We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Save Saved
You added Dellarosa hotel suites & spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dellarosa hotel suites & spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I start with the service since everyone from the waiter in the diningroom, the attendant in the hammam, to the people at the front desk, were courteous, friendly, and helpful. But most impressive of all is the way the hotel handled a valuable item I left behind; they were prepared to rush it to the airport, but the flight was leaving too soon, so they arranged to have it shipped to me at a reasonable cost. It was all handled efficiently and promptly and made what could have been a sour note to our trip, a happy ending. The hotel is in a good location, just a couple of blocks from the commercial center of the European part of Marrakech and within fifteen minutes of the main gate to the Medina. Our room was spacious, with a nice balcony, well furnished, a comfortable bed and all the amenities one would expect of a modern hotel. There is a small, attractive pool, an exercise room, a hammam with reasonable rates, a small business center, a bar and a small restaurant that serves good food (the breakfast buffet was ample and excellent).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    225
    130
    58
    29
See reviews for
83
307
47
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Dellarosa is in a good location, within walking distance of both the old and new town. The hotel had a nice contemporary feel, our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was good and the towel sculptures and rose petals were a nice touch. We had no balcony or patio area and this was a bit disappointing, as our friends’ rooms had outside areas, and their rooms were probably a little bigger than ours. The rooms had electronic safety deposits, which were more than large enough to hold iPads, for example. We also had a large flat-screen Samsung TV, free wi-fi and air conditioning. The breakfast is buffet style; croissants, pain au chocolate, cereal, fruit, various breads and some local dishes, including a few hot dishes. There was a machine for coffee/chocolate. It was a shame that with the abundance of oranges in Marrakech, they use the powdered orange at breakfast. The timings for breakfast were generous; I think it was from 6.30 until 10.30, and 11.00 at the weekend.

The bar area is OK, with prices for alcohol about the same as other places. We popped in most evenings, and there was always entertainment; a lady singing modern(ish!) pop. The pool area is very small and mainly in the shade, and the water was freezing, I think it is more to look at than use!! However, the roof terrace is in the sun most of the day and has about a dozen sun loungers and some chairs and tables. It was hot last week, and there is no shade on the terrace, apart from a few umbrellas, and some of these were faulty. Fortunately, there was a lovely breeze being high up (6th floor). There is a bar on the terrace, which was unmanned whilst we were there, but I did see food and drinks being delivered to the terrace.

There have been comments about the hotel being noisy. There was noise (I think made worse by the fact that all surfaces are marble or polished concrete(?) so everything echoes). The cleaners start early, and there are some inconsiderate guests at hotels! but on the whole I wasn’t bothered by it too much.

The staff were all very pleasant, and most of them speak some French. The hotel arranged our pick up from the airport, and we were duly met without fuss. It is about 15 minutes from the Airport.

Next door to the hotel you can buy cheap drinks and water (not alcohol). It is just a shack but it is well stocked.

This is my first post after many years of using TA for advice, so I hope someone finds it useful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I was a little bit disappointed with the Dellarosa. I don’t think the hotel looks as good in real life as the photographs on the internet. Our room was very dark with hardly any natural light. Our balcony faced directly onto a wall and the balcony above overhung ours so the sunlight didn't reach our room.

There were a couple of problems with the room. Somebody had tried to mount a light switch on a mirror and as a consequence it was hanging down with bare wires showing. In the bathroom the glass shower curtain was so badly fitted the bathroom flooded every time the shower was used. Although there was a safe with a digital lock, it wasn’t secured to anything and could be picked up.

The worst thing about the hotel was the noise. There was loud piped music in the corridors until late. Well into the night and from early in the morning there was a tremendous amount of noise from staff, other guests and workmen which meant a lie in was out of the question.

Breakfast was a curious mix of sweet and savoury dishes but there was enough choice and it was fine. The only thing was that although the tables were clean there was often food on the floor under the tables. Apart from this the rooms and other public areas were clean.

There was a bar with comfy chairs and entertainment in the evening. There was also a bar on the roof terrace where there were also sunbeds and a great view over the city to the Atlas Mountains. Drinks were expensive but I think that drinks were expensive in Marrakech anyway. There was a very small pool in a courtyard but this also didn’t receive any sunlight and the pool area looked very cramped.

It was handy that there were a couple of PCs with free internet access as we didn’t take a laptop. There are also wifi points throughout the hotel.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a good location in walking distance to the main square (Jemaa el Fna) in the old part of town and the modern shops in the new town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizonMorton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip, but took my family along, and reserved it specifically because I was looking for an apartment hotel where my daughter could sleep in a separate bedroom without us having to stay way out in the Palmeraie area of Marrakesh.

We arrived after dark, and had a heck of a time finding the hotel -- more than 1/2 my fault, because the map on their website is good, but the sign is not well-lit and we drove past it a half dozen times. We asked a police officer about 50 feet from the hotel for directions, and he quite confidentally and politely gave us directions that took us miles away. The location is good -- close to the tourist sites, medina, and lots of good restaurants, as well as the tennis club and stadium.

Our room was a large suite, with a kitchen. Despite the kitchen, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for very long-term stays because it would be fairly impractical for much cooking. The only fridge was a stocked mini-bar, so you wouldn't have anywhere to store food, and they only provided 2 coffee mugs, no other glassware. The living room, however, was large and comfortable and the bedroom very comfortable (2nd TV in the bedroom), and they had the baby crib we requested set up in our room on arrival (something that has NEVER happened before in Morocco).

My complaints -- the shower-head was mounted backwards and had to be hand-held; we got twin beds pushed together rather than a double bed; and my biggest complaint was the lounge music coming from the bar and quite audible in our room. It ended early, around 10 PM, but I still don't want to hear mediocre lounge music in my hotel room, especially since I was traveling with a baby.

The decor (pool table, modern furnishings) and lounge music say "party hotel" but the suites and clientele (mostly Anglophone couples in their 50s) say "family hotel." Regardless, I'd stay there again because of the large rooms and convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located between the historic side of Marrakech and the newer parts, walkable to both in around ten minutes.

Breakfast is varied, although not to my taste largely (so I stocked up mostly on unhealthy pastries and jam).

The hotel has free internet access from two base PCs near the lobby, which was useful.

The pool is a fairly small affair and is located in a permanently shaded corner - which meant it was too cold for use during our stay in March. I would imagine it would be fantastic in the heat of summer, but its location means that it is always out of sunlight - meaning at many times during the year it is nothing more than something to look at.

There are bar and restaurant facilities during the day and evening.
Outside the hotel there are two small shops (well, shacks), which have basic snacks and drinks at low cost.

The hotel has a free gym - with good weights equipment and running and cross training machines.

The spa and hammam was excellent. My girlfriend and I had a traditional black soap scrub, argan oil wrap and massage - a fantastic experience that at just over £40 each for an hour and a half to two hours worth of treatments was well worth it.

The roof terrace has a number of comfortable sun beds and is a nice place to lay in the sunshine. There are also loungers near the pool - again, like the pool, probably largely in the shade though.

The only real issue I would raise with the hotel, and which applies to so many Marrakech hotels or riads, it seems, is that the walls of this place seemed paper thin. We were regularly awoken by noisy neighbours or by the early morning call to prayer from the nearby mosque (which like many mosques in the city use megaphones to amplify the noise). The latter is to be expected and is part of the experience, however the former was a tad annoying - as the people next door weren't shouting, simply talking and moving around in the room at 2/3am, as were others in the corridor, and you can hear far more than should be able to.

If you're a heavy sleeper, get lucky with quieter neighbours at night or no one in the next room, or if you don't really care about being awoken - as you're on holiday and can just laze the next day, then this won't be an issue.

This hotel is close enough to the main attractions, whilst being enough away for some refuge from the barrage of pressure sales tactics and beggars that all make Marrakech the rather hectic yet enjoyable experience that it is.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

As this was our first visit to Morocco, the location was perfect. Unfortunately as the weather was awful ( Cold, wet and windy - March 10th-15th ) we were unable to see the country at its best. Also hotels, bars and restaurant in gerenal are not geared up to coping with the cold. This hotel had air-con units, but these did not seem to blow out warm/hot air when needed. The restaurant was particularly cold and draughty. Also ideally there should be more tables, as breakfast gets very crowded in spite of being open for long hours ( 6-30/10-30 - 11-00 on Sundays ). Also they have to invest in a second coffee machine. Also, when oranges are so cheap and plentiful, why did they serve a weak powdered version. On the positive side, the dinner we had was excellent and well priced. The staff were really great, so helpful, polite and cheerful. We had a slight malfunction to our wardrobe door when we arrived, it was fixed very quickly.

Our package included a 20 minute massage and 20 minute spa treatment. Not sure how much it would have cost, but we found the Jacuzzi a little basic and small. We stayed in a Junior suite which was more than adequate. One drawback, which I guess applies to all cities in Morroco is that you are never far from a Mosque. The one near us called for prayers at 6-30 am everyday and this was amplified ! However it is fair to say that the positives far out number the negatives. We enjoyed our stay enormously.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed for four nights in March 2011. Excellent hotel. Great facilities, very clean, spacious and modern rooms. Breakfast great and staff very pleasant and helpful. Great price for this standard of hotel. Good location for both sight seeing (old town) and nightlife (new town).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dellarosa hotel suites & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dellarosa hotel suites & spa

Address: 5 Avenue Moulay El Hassan, hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dellarosa hotel suites & spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dellarosa is located in the heart of the city, close to the shopping area and only five minutes walk from the ancient walls, the famous main square Jemma El Fna and the bustling souks. Blending the renowned Moroccan hospitality with international design and comfort,this luxury hotel is a haven in the city centre, the perfect residence to fully enjoy the Red City assets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Dellarosa hotel suites & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dellarosa Hotel Suites & Spa Hotel Marrakech
Dellarosa Hotel Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dellarosa hotel suites & spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.