We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel. Well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #139 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
North East
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel. Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Firstly IGNORE all negative reviews on here about this hotel!! After reading many comments on Trip Advisor I was concerned about what to expect on arrival to the hotel. However, I can now say I had nothing at all to worry about and the hotel was fantastic! It was extremely clean, comfortable, luxurious, had decent food and outstanding staff.
The rooms were immaculate, spacious and cleaned daily. The maids worked very hard to keep the rooms clean and always left a surprise in the form of swans, hearts etc made out of towels and patterns made out of the bed covers. The pool area was fantastic with plenty of sun loungers, comfortable beds with canopies and sofas. We never got up early to reserve sunbeds as it was suggested by other reviews on Trip Advisor as there was always many spare around 10am when we headed to the pool. I would recommend reserving the canopy beds early as they tend to be reserved very quickly. Also if there was no parasols nearby the pool staff were always happy to find one for you. There was a variety of activities around the pool during the day and the participation in these was voluntary - none of the staff hassled you to take part.

I feel that the food served at the hotel was of good standard, there was a large choice for breakfast, lunch/snacks and dinner and the chefs cooked most of the food in front of you. We booked into both the Italian and Moroccan restaurants which were both still self-service but were less busy than the main restaurant. In addition, there is no limit on how many times you visit these restaurants. The staff in all restaurants were very helpful, friendly and pleasant (even during Ramadan when they could not eat or drink themselves). All other staff in other areas of the hotel were also fantastic and couldn’t do enough for you, regardless of whether you tipped them or not!

However, as one of many young couples staying at the hotel we found evenings a little bit of a let down. The entertainment in the main theatre bar was not great and we felt this was more centred around older couples. We tended to sit in the main hotel bar or sit at the pool bar and have chilled out evenings. The drinks served were mostly local with the exception of Martini. The barmen were fantastic and were also willing to make us mojitos – which were not advertised on the cocktail menu.

We did several trips including the Souks tour, the Gardens and Atlas Mountains. The Atlas Mountains we felt were a little bit of a disappointing after the hype from other people. This was due to spending most of the 6 hour trip sat on a coach. The trip we enjoyed best of all was the Camel Ride, which cost around £25, it was worth every penny!! I also visited the hotel Spa during our stay and would highly recommend this for a treat as it is reasonably priced. The hotel shuttle bus was useful as the hotel is situated around a 15 minute bus ride from the town centre. I would recommend visiting the town centre on an evening as this is a great experience. If you want scenic photos of then Cafe Glacier is fantastic as it overlooks the main market area.

We were highly impressed with the quality of the RIU complex and are considering another RIU hotel for our next holiday. All in all, a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,601
    949
    255
    59
    17
See reviews for
703
1552
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We have just returned home from the hotel and can honestly say that we have had a wondeful holiday. Our 7 year old (Lillie-Beth) had the most wonderful time, made special by the entertainment team, in particular Sara and Nico. They worked so hard and ALWAYS had a smile on their face! The hotel itself is beautiful, the Moroccon decor is gorgeous! There are enough different bars to keep all the family happy on an evening. The food was excellent, all 3 restaurants served a great selection of food and drinks were known brands and plentiful. In my opinion we have been to Egypt 5 star hotels and this 4 star RIU hotel was certainly much better. It is more like a full service hotel rather than a holiday hotel. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel special - the staff from reception to restaurant to entertainment do the RIU brand proud. :) Big thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Eden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed at this Hotel for 11 nights, from 26th July. Don't be put off by negative reviews, this is an excellent hotel, and real value for money. We found the food to be varied and good quality, the seafood in particular was excellent, and the desserts to die for, I have to agree with a previous poster that I also gained 7lbs! Rooms were spacious and also cleaned to a high standard. We found that the drinks were local brands, but good. Gin & tonics were strong & tasted good and the wines were surprisingly very good, and available by the glass, or you could take the bottle. Plenty of daytime entertainment if you wanted it, my teenage son enjoyed these activities, we were more content to enjoy the pool and the sun. The padded beds are taken early, but we never had a problem finding beds, and staff would bring an umbrella if there wasn't one there.
Used the shuttle to go into town, there isn't anywhere to walk to around the hotel, except the petrol station or the metro supermarket, both cheap if you want a few supplies for the room. Would also recommend a trip to the Marjorelle Gardens, the shuttle will drop you off on the way to town, and it's a short walk from there, or 200 dirhams from the hotel in a taxi, for a round trip with waiting time, well worth seeing, a nice break from the pool for a couple of hours and they have a lovely cafe to sit with some mint tea. Also booked a full day trip to the atlas mountains with the guy who has a desk in the lobby, much cheaper than the Thompsons trip, and as you have your own car & driver you can tailor it to suit you, staying longer in some places than others for example.
I also visited the spa which was very good, had a facial & massage, & we all used the Hamman. All the facilities were nre and good quality, including the indoor pool and gym. There are also various classes, aerobics, dancing etc. if you want them.
Staff were friendly and helpful, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Please feel free to message me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hotel was clean, staff friendly, food excellent - many resturants to choose from. Rooms adequate. It had only just opened, so teething problems were visible. Only 20 minutes from the town centre. Shuttle service available - book in advance to avoid dissappointment. If you fancy a trip to the biggest market in Africa take the time to go there at night. It's great fun.

If you get lost in the medina there is always people willing to help you, at a cost!!!
Try the 'Caleche', negotiate on price first, it is a great way to visit some of the sites including 'The Jardin Marjorelle'. I also recommend a trip to the Atlas Mountains - take sweets and pens for the many children you meet in the villages, they have very little.

We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great hotel with great staff, but someone took a shine to my make up bag on my return home several items seem to have gone missing not just one thing but at least 5 are missing
W e also left a camera on the table in the entertainment bar and that disappeared in less than 5 minutes but no one had seen it even though we were the last people to leave the bar

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Me and my partner stayed here with some friends recently, and we have to say all of us enjoyed it, and couldn't complain about anything really.
We arrived at the hotel late on an evening and we're greeted by the hotel staff with a drink and told to relax before beginning the check in. The check in was easy and trouble free. Our luggage was taken to our rooms after we'd checked in, while we enjoyed a drink in one of the bars.
Our room was lovely, it was clean and spacious, and had everything we would need. The air conditioning in the room was good, and it was on all day (not just between 1pm and 2am as in another review on here). Our room was cleaned and the beds made for us every morning, and the cleaning staff were brilliant (we managed to get a key that wouldn't work, but one of the cleaners let us in our room to get the other).
The food was nice. It was all cooked thoroughly and there was a variety of things to have throughout the day. My partner is a vegetarian and he didn't struggle at all to get what he wanted. We were a little disappointed with the italian restaurant, that it too was buffet style, but we were expecting it after reading other people's reviews.
We spent as great deal of time by the pool during the week we were here, and loved every second of soaking up the sun. On the first day we realised that we had to get up early (7:30-8am) to get decent loungers, but we put our towels down then went to breakfast and had no trouble keeping the loungers throughout the day. My partner prefewrs to be doing activities rather than just laying by the pool, and the entertainment staff did not disappoint, there was volleyball, water polo, football and table tennis on throughout the day.
We went on the excursion to the cascades through first choice and enjoyed it. The falls were amazing, the tour guide knew his stuff and the lunch provided was a lovely taster of moroccan food.
On our day of departure we had a late flight so we were checked out by 11am, but still enjoyed the pool, bars and food till our transfer arrived at 7pm.
All in all we had a lovely time at this hotel. The only thing we can say is that it is situated a little outside of marrakech centre so there is only a petrol station and metro (supermarket i think) in walking distance, which made us feel a little isolated at times, although there are taxi and the shuttle service to take you into marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotley Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We have just spent a week at he above hotel and we had a great time. The weather was red hot and other holiday makers and the staff were really friendly. I would recommend the Soukes and Medina 1/2 day tour it was a bargain at 180 dirham.
The food was very nice paticulary the Morroccan dishes.
If you needed a sunbed you had to stake your claim before 8am.

On an evening the hotel was very quiet with no noise at all.
The Thomson rep was really good
We just wanted a relaxing week away and thats what we got.

The only downside is the return flights we got back to Manchester at 3am so we had been up almost 24 hours. Obviously this has nothing to do with the hotel. Thomson need to try and get better flight times

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.