We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility with excellent attention to the smallest of details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Mendili Kasbah to your Saves list
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40066, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis of tranquility with excellent attention to the smallest of details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This trip was a 40th birthday treat. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful with breathtaking scenery of the Atlas Mountains from your room. The suites were luxurious and very comfortable with a fire being lit upon request in your personal lounge area. The food was of excellent quality and the fact that you could have breakfast brought to your bedroom up until 11am meant that you eat on your own personal terrace overlooking the pool. The staff were attentive, patient and friendly and the owners, Vanessa and Emmanuel (aka Manu) were always around to help and their hospitality is second to none. A basic knowledge of french would be very useful!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
152
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

3 nights here was a perfect break, with direct flights from Edinburgh and a driver from the hotel waiting for us at the airport. Great rooms, all with great views of the gardens and mountains beyond, fantastic food and a great welcome from Vanessa & Emmanuel. Website & other reviews have it spot on. Spent one evening in the Medina, but was glad to return to this Oasis. Meals were great, with no huge choice but delicious mix of Moroccan and French food, with the breakfasts especially good, served on private terrace at an time of our choosing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

When you read a long list of reviews for a newish hotel, all praising it to the hilt, there is always THAT suspicion. Well, rest assured, this place is the real deal. Set in quiet isolation within the arid countryside, this is an oasis in more ways than one, with well maintained grounds (including a large, clean swimming pool) surrounding an elegant Moroccan style villa containing 10 ample rooms facing out to views of the Atlas mountains in the distance. From the large, comfortable beds, through the well-appointed bathrooms, to the finesse of the thoughtful decoration it is obvious that the philosophy of the owners, Emmanuel and Vanessa, is to build their reputation through providing excellence in every aspect of their hotel. The staff are superb, the food is fantastic and varied (if you do not have a sweet tooth ask for a breakfast other than the traditional Moroccan!!) and is served in a number of well-chosen locations around the
hotel. Speaking a bit of French is a big help, and if you are reasonably capable I thoroughly recommend getting Hamid as a taxi driver and guide. (Make sure you get the right Hamid - this one is sturdy with a large moustache, and always neatly dressed!!). Travelling with him we learned far, far more about Morocco than from any guide book - his local village is 40 mins away and going to their market with him was an amazing experience. We definitely want to return, possibly in a cooler month!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We booked all ten rooms for a business 'weekend retreat'. This was based purely on the good internet reviews we'd seen, plus recommendations from Moroccan business contacts. From the moment we arrived we knew we'd made an excellent choice: This two year old place is extremely well-designed, and it met all our needs. We now understand why being out in the countryside is the elegant option when visiting Marrakech. The city centre simply does not feel clean by comparison (compare the stench of horse manure at the Jamaa el-Fna square in Marrakech with the pool & gardens of the Al Mendili featuring Hibiscus, Bougainvillea and Olive groves.. it's absolutely no contest. And I don't recall seeing a single insect in 3 days at the Al Mendili). Service was excellent throughout, and owners Emmanuel and Vanessa deserve a lot of credit for assembling such a competent team of eleven staff (cleaners, chefs, pool/garden maintenance and spa service personnel all live on-site and were always there for us as and when we needed them - we chose to leave a good tip for them at the end of our stay). Amal, their tireless and versatile "chef de service" deserved special mention as she looked after us extremely well. You can rely on the hotel to arrange transport (Rashid was excellent), arrange outings (or golf) and recommend restaurants in town just 30 minutes' drive away. Rooms are very secure (with optional heavy shutters if required) and air conditioning units more than adequate. Do not leave without trying the Hammam/Massage combination: the cost is very reasonable and the masseuses were surprisingly good. There's ample evidence on the walls (masks and artefacts) of Emmanuel & Vanessa being raised as expat kids in Libreville. They in turn now have three kids attending the French school in Marrakech, plus a delightful one year old white Samoyed "puppy". Hints: brush up your french before travelling to Morocco, Take this as a recommendation of '"Chez Manu et Vanessa".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Manu and Vanessa are delightful hosts making you feel very at home. At the end of a flight and bouncy Taxi ride to be welcomed into their hotel is very refreshing. Only opened 2 years they are working hard to achieve the correct ambience. 12 rooms overlooking the Atlas mountains set in olive groves is hard to beat. The staff are professional yet friendly. The Breakfast freshly made crepes/creme caramel was smoothing to look forward too along with the evening dinner-Home made tagines. You need to have a smattering of French as the hotel attracts lots of French guests and Manu's English needs a little work! As a whole we found Marrakech more expensive than imagined but the hotel and views were the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We arrived late in the evening to Marrakech. Our airport transfer was a godsend. Having negotiated the Moroccan traffic from the back seat, we were glad we weren't in the front seat!

As the roads got narrower and the potholes bigger, we arrived at Kasbah Al Mendili. Beautifully lit walkway upto the grand door, rose bushes on either side.

The door opened as we approached and we were invited in. It had been14 hours since we set off from Belfast, so the warm towels and mint tea to refresh us were very much appreciated.

The next week of our lives were spent in an idyllic retreat - merely 20 minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Jemaa El Fna.

We have not experienced such service, attention, discretion before. Emmanuel and Vanessa can be very proud of the team they have established. From the top, they lead by example. Friendliness and professionalism were found in equal measures.

The room was extremely comfortable with a good sized balcony over looking the pool and garden area with the snow capped Atlas mountains on the horizon - stunning!

The kitchens endlessly turned out fresh tasty food - different each day, you got a real sense of Moroccan cuisine at its finest. An explosion of flavours in each mouthful – compliments to the chef!

The spa was run very efficiently by Fati, assisted by her sister Iman, with the traditional hamman being a unique and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

We had temperatures of between 20C - 25C making it a great escape from the -5C back home!

This Kasbah and its entire team thoroughly deserve to be amongst the top rated in Morocco.

PS- best gin fizz ever!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Once the doorstep of Kasbah El Mendili has been crossed, you are greeted with great warmth by Vanessa and Emanuel. We were looking to chill out after a stressful week in casablanca, and boy did we get value for money. Great view on the Atlas moutains and good and clean rooms. The staff are excellent and always smiling and helpful. Kids are welcome and feel at home.
We highly recommend this experience to people who are looking for a nice and relaxing place.
Well done Vanessa and Manu. Keep it up. We will definitely come back early next year.

Aslam and Zareen SOOLTANGOS

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Mendili Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Address: BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40066, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mendili Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Through the studded wooden gate, kasbah Al Mendili reveals its overwhelming charm to you. Catherine and Alain will welcome you warmly in their posh and friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Mendili Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mendili Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.