We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good - but..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Overall this hotel is good, very clean, large rooms, good service and good management but something is missing. I can't say that the food is bad but it isn't very good either. It is the same every day and unfortunately the meat isn't always cooked very well. Sometimes when ordering drinks, especially at the pool bar, you don't always get what you ordered and I often saw children ignored when trying to get a drink.
Reps are good, trips are good and Marrakesh is wonderful. This hotel is a good 3 star but a poor 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    1,033
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
752
1,690
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Have just returned today after 2 wks holiday. Was a bit worried after reading some negative reviews but needn't have worried. This was a wonderful hotel with friendly and hardworking staff from the gardeners up to the management. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms spotless, food outstanding. If you can't find something you like then it says more about you than it does about the wonderful food, always plenty of selection and hot food always hot. Ignore comments about sunbeds as there are always some available. Tip if you feel the need but this does not seem to be expected as everyone gets first class service regardless. Air-con in rooms excellent (needed to be as some days in high 40's). Only negative is hotel situated on Fez road about 15 mins drive from Marrakech but hotel provides really useful courtesy bus and never had a problem booking it, also taxis always available. Sandra, Thomsons rep was very helpful, but don't be afraid to ask advise from hotel staff as they are very friendly and keen to help. Loved this hotel and the area. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just spent 2 weeks at this hotel and initially it was quite good, however anything over a week and things get very repetative. We booked a suite for our stay and although it was nice the vast majority of the room was unusable as the settees if you can call them that are concrete effort with cushions on in one corner. They obviously didn't know what to do with the space so put an extra dressing table in, I suspect that they are really family rooms and the 2 settees are actually used as beds which seems sensible.

The food was okay for a couple of days but soon became repetative which I do think is normal for all inclusives so was something that we expected. The 2 so called specialist restaraunts were a tad disappointing, although the Morrocan was better. What no one has mentioned so far is that both are actually buffet service and in all honesty the food in these 2 can be obtained in the main restaraunt.

I agree with the reviews which have mentioned the issue of wasps, incrediblly they didn't seem to do anything about the issue either, this seemed unbelievable as numerous kids were getting drinks regularly.

The issue with booking sunbeds by the pool was stopped on our second week as the pool was closed until 8am, any beds not used for 90 minutes and everything was removed. I must say though that if they had an adquate number of beds this would never happen.

The trips varied in standard and we did several, the Essouria trip was particularly nice but the Souks was a waste of time and money. Someone mentioned the Kasbahs trip and we did book this we knew the journey was 4 hours to get there and 4 hours to return in 4x4's, we were put in the very back seats of the 4x4 and were crushed in like sardines but got back out and cancelled which they couldn't understand, in truth they were kids seats really not meant for adults.

We were a bit surprised that the quality of the alcoholic drinks wasn't better, the brochure states quite clearly that international brands are available. I didn't see any on our visit unless of course that was the bottle of Campari they had on the shelf it was the normal watered down rubbish you get on all all inclusives.

Would I go back, no is the answer I do believe that a week is enough once you have been into the cenre of the Medina a couple of times haggled at the Souks, taken in the nightlife of the main square at night you will have done it all. Saying that if all you want to do is sit by the pool and sun yourself then it is perfect but not for me.

I would just like to end by saying that the rating system used on this type of hotel is nothing short of scandalous, it is nothing near 4 star at best it is 2, but the same old argument comes out that they go on the local rating system.

There are some much better hotels within the Medina, Club Med seemed much better for a similar cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Just returned from this hotel on 17th August and whilst everybody has a right to their own opinion I find some post comments incredible when reading them.
We have stayed at many 5 star hotels such as the Hilton and Marriott resorts which were better than this but this Hotel doesn't advertise itself as a 5*. It has a 4* sign up at the door and we felt it very much lived up to its grade.
How on Earth people can tag it as a 3* is beyond belief.

Room: huge and spotless - it has been decorated in Morrocan style not 80's style as a previous comment. We e-mailed in advance and recieved two rooms next door to each other - thank you.

Pool: large and we never had to go down before 8.30am to claim beds and parrasols though I must add that the hotel had previously been booked solid and had gone down to 2/3 full, so previous posts may have had a different experience. The German charter planes are starting up this October so things will change next Summer. There is a small but well equiped Gym which has wonderfull air conditioning.

Restaurants: I have two of the fussiest eaters in the world and apart from no bacon in the morning which my son would have liked, there were no complaints. Once I explained that we were in a Muslim country and close to the largest mosque in Morroco he understood that some hotels may not provide pork. You can try the Morrocan restaurant several times during your stay and I would recommend it, the sea bass is really tasty as are the tangines. I just wonder whether some people should stick to Spain/Greece as North Africa may be a little too adventerous for them.

Staff: We wondered whether the close proximity to the largest market in North Africa and the affability of the staff was the reason why Thomson gave this the + to the 4* grade. We found the staff really friendly and efficient and nothing was too much for them. A little tip of a couple of Dirhams occasionaly worked wonders with some of them as did a little try at Arabic. The latter It got me a late check out room 3 days before leaving instead of the mandatory 24hrs request. I must also point out that unlike last year at Tunisia my 18yr old daughter was never afforded any unwanted attention by the staff!!!

Marrakech: This is the jewel in the crown for this hotel as it is just far enough outside the City with regular shuttle buses as has been pointed out previously. Please try it on an evening when the sun has gone down as the atmosphere is electric. If you get the last shuttle bus in at 7pm there are plenty of cabs to bring you back. If there are more than three of you, as in my case, you will have to go for a grande taxi, try for between 100 - 150 Dirhams but pay no more and settle on the price before getting in. We had only one problem in town and we were not alone - that was with the snake charmers - if you take a photograph anywhere near them they will be at you for money. Please beware of them as they snatched our camera and pulled us all in at the snakes for photographs. Whilst the head guy took about 16 great snaps of us, at the end he wrapped a snake around my kneck and pulled me towards him by its head and tail and demanded 500 dirhams (£38) for the service - a favourite trick. Some people found this intimidating and paid up, having worked in the Middle East I have found the best thing to do is to smile and refuse using "La" as the no word. Reach for your wallett and complain the snake is in the way, when he takes it off you give him a few dirhams and walk away, they wont follow you as there are tourist police in plain clothes all over the place!! That was the only problem we had and shouldn't put anybody off, the City is quite safe unless you are irresponsible.

Would I go back, no because I like to visit new places. A better question would be - would I go knowing what I know now - yes definately. One thing let the hotel down and that was the dress code for the restaurants, woman were really making the effort in the evening but some men were turning up in flip flops and shorts which went against notices outside the Morrocan restaurant forbidding this. Apparently Riu Clubhotels will not be enforcing this in the future unlike the other Riu brands.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a wonderful hotel ! Cannot fault it and would go back tomorrow. Food excellent and varied with choice of Moroccan and Italian as well as main restaurant. Staff are all polite, friendly and helpful. The weather was very hot but easy to cool off in the pool and get drinks from the pool bar. There was a daily situation where the wind would just whip up and a couple of times umbrellas would be swirled up high into the air, but we recognised the signs and held the umbrellas if this seemed likely. Bit scary when the umbrellas were flying as they could land anywhere and at speed. Otherwise everything was Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

got back,after 11 nightson the 13,aug.after a short 25 min transfer we was checked in promptly,luggage taken to the room by porter,and taken to the still open resturaunt by a waiter,as it was 10 30 ish, was a gud touch.couple of drinks in the still open bar.(till 12pm).went to our room,room 4133, 7 or 8 min walk,is that too far? i dnt think so, just enuf to be far enuf away.the room was fine,twin beds,wich are huge,seperate toilet,bathroom,very clean,iknow cos its the first thing i look at!! just one fault ,maybe should have a shower screen! dnt like courtains they tacky! tv with bbc and itv,also sky news.cleaned very well daily,
no problem at all poolside,beds ,brollyies,not a problem,even at 11am wen we surfaced ,clean poolside,clean bar,a problem with wasps around self service area,but the staff seemed to be getting the problem sorted,
all the staff,in every job they do are fine,very friendly an eager to please,
not a problem gettin a beer at the bar at all,just be friendly,french have no priorety at all,cos they are not.just rude.
oh yes air con is fantastic ,in your room and throughout the place,enjoy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here in June 2010 and we couldn't of asked for anything more.

Having read the review posted on here by other people i was expecting a good hotel, and was anxious that we might not have the same experience as others, my fears were unfounded and we had a fantastic week.

The hotel is a good size but not too large that you feel you are trekking everytime you leave the room... The pool is huge and has plenty of sun loungers and parasols, we never struggled to get them, but you have to be up very early to get one of the cushioned beds with the canopies!!

The pool bar is good and the staff very friendly, although the range of drinks that they offer isn't too extensive, but enough to keep us entertained for the week.

The only down side to the pool is that it is the only one, so you will have children playing while you try to relax, luckily we had a quiet week so didn't experience this too much.

The rooms are a very good size with comfy beds, some English TV channels and a fridge, although this is not stocked with anything which i ofund strange for an all inclusive. They do leave water in the room, and the restaurants would gladly give us a bottle of wine at lunch which we put in the fridge to enjoy while getting ready.

The food was varied and always cooked well. Having been to Egypt i was expecting to have some form of a bad stomach but was well for the entire week. The Italian restaurant is ok, but doesn't serve anything too different from the main restaurant, but it's nice for a change. The Morrocan themed restaurant however was quite a let down, i was hoping for some lovely food, but it is a buffet style with two sittings and the food wasn't very forthcoming for hte second sitting. I woudl recommend booking the first sitting on the evening to get the full selection.

The entertainment team were very friendly, without being pushy... if you didn't feel like getting involved they would happily leave you to your book or sun bathing, but still had the time to speak to you at other times and were always very bubly (Bob especially)

Although the night time entertainment wasn't of a great standard, it was still good for a laugh, even the hotel manager gets involved and does a little turn!!

Overall we had a excellent week and couldn't of asked for anything more from either the holiday or the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.