We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience from start to finish!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #139 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience from start to finish!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Amazing holiday!! \Wonderful hotel! Spotlessly clean, big, spacious and new. Staff were the most friendly we have encountered from all continents. Couldn't do enough for us! Worked tirelessly and always smiling, even though it was 53 oc and they were fasting for Ramadam. Food and drink of the highest quality and so much variety. Even suited the most pickiest of teenagers.
We did a few excursions including Discovery day ( excellent! especially the trip to the herbalist!), Atlas mountain 4x4, camel trekking and a trip to the hotel spa for a hammam. The spa is just wonderful. Very professional and luxurious.
Honestly cannot praise the whole experience enough!!!
For the first time ever, the girls didnt want to go home! Will definately go back again and recommend it even to the most fussiest traveller.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,881 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,601
    949
    255
    59
    17
See reviews for
703
1552
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My wife and i stayed at this hotel in the first two weeks in August this year and like most people we read all the reviews good and bad on trip advisor but kept an open mind.

We arrived late at night and were greeted with cocktails and a friendly welcome, we were asked to leave our luggage at the reception main door and and they would be taken to our rooms and then go get something to eat. We were too tired to go for food plus my wife was 4 months pregnant at the time so i decided to just grab our own luggage and take it to ours room as we were unsure how long the staff would take to bring our bags up to us?

We were room 5217 which unlike some of the reviews on here wasn't that far away but you can become a little lost trying to find your room on the first night and there are no guides to show you otherwise.

The room had lovely air condition and was clean and unlike some other comments on here we never had to tip any of the cleaners and the towels were changed when we asked and cleaned every day. The only issue we had was the noise sometimes from people going to and from their rooms as no one knows how to close a door quietly and there is quite a gap at the bottom of the room door which dosen't help matters and it also lets the crickets into the room which we found almost every morning when we woke up.

In terms of getting a sun bed with a parasol everyday is a hassle as what you tend to find is people getting up at the crack of dawn and putting their towels down. While i don't agree with this you have no option but to do the same as the heat in Marrakech was constantly in it's mid to high 40's every day and with having a pregnant wife i wanted to make sure she at least had a parasol to cover her.

The Morrocan's second language is french and i need to make people clear in that i found the french extremly annoying and very arrogant and the resort was full of them! Everytime you went for something to eat i found that the french had no understanding of the word waiting in line, they would constantly barge past you while you were trying to put food on your plate and for the life of me i couldn't understand this as there was always plenty of choice and it never ran out and it's all inclusive!!!

The entertainment left little to be desired and the best show they had was "Thats Life" which was cover versions of the old "Rat Pack". The staff worked extremely hard and most of them are very friendly with "OMAR" standing out for us as he was such a friendly lad and couldn't do enough for you.

There are a choice of trips for you to go on but i would say try to get in and see the seouks at the market place, this can either be a full day or half day. This is where you will see the snake charmers and the performing monkeys, just be careful of the little kids here as they are professional pick pockets!

The only real drawback with this hotel is it's location as the Palmerie resort is still a new and up coming area and in a few years you will see a big difference with new hotels and shops being built. Sometimes after your meal it would've been nice to go out for a walk around a town but that was just not possible here. There is a taxi service just outside the hotel if you want to go into town but be wary of this lad as he's abit of a rip off. We met another couple on the holiday that we spent time with,and we went to use this taxi out front and even though the taxi was a proper 5 seater he said he can only take 3 of us which meant 2 trips to the metro cash and carry there and back which was only a mile along the road and charged us 200 dirham each which is about 40 Euros!!

Lastly i found Thomsons tours charging 80 dirhams to book your seats going on your homeward journey is an absolute rip off as my wife and i paid this and still weren't sitting beside each other!

All in all i would recommend this hotel and resort to anyone as it's an amazing experience and finding out the little niggles is part of the holiday and lets face it you very seldom get a holiday that meets everyones tastes?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We spent two weeks here from the 6th August and were a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews. However, we found the hotel and facilities absolutely fine, the pool was gorgeous, there was always enough sun loungers and parasols to go around but the more luxurious ones were taken up first! The food was plentiful and varied and even the fussiest of eaters would find enough to eat. Desserts are a 'must'. The entertainment team did a pretty good job although evening entertainment wasn't up to scratch, there was some pretty hilarious shows. We went on the camel ride which was awesome, we done the 3 half day excursions which were really great, and we visited the medina and souks at 3 diffrent times - the best time being early evening as it comes alive! truly amazing. We were looking for a relaxing chill out holiday in a good hotel and this is what we got. With regard to reviews about hotel staff, can I say we found them to be top notch, they were very helpful, courteous, and nothing was ever a problem for them, I was told by the manager and his 2 assistants that if there was absolutely anything we needed we just had to ask at reception and it would be sorted, which we did once - and it was! Once again as with everything you can't please all of the people all of the time but this hotel certainly tried!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in the hotel in the last week of August and we could not fault it. After reading some reviews on here I was quite worried about certain aspects of the hotel but these were all laid to rest when we arrived.

On our arrival we were served a cocktail and the staff took your luggage to your room whilst we tooked into dinner. The food throughout the stay was really good and there was a wide variety of food served every night. One of the highlights of the holiday was the Morrocan restaurant, the food was fantastic and as always the service excellent. However long trousers are required, my boyfriend and I didn't realise (even though we were told!) so just make sure you wear trousers!

The room was lovely, we were very surprised by the size as it was massive! The cleaners also made a real effort as they seemed to love making sculptures from towels! This also goes for the rest of the staff, who would really go out of their way to help you and serve you with a smile. My boyfriend messed up the code to the safe and after riinging reception someone immediately came to fix it. The staff also really appreciate it when you get to them too. Some of our friends we met were there for two weeks and got to know a lot fo the staff by name and this was rewarded by them giving them complimentary champagne when they went to the moroccan restuarant and one couple even had a carafe of beer and bottle of wine sent to the room.

The pool was also lovely, it had a gradual decline into it so you could lie and sunbathe in the pool. In addition to this there were almost seated areas in the pool where you could get a drink from the bar and sit in the pool and drink it, which is definately needed in 40 degree heat! Some review on here said that there were wasps round the bar area during the day, although this is true it is surely to be expected in a North African country. One thing that did get to me a little bit was the parasol situation, as to be expected with most hotels you did need to reserve your sunbeds, but parasols were not always available. We were up most mornings before 9 and that wasn't a problem but our last day we got up at 10 and although we got beds we couldn't get a parasol. I'm not one for lying out in the sun all day and after taking a walk round the pool area we realised a lot of people didn't only have a canapy (these are fixed above actual beds) they also had a parasol. There were also some people that had a parasol each, and wherever I have been before you normally share a parasol between two people. Therefore I do think the hotel does have enough parasols for beds but because some people were clearly hogging them it meant that we had to beg to get one!! I was quite brown before the holiday but I still wore factor 30 and I still burnt in the sun so a parasol is a must, I think the hotel needs to have some kind of rule on the parasols to sort this out!

Me and my boyfriend had two trips out whilst we were there although we didnt take these with Thompson. We were lucky enough to know people who lived in the area and they took up us the Atlas mountains which was amazing, so if you get the opportunity you must go. We also went to a restaurant on the way up the mountain called Serge's, unfortunately I have no idea where this is, all I know is that it was near a lake or a reservoir. The restuarant was very rustic and I don't think we wouldnt have gone there unless taken there as you can't always be sure about how safe the food in Marrakech is, however it was amazing, I had traditional lamb, apricot and almond tagine and my boyfriend had beef and prune tagine, it was lovely! The other day out we had was into Marrakech where we really saw the sights! We visited the Spana Donkey Sanctuary which was lovely. In Morocco there are many working animals, in particular donkeys, mules and horses and this place educates owners on how to look after the animals, the sanctuary has also paid for water troughs to be put across the centre of the city so the working animals have access to fresh water at all times. This sanctuary isnt something tourists usually see but it was lovely to see the work they were doing. After this we visited a Rhiad in the centre of the Medina, this was probably the highlight of our trip. After what looked like a door in a wall it opened up into an amazing courtyard that had a pool and a water feature. This rhiad is also a boutique hotel but for the life of me can't remember the name! It is definately worth a check out if you can get into a rhiad though!

We went into the Souks in the day time also, although it was just too hot! During our visit it was Ramadam so a lot of the Morrocans had these water sprays in order to keep themselves cool as they couldn't eat or drink during the day. We heard some tourists complain that they got sprayed with the water and they didn't like it but this was not our experience, the Morrocans are lovely, friendly people and we got sprayed with the water you end up getting into a conversation with them and they were just being friendly. If you are visiting Morrocco at the height of summer I wouldn't recommend going into the city during the day as it can reach temperatures of 50 degrees and your time is much better spent by the pool!

A must do is a visit to the square in the evening when it really comes alive! There are snake charmers but beware of the monkeys on chains (not a fan!) In order to take photos of the snake charmers you will have to tip. This must be the Moroccan way of life, and again a lot of the reviews on here said they didn't like the Moroccan people or the fact they felt they were always after money. We felt that this is just their culture and it is simply different to the way we work. There aren't fixed prices on anything and they will of course will do anything to make money; it is just their way of life and it is ignorant to think that people all over the world are the same!

Speaking of fixed prices, they expect you to haggle and you have quite a lot of fun when doing it! We were advised by our rep to go in at 30% of the price and work from there so if something is 100 you say 30 and you work towards a meeting point. For example we bought some amazing hand made dominos and their starting point was 350dirhams and we laughed and said no 80 dirhams, threat to walk away and they will reduce their price instantly and we ended up getting them for 120 dirhams which is about £10 - a bargain, especially as we had seen people making these deeper into the souks so you know they are handmade!

I would definately go back again, but probably not longer than 10 days, a combination of the heat in August and you are in a complex and the shuttle bus is needed to get into the centre. Some of the friends we made said they missed a walk along the beach in the evening, but you have to treat it I suppose as a city break.

The holiday in total was fantastic and I would definately go back again, I really hope my review was informative about Marrakech as well as the hotel. I have never done one before and I hope that what I have said will help some people have just as a fantastic holiday as me and my boyfriend did!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Having been on Trip Advisor everynight we had read good and bad reviews of this hotel so we went with an open mind but kept peoples comment fresh in our heads. We arrived at the hotel late at night, were greeted with a sugary cocktail and went straight for our evening meal to avoid the check-in queues (would strongly advise doing this). When we returned from our meals we saw that our bags were still waiting to be taken to our room so decided to take them ourselves as we had heard prior to arrival that you could be waiting up to 2 hours. We then walked to our room (number 5138) which wasn't really that far on the contrary to previous reviews, and would say that our block was furthest away.

The room was clean and very spacious, aircon worked fine. One of the bedside lamps didn't have a lightbulb but we simply took one from the wall lamp, no need to cause a fuss as it didn't bother us. Maid service left a lot to be desired, we found that if there wasn't a 10 dirham tip left every single day then things went a little downhill in terms of cleanliness. On a couple of occasions we asked for the bathroom towels to be replaced, only to find that the maids had simply hung up the dirty towels again.

We missed the welcome meeting which was at half ten, please bear in mind that Morocco is an hour behind the UK, not the same time zone as we were told by the pilot. Having read the do's and dont's in previous guests reviews we pretty much knew where we stood and decided to head straight out to the souks. (Anything you needed to know Elias and Sandra were always available to chat, very helpful reps nothing is too much bother for them.)

The souks are very intense. Ladies don't worry too much about being covered head to toe, people were walking about in vest tops and shorts and didn't receive any hassle. Watch out for the henna artists dotted around the main square sat underneath parasols, they will grab your hand whether you want a tattoo or not and then expect money or a 'gift' when they are finished. We experienced this and we found it some what frightening. When we gave her 1 dirham as a token gesture (as we had told her to stop several times) she swore at us, spat and then walked back to her stand.

We visited the Les bains de L'alhambra spa for a relax duo treatment. This was very good, however it was spoilt by the two young immature girls giggling and messing around during our massage.

Before visiting the hotel we had read that the food wasn't up to standard, but bearing in mind how many people they are catering for in peak season it wasn't all that bad. Plenty of choice and always fresh fruit available. We visited the Moroccan speciality restaurant twice during our stay and we only wish we had gone there every night as the food was excellent and it felt as though you were in a proper restaurant. You can make reservations to visit this restaurant with the head waiter in the main restaurant just as you go in through the doors, make sure you take advantage of this place!! The Italian restaurant was appauling, the same room they use to serve up snacks during the day, it wasn't anything that you couldn't find in the main restaurant, we wish we hadn't have bothered.

Entertainment in the hotel was dire, alot of effort put in but that's all that can be said. Some bar staff were very rude, we found that being British guests we were at a disadvantage, with French guests being served before us regardless of how long we had been waiting (would swat up on some basic french as this seems to be the main language in Morocco.)

Overall, we had a great holiday however we would not return. This is not due to the hotel, there are just many more places we could visit!

Here is a list of the things we did and how much they cost:

Atlas Mountains 4x4 trip - 800dh each inc. lunch (very worth it)
Majorelle Gardens - 30dh each (worth it if you have the time)
Pacha - 1400 dh for 5 people inc. VIP table and drinks all night (best night we had)
Taxis into the town - don't pay anymore than 60dh in the day and 80dh at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterUK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I was a little aprehensive about going to Marrakech, I need not have been concerned the hotel is fantastic. The warm greeting we had on arrival at this stunning hotel set the scene for a wonderful holiday.
The Hotel is managed very well, it is spotlessly clean. The management team are seen at all times of the day and night supervising the staff.

I really enjoyed the food and I am quite q fussy eater we particularly enjoyed the Morroccan speciallity restaurant the tagines were exquisite. The food was always hot and there were different themed nights in the main restaurant.

The entertainment team are great they work so hard to keep us entertained, the evening shows were some of the best i have seen in an all inclusive. The manager and his deputy also take part here in a show dedicated to Frank Sinatra and the rat pack era very enjoyable.

Sunbathing is a treat around the huge lagoon pool, the large mattress beds are soon reserved but there are always plenty of sun loungers and parasols to go around, just ask one of the pool attendants and they rush around to find you everything you need.
Beware of the sun it is very strong i took factor 15 and 20 and still burned, but i am fair skinned. We were there in May and had temperatures of 45 degrees for 4 days we also had two days of rain lasting until mid afternoon, this gave us the ideal opportunity to go into town.

There is a free shuttle bus into Marrakech, there are also Taxis outside the main enterance (haggle for the price), there is a day and night rate, the driver will not ask for money up front he will arrange where to pick you up and the time. Our driver couldn't park where he was to pick us up so he parked up and came to get us.
If you want to see the Yves St Laurent Gardens I would suggest you go in by Taxi we went on the arranged trip and felt we didn't have enough time there. It is a little piece of paradise within the madness of Marracech. There is a lovely little cafe in there I would love to go back and sit in there again.

The Souks are amazing but watch out for the motor scooters they appear out of nowhere at breakneck speeds through the little alleys. We went to the Berber Pharmacy and bought lovely spices and oils, it is well worth a visit they have creams amd potions for every condition you can imagine. Out the back door of there is the workshop where they dye all the beautiful scarves and wraps in natural dyes, it's a wonderful sight as they all blow in the breeze on a miriad of lines.
We went into the old souk and saw the sheep, goat and camel heads hanging outside the butchers, and witnessed the old ladies feeling the intestines which were also hanging up outside,apparently this tells the lady how well the animal was before slaughtered. It's a different world can you imagine doing that in your local supermarket ?

Marrakech at night is a must, the square becomes a bustling mass of life and colours. The restaurants are all set up and all you can see as you arrive are a miriad of lights and smoke. It is amazing there are stalls piled high with bright oranges waiting to be squeezed for you. The spice stalls dazzle with all the different varieties on show. The henna ladies try to entice you to have your hand, face foot anything at all painted. The holy men rant, the chicken man dances. It is just wonderful and then it is time to go back and the luxury of the hotel awaits you.

The rep will tell you that the airport is terrible on the way back ans that it will take hours for you to get through, we were through in 15 mins we must have hit a good day.
I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel and have recommended it to my friends, one of them as booked to go in 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

There must be some people in this world - and on this website - who are never satisfied!
We first visited Marrakech in March/April with our two 'children', aged 18 & 20. My husband 'ajgx4' reviewed the holiday - we had a great time. Our 18-yr old daughter was going on a school trip to China in July, so we decided that we would go away for a week whilst she was away to avoid the 'house gets wrecked while you're away' scenario. Our now 21-yr old son is far too sensible for that - he doesn't drink - not too sure where he gets that from!
In the meantime, we had recommended Riu Tikida Palmeraie to my husband's brother, who spent 2 weeks there at the beginning of August with his family & had a brilliant time. They flew out on our return flight, so we waved at them at the airport!
We had a fantastic time (room 5110) - everything that my husband had said at Easter could be reiterated - spotlessly clean rooms and communal areas, everything cleaned daily. Staff who could not do enough for you and food and drink aplenty. Couldn't agree more with 'blueromannewcastle', a recent reviewer, as our son is a fussy eater and always found plenty to eat, although a lack of bacon was also his issue!! :-/
I fail to understand what some people have to complain about - I think they're the sort of people who complain about hospital food!! When I had the kids - I spent nearly a week in hospital after our son's birth, and thought the food was fab!!
Anyway, I'm a 'spend a week by the pool reading a book & getting a tan' sort of person, and my husband likes to do things and visit interesting sights, so it's always a compromise. He had already told me I had to visit the souks this time - he went with our daughter last time - but I have to say I hated every minute of it! I am the most unmaterialistic person you could meet, and shopping is done as a necessity, so you can imagine haggling is not my thing! I also found the constant 'hello - English? come & look at my shop' or words to that effect, was a bit intimidating, so we managed to spend an hour there before going back to the sanctuary of the hotel!
My husband enjoyed another quad bike experience one morning, returning looking like he'd spent a few hours rolling around in dirt - but he enjoyed it! He also enjoyed the 'petanque' - French boules - every morning, and the aquarobics, and the water polo, led by the entertainment team. For the French boules, he'd teamed up with a Liverpudlian & a Scotsman, and played a French team most mornings, managing to beat them on one occasion, much to their delight!
I would argue with 'GlennSimo' regarding the alcohol - we went to an all-inclusive in Zante last year, and the drinks were definitely below par, but at Riu, whether they were 'international brands' or not, they definitely had the strength of international brands!! Say no more!
The 'wasps' - they looked more like bees to me - were only after the sugary drinks. If you ignored them, they were no bother. My advice would be to only drink water, wine or spirit based drinks with no very sugary mixers (eg. fruit juices) whilst be the pool. Difficult I know if you're with young children, but we had no trouble with wine or g&t!!
The temperature was somewhat hot compared to Easter, but with a parasol and a few dips in the pool this was bearable. Again as others have said already, beds and a parasol were available from the pool attendants at anytime during the morning.
Having spent a further week at Riu Tikida Palmeraie and with a further 4 and a half weeks summer holiday stretching ahead of me (I'm a teacher, but don't count it against me, cos I teach Maths and have spent a week in school working this holiday! + we pay loads more for holidays than most people!!) I was itching to go back!!
Now I'm going for the sympathy vote - whilst I was in Marrakech the 2nd time, my Mum, who has been diagnosed with Alzheimers for 4 years, had a heart attack, and ended up going into full-time care - all in the space of a week! I felt quite helpless as my sister (who has looked after Mum for 6 days a wk for 3 years - I looked after her on a Saturday) visited her in hospital & found a care home - I felt so guilty not being there. She has settled in really well now - the staff are lovely, and she thinks she's in a hotel!
Anyway - now I had the opportunity to go on holiday again! So, on 2nd August, 3 days after returning from a week at Riu Tikida Palmeraie, I had no problem booking a weekend away for myself & the 2 'children' for 20th-23rd August!
Again, no complaints at all - air conditioning left on all day (maybe the previous poster had left the patio door open - air conditioning switches itself off if you do this!), spotlessly clean everywhere. Room 3017. My priority this time was to top up the tan, so it was up early for a sunbed, food & drink during the day & bed early! My daughter had been dragged in for the 'Miss Riu Tikida' competition in March, so she was quite happy to go to bed early!
We secured one of the 'bigger beds' on all 3 days - I was very sad & got up at 6am on our last day - this was mainly due to an excess of alcohol the day before - I was well asleep by 9.45pm! The only other people up at 6am where cleaning the pool and watering the gardens, so if you're an early riser, go for it! My daughter, who has just done her A levels, was only interested in topping up her tan before going to Leeds Festival! And the son, who actually doesn't like the heat, managed themorning by the pool in the shade (still got a tan after 3 days!) and spent the afternoon in the lobby on the free wi-fi internet on his phone!
All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, unless you are some sort of a precious celebrity and demand only the best individual attention, although I would argue you get it here!
I was quite amused at the work going on at the corner of the lunchtime/Italian restaurant, which had sprung up since our visit in July. A big crack had appeared and the corner of the restaurant involved was cordoned off. You just can't get the workman these days can you?!
Anyway, a minor detail in what is otherwise an outstanding sanctuary for sunlovers like me! One of the barmen on our last day asked me if it was my first time, and when I said no, 3rd, he said 'I thought I recognised you!'
Remember what extra it costs to eat (& drink!!) out every night when you don't go all inclusive, and you'll soon work out that this is excellent value for money.
I am seriously considering going back in October half-term - 4th time in a year! Go for it - it is well worth the money!
If you take my advice, I hope you have a fantastic time - at the end of the day holidays are 'horses for courses' and we all appreciate different things, but if you're like me and just enjoy chillin' by the pool, you can't go wrong with Riu Tikida Palmeraie, Marrakech. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.