We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Save Saved
You added Dellarosa hotel suites & spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dellarosa hotel suites & spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading lots of fab reviews on this hotel I was really looking forward to our trip. I have to say that I was somewhat disappointed. On arrival we were checked in very quickly which was good, however we weren't offered any mint tea unlike it seems many of the other reviewers. Our room (no 17) was very cramped, so much so that it was a squeeze to get past the bed onto the balcony, on arrival to our room we discovered that we only had 2 coat hangers between the two of us for a whole week. Despite 3 requests for more hangers this remained the case throughout our stay. The bathroom was seriously in need of a revamp although in fairness the cleaning staff do a great job. We didn't have a remote control for our air con and on our first day reception sent someone to turn it on, however we weren't able to adjust it which resulted in being freezing of a night. The changing of the towels was a problem at times, with the dirty towels being taken as early as 9.30am and clean towels not being given until as late as 7pm. Ok as long as you don't want to shower between this time. Lovely big balcony but bizarrely no table, chairs or loungers so kinda unusable. The breakfast was adequate but plentiful & the musician is a nice touch. Communal areas within the hotel are beautiful although the outside areas are pretty basic. Terrace is very peaceful and a great place to relax. Staff are very friendly and helpful. With a bit of care this hotel could be great but unfortunately I'd have to say it's probably only worthy of a 2* and certainly not a 4*. Did I have a pleasant stay, yes, would I recommend to a friend, unfortunately no.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a suite, the basic rooms are just that, BASIC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    264
    131
    61
    31
See reviews for
80
304
46
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay at the dellarosa hotel location was briliant with just a small walk round to the new city. Staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending certain places pool was big enough to use I would especially recommemd badra and brahim at reception who were lovely!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't often write reviews but i have to after our amazing stay at Dellarosa. Before travelling to Marrakech i did a lot of research where to stay as i was looking for certain amenities. The one and only that ticked all the right boxes was Dellarosa and we were not disappointed. The hotel is modern yet traditional with air con / free wifi / swimming pool / gym / spa (inc hamman services) / great breakfast / bar / roof terrace / massive rooms (with lounge) / friendly staff and in a great location, located between the hustle and bustle of the madina and the European shopping streets. We were able to walk everywhere. I cannot recomend this hotel enough. The best thing about it is the value for money. This was one of the cheapest options I found yet we got a lot more than we paid for. I think all the people that complained about this hotel should have just stayed in a generic Hilton hotel and pad the price tag! There is really nothing to complain about. If you are looking for an amazing value for money hotel with all the amenities you could wish for then look no further Dellarosa Suites and Spa Hotel is it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Della Rosa is a 15 minute walk from Jema'al Fna, the old town square and a 10 minute walk from the centre of Gueliz, the new commercial centre, on the edge of the Hivernage district.
There is a small pool, gym, spa and bar.
Rooms have very good air-con and we had a small suite with lounge area and kitchenette.
It is clean and the room staff do a great job.
The customer service in the bar is patchy
The food in the restaurant is basic but is typically good.
It is stylishly decorated, but there are areas where it is looking a little tired and could use some maintenance.
There is a roof terrace, but the bar up there was never staffed and we had to come down 6 floors to get drinks.

My major gripe is the food policy. "For hygeine reasons" no food or drink may be brought into the hotel from outside, and the security guards do enforce it. It's a contradiction when the suites have a kitchen in them!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was terrible. Fruits they offered were not fresh. Everything tasted very bland. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Bathrooms and plumbing were bad. The pool is very small considering how many rooms. The only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is central to everything so it's easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel staff was nice and helpful. The hotel was clean and modern.
The location is good and has enough various restaurants surround her. Enough roads an directions.
The bed was awesome slept like a real: ROSA!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the Dellarosa on our recent holiday to Marrakech. Was pleased with the room (a suite) and the location is fairly good - within easy walking distance of the new and old towns.
The room was well cleaned during our stay.
We had a problem with the patio door not locking, giving access to anyone else sharing our terrace. We reported this and was told someone would be up to fix it - this never happened and remained a problem during our stay. Have noticed that previous reviews mention this problem so presume its the same issue they are not bothering to fix. Also, the motion sensitive lights on our corridor were not always effective and had to walk down a section of corridor in the dark - we were quite near the door but for others this would have been a longer walk.
Breakfast was poor to average - usual selections of breads, pastries, cakes, cheeses etc but all of variable quality. On the Friday we stayed the breakfast was excellent - much fresher and more choice, the next day it was terrible with the toaster not plugged in and no milk for a coffee (and this was at the very start of the service). Had one meal in the restaurant and the Moroccan dish my husband chose was good, I chose a French dish and it was tasteless.
One of the main problems we found was their rule on that they do not allow food or drink to be brought in from elsewhere. While I can fully understand this in respect to takeaways etc this also applies to bottled water! One day while we had been out and about in 43 degree heat we bought some water which we still had with us on our return. The security guard actually stopped us and called a manager over who I thought was going to confiscate it - we had a few words over it and they "allowed" us to keep it on this occasion!! This is obviously a ploy to make you buy the water they sell (at 3x the cost of local shops) - whilst their prices are not expensive, when you are buying 3-4 litres a day per couple this can mount up. Also, if its 43 degrees outside I will buy water wherever I choose!! Have been in lots of hotels all over the place and have never had this rule before and hated the fact that we were being treated like this by the hotel. Really couldn't believe their attitude towards us - we had been there several days and spent a fair bit of money in their restaurant and bar yet they were planning to take some bottled water off us!!
The bar area is gloomy and underused - you have to break staff members away from their cigarette breaks to order a drink at times. The pool isn't very large or private (overlooked by the lobby, bar and gift shop!). The roof terrace could also be so much more - there is a place for a bar so why they don't sell drinks up here in the searing heat is beyond me - would have used this area more if we could have easily got refreshments.
On leaving the reception didn't even ask us how our stay was and was simply handed our final bill. Overall the holiday was cheap and you do get what you pay for. If you are happy to be a in a miserable hotel where you feel a burden to staff then definitely stay here. If I was returning to Marrakech I would definitely opt for somewhere else that would hopefully have much better customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dellarosa hotel suites & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Address: 5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dellarosa hotel suites & spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dellarosa is located in the heart of the city, close to the shopping area and only five minutes walk from the ancient walls, the famous main square Jemma El Fna and the bustling souks. Blending the renowned Moroccan hospitality with international design and comfort,this luxury hotel is a haven in the city centre, the perfect residence to fully enjoy the Red City assets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dellarosa hotel suites & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa Hotel Marrakech
Dellarosa Hotel Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.