UK plugs can't be used, so bring an adapter. There was also a bit of an ant problem in the Suite.

Everything is extra cost - if we had wanted the Hamman and not a sauna, or to use the jacuzzi, you have to pay.

The most disappointing part of the stay was the food. At breakfast, hot choices are limited - 4 items only 1 of which is changed. The continental selection is much more extensive but most things are not covered and when you arrive to see either flies or ants feasting before you, it is enough to put you off, so we never had any of the cheeses, and tried to only have pastries if just put out (trying to ignore whether they were uncovered in the kitchen). The cerals and sliced bread were value brands. Mint tea was available every day which was nice - as was the live musician who played but only on the first morning.

Towards the end of service you may see the staff dipping utensils in a plastic bucket and wiping clean. I ran hot water from the urn over utensils before we used them. The waiting staff were very friendly and welcoming each day, but the first morning, having taken a cold, boiled egg and thinking it might be nice to warm it up in the microwave when we got back to the room, it seems one of them reported back to the manager who quite sternly pointed to it, waved his finger in my face and said something in french making it quite clear this was also against their many rules.

Frankly, their rules plus the poor hygiene with food displayed made us decide not to spend money on any food in the hotel.

Unfortuntately, on asking when we could book the tour and the meal we were told it was one or the other. We showed them the email from the Agent confirming both options were part of our package, but for 3 days, between the local agent and the hotel, we got the run around being told it was fine, but each time we asked it was not. Once having been told by the agent it was now all OK, a few minutes later in front of us the receptionist spoke in arabic to him then came off the line to say it wasn't confirmed. At that point we felt we didn't want this to drag our holiday down so decided not to keep asking and we never did get was was promised.

For a hotel that has so many rules it was surprising there were no rules around using the pool, so we were awoken by a family horsing around and racing each other just before 7am or people using it very late into the evening. Using the pool, one in my group got a cut on the tiled steps. Reporting this to reception we were given a piece of gauze (not even a proper plaster) and it wasn't written down. Only after did I see a discarded plaster by the small plunge pool so evidently we may not have not been the only ones to have a casulty.

The roof terrace could be a lovely space, but only one umbrella is usable, all the other umbrellas are broken and could only be used to make a makeshift shelter - it's far too hot to stay there for more than a few minutes without shelter, then what drove us back downstairs was a foul smell from the vents. Every flowerpot has dead or dying plants - there is a bar area with a sink andthey were so sad looking that I used one of the empty plastic bottles thrown behind it to catch water to water them.

This isn't a hotel for small children as there is a pool table, but no special menu, facilities or activities for them. Of the 2 PCs in the 'business centre' only one was fully functional with a keyboard and mouse. The bar area is quiet and fairly dark with all the curtains pulled - we asked about the evening entertainment, but the barman said there's no music.

It is located at least a 15 minute walk from the Medina, but if you brave the walk in the heat, there is a park en route that is a welcome refuge with shading, WCs and water fountains.

It may just be our peception but french guests seem to get a bit better treatment. I've looked on the review website that is advertised at their reception and so many of their reviews mention being upgraded without asking. Also, if you find your way to their French language site there are special offers on display, but none on offer on the English language site.

We found it helpful that we were at least allowed to leave our bags on check out at midday - apparently they were full and we couldn't have a late check out, but we were allowed to used the shower & towels in the spa.

Ultimately, it sounds great on paper, but we either didn't receive or couldn't make use of everything mentioned in the offer, nor did we receive the additional extra promised, so felt mislead by the tour guide and/or hotel along the way. Plus there were far too many rules and regulations - not about cleaning and food hygiene where it would improve their offering, but too many rules preventing us from doing things; for us to properly enjoy our stay and not finding it a 4* experience all around.

Room Tip: Suites with kitchenettes are better than double rooms in terms of size, but be prepared to pay out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellarosam, Romm Division Manager at Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this detailed description of the hotel and its services.

We regret your impressions in regards of the value of our rates and our services, may we note

that our prices and our instructions are equivalent to other 4 star properties in Marrakech.

Please, give us a chance to show you how we can be more efffective in delivering service,

Hopefully we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon and please do not hesitate to look

on Dellarosa Website for special offers.

Best regards,

Errafii Samira
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    231
    134
    60
    30
See reviews for
87
317
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My boyfriend and i booked a last minute trip to marrakech and this hotel looked very nice online, and we thought what a bargain for a 4* well a4* it isn't, wouldn't say its more then a 3*. Staff isnt the friendliest to be honest, when you ask them something they look at you like you are stupid, hotel room was clean, but one of the ceiling lamps was hanging down loose, breakfast was simple and nothing special and the restaurant really needs an update. If i would go back to marrakech i would pay a little extra to get to a proper 4* hotel as there are plenty of it in marrakech

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellarosam, Room Division Manager at Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comment on Tripadvisor ,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Dellarosa hôtel suite & spa. we made a point with our team about all your remarks, and be sure we will work on it.

We naturally stay at your disposal for any further remarks,

Best regards,

Samira Errafii
Room Division Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff were friendly, the service great, the food was very good if sometimes a bit small. They were very attentive and always ready to help. . I initially thought it was a bit expensive but had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellarosam, Room Division Manager at Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Madam,

we would like to thank you first for taking the time to send us back your comment,

We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Dellarosa in the very close future.

Best regards;

Errafii Samira,
Room Division Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is good as it is a short walk to the markets and main attractions of Marrakech. However, we used the spa facilities which were awful, €50 wasted. the 'special Moroccan scrub' was done with the shower gel from our bathrooms which was very disappointing. The breakfast in the hotel was very unpleasant. The final straw was at checkout where we were charged for a 45 minute phonecall that we never made! We complained and asked to speak to a manager who did not take our complaint seriously, therefore we ended up having to pay for the charges. Not the best stay I've had in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel uses the tag line "A few steps from the town centre" Having walked there and back I only wished that I could have inserted a thousand between few & steps. I emailed for a vehicle to meet us on arrival, like others nothing arrived so after haggling for the best price for a taxi we made our way to the hotel. After completing booking in procedures we are taken to our room on the third floor, the lift was just big enough for we two and our cases. The room was fairly large with a good size bathroom. Drawback in the bathroom was the height of the bath which was
2 feet to the rim, not much you may say but it also had limited space between the wall, the sink surround and the fixed glass panel on the edge of the bath, (take step ladder with you). The bar area was dismal and dark due to the profusion of national flags for the world cup and all curtains being drawn even though there was no sun penetration for most of the day. The Pool was small and very rarely saw any sun thus it was I was told freezing. The sun bed mattresses were stained and the tables and chairs had seen better days with some rust. The Roof Terrace was nothing to write home about, there were many tables and chairs in a similar condition and there was only one small sunshade by two sun beds. It would be impossible to remain there for more than a few minutes in the full force of the sun. Why they have a unused bar, and what are the showers for?
My final piece is left for the food, for the first two nights; the evening self service buffet was truly appalling, it was virtually inedible and the breakfast was not much better. They continually ran out of product (this did not matter whether you arrived at 8 or 10am) I lost count of the number of times that I had to ask for various items. The evening meal improved somewhat when they went over to a set menu for the rest of our stay, this we were told was because of Ramadan.They spent more time readying the tables for the next meal than looking at what was needed to be replenished. I leave my last scathing comment for the standard of the glasses and cups. Many of the cups were either cracked or chipped, the glasses were similarly chipped. At no time should they have been using them for service and should have been placed in a bin for disposal. It's one saving grace is its free WIFI which is the best I have used in any hotel around the world. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and feel sorry for anyone already booked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellarosam, Room Division Manager at Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear sir /Madam

we would like to thank you first for taking the time to send us back your comment,

We are very sorry about your past experience at Hotel Dellarosa. Please note this is absolutly not in our habit to give such a level of service.
We make our best to improve the quality of service and standard you are expecting to find in our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.


Best regards,
Samira Errafii
Room Division Manager
Dellarosa suite & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Location is good. It's within walking distance to the main square which was a big bonus. The biggest complaint we had is that they were doing building work the entire time we stayed there. I am a very heavy sleeper and my husband and I are not the type of people to cause a fuss but, our last morning we were awoken by very loud hammering and the moving of furniture above our room at 6:30 am!!! My husband went down to the desk twice to ask what was going on and was only told "it should've stopped by now" . The sound continued and we were exhausted going back home. We probably wouldn't recommend this hotel because they obviously don't care about their guests. Vacations are meant for rest and relaxation, too bad we didn't get any staying in this hotel. Think before you book here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellarosam, Room Division Manager at Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je vous remercie d'avoir séjourné à l’hôtel Dellarosa suites & spa et d'avoir laissé vos commentaires sur Tripadvisor.

Les commentaires de nos clients sont importants et nous permettent de progresser.

Je m'entretiendrai personnellement avec le service concerné au sujet de vos remarques afin que de tels événements ne se reproduisent plus à l'avenir .

J’espère que vous nous donnerez l'opportunité de regagner votre confiance et de vous accueillir à nouveau au Dellarosa suites & spa .

Errafii Samira
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a half board basis residing in a twin standard room even thought i had requested a double bed. Room was of good size & clean. Facilites is minimum so not good for children/ teenagers ( only a pool table & small cold water pool) when to use the solorium or pool but told no as it wasnt open til 9am and after 10am for pool due to other hotel guest sleep near pool table.
Breakfast is buffet but same chooses every day, had a chose of either lunch or dinner which was a set menu of 2 items each on the dinner option. Food was good but would have liked a more moroccan menu
I will return to Morocco but will not stay at this hotel due to lack of facilities

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dellarosa hotel suites & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Address: 5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dellarosa hotel suites & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dellarosa is located in the heart of the city, close to the shopping area and only five minutes walk from the ancient walls, the famous main square Jemma El Fna and the bustling souks. Blending the renowned Moroccan hospitality with international design and comfort,this luxury hotel is a haven in the city centre, the perfect residence to fully enjoy the Red City assets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dellarosa hotel suites & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa Hotel Marrakech
Dellarosa Hotel Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.