We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Mendili Kasbah to your Saves list
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Always a very pleasant stay in quiet, relaxed and luxurious atmosphere. Managed with love and much attention. The most beautiful view on Atlas mountains and an ideal starting point to explore Ourika valley and Atlas mountains. Good breakfast, good food and nice staff.
Hopefully we will be back soon :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
143
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

When we first saw this place online we couldn't quite believe it - we had never seen a hotel with such consistently fabulous reviews. We decided to try it as it seemed to offer everything we were looking for - somewhere hot and peaceful outside of Marrakech but with the option to go into town if we wished to.
What can we say... our stay was everything we hoped for and more. Catherine and Alain were superb, warm hosts who looked after our every need beautifully. Their staff were truly wonderful - attentive, discrete, always polite - and it was the little touches that really made it for us. Our perfectly appointed room was turned down twice each day, each time taking care to make sure we were at breakfast or dinner - we weren't disturbed once. Meals were delicious and the chef had taken great care to make them different every time. On a previous trip to Marrakech we were somewhat disappointed with the food, a little samey and bland. Not here. Breakfast was a small banquet, and lunches and dinners were all three course menus. They served us Moroccan dishes with some French influences, made from fresh local produce (including some wonderful fruit). We didn't mind at all that we never knew what we were getting each meal - it was a delightful surprise and always top notch. They also took care to set up our meal in different places throughout the riad so it felt personal and special each time - we ate in the main courtyard, by the fireplace on sofas, by the pool and in a cosy, private little nook on the first floor. We also had a hammam and massage which did not disappoint.
We had never been anywhere quite like this, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience what 5* really feels like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spend 6 days at Al Mendili at the end of October/beginning of November and it was fabulous! Catherine and Alain are lovely people and great hosts. From our first enquiry via email through to the time when we sadly had to leave the Kasbah at the end of our stay, the service was 5*. All the staff are really friendly, efficient and respectful...The bedrooms are beautifully and individually decorated...Add to that the lovely gardens and pool area with its amazing views of the snow capped Atlas Mountains and the sumptuous spa for massage or hammam and it is the perfect place to rest and relax. There are numerous lounge areas from the spectacular rooftop, to the sofas on the shady terrace or in front of the lovely open fire. Although the weather was very warm during the day, the evenings were a little too chilly to eat outside however we were treated to a romantic dinner in front of the fire, a dinner in our own cosy private dining room as well as dining in the elegant and impressive dining hall. Each evening we ate at the Kasbah we were treated to a tasty 3 course meal made with the freshest of ingredients and cooked in the Morrocan way. To round it off, these were accompanied by great Morrocan wines - never knew Morrocan wine was so nice! For us the disance of Al Mendili from Marrakesh was not a problem, in fact we are so pleased that we weren't in the Medina as had been recommended to us by many friends but had decided instead to opt for the peace and tranquility of the Kasbah with the city only a short drive away. I would have no hesitation in recommending Al Mendili and certainly hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and decorated individually in different colourways so it depends on what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Catherine and Alain are warm and welcoming hosts at Al Mendili, supported by a courteous and professional staff. From the moment we were met at the airport by a driver and then greeted at the door of Al Mendili by Catherine and Alain to our departure 8 days later when an early breakfast was prepared for us to fit our morning departure all our needs were catered for.
Our room, Chaar el Assel, was spacious and comfortable with stunning views over the Atlas Mountains. One of the great pleasures of our holiday was to have breakfast served on the balcony while enjoying the views over the garden, pool area and mountains.
Catherine had asked if we had any special dietary requirements and as there were none the waiter served whatever was prepared fresh from the kitchen each day. You will not starve at Al Mendili as the food is always good and plentiful!
During our stay Catherine and Alain arranged taxis for us to travel into Marrakech and, on one occasion, to travel into the Ourika Valley. Catherine also arranged for a henna tattooist to come to the hotel as I wanted a tattoo of natural henna and had heard that those in the Medina use additional chemicals in their preparations. The service provided is truly magnificent and yet unobtrusive.
Al Mendili is located at quite a distance from the centre of Marrakech. It was one of the reasons we chose it as we didn't want the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The taxis that we took into the centre added to the cost of the holiday but not significantly (400 dirhams there and back) so I would only recommend this riad if you want a completely relaxed and pampered holiday with occasional trips into the city or surrounding area. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day trip staying at Al Mendili with my daughter and and have nothing but praise for this wonderful establishment. Walking through the doors to the warm welcome of the owners, with a mint tea and towel to freshen up you really are transported to a haven of relaxation and calm. The surroundings are just beautiful, the only sounds you hear are the birds singing and the rustle of palm trees. I must admit that I was slightly worried that we would be too far out and just wasn't sure what to expect but this place has actually changed what I will look for in accommodation in the future. I loved the peace and tranquillity and being away from the hustle and bustle. We ate here every day for lunch and once in the evening and the food is fantastic. I really enjoyed not knowing what we were getting as it quickly became apparent that the food was fresh, tasty and healthy.
We got taxis into Marrakech twice and loved it - again slightly concerned as had read some negative reports but never encountered any situations that were difficult or uncomfortable. In fact, we found everybody we came into contact with very helpful and pleasant. We bartered in the souks and ate in the night market of the medina and enjoyed it all.

Taxis were organised by the hotel, and any information we needed they were only too happy to help. There really wasn't anything they wouldn't help you with.

Would definitely recommend staying at the Al Mendili - it is out of the way this is a small price to pay for staying in such a lovely place - staying here you get the best of both worlds, access to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech but returning to total rest and relaxation, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited Al Mendili in early October, and had a fantastic time. We love doing as little as possible when we go away and this place was perfect for that.
10 rooms, all with views of the Atlas mountains, means it's got such a nice feel. Catherine and Alain are super hosts and at times it feels like they've welcomed you into their home.
The food is great, but be aware that you eat what's on the menu, there's no choice. I was a bit nervous as to how this would work out, but I have to say the food was brilliant and we really enjoyed trying new things throughout the week.
The staff were all great, and the spa was also very good.
Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The cosy atmosphere and detailed sophistication of Al Mendili left us the feeling that the best of hotel life doesn't rely exclusively on luxury. The intimacy with nature is so good, we felt peace and happiness. Catherine and Alain are fantastic hosts.
Each bedroom/suite is unique with everything you need and some more. The view is breathtaking. Breakfast taken on the terrace is really tasty with a lovely view from the pool, flowers and trees. The staff is friendly and the hammam is a must.
This is a place we could come to every year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Mendili Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Address: BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mendili Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Through the studded wooden gate, kasbah Al Mendili reveals its overwhelming charm to you. Vanessa and Emmanuel will welcome you warmly in their posh and friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Mendili Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mendili Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.