We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep tight - hope the bed bugs don't bite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sleep tight - hope the bed bugs don't bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Just wanted to let everyone know about our holiday experience, this was a good all inclusive hotel unfortunately we were on the menu.

My husband and I returned from the Hotel on the 3rd of May after what can only be described as our holiday nightmare, as we were literally being eaten alive!

We arrived at the Hotel late Friday night, on Monday my husband noticed three large bites on his right forearm. We thought he has missed with the mosquito repellent so the following night made sure we covered everywhere. The following day quite a few more bites had appeared on the same forearm, these bites always seemed to be in threes they were large, red, raised and very irritating and unsightly.

We thought that if we moved from the slight vegetation that we were sitting next to by the pool it would solve the problem unfortunately it didn’t, the following day he had over forty bites on his arm and now a couple on his back. I also noticed that I had started getting bites but I didn’t seem to be reacting to them as he did, mine were more around my neck and only slightly raised. We were getting quite worried by now as other holiday makers didn’t seem to be getting bitten and also a few had mentioned could it be something in the room, we did have a look around but the rooms were very large and quite dimly lit and we weren’t really sure what to look for.

The next day we awoke to find even more bites, my husband had over two hundred covering his arms, shoulders and torso with just the odd one on his lower limbs, I also had more across my back and neck but again mine weren’t as visible. We had no explanation as to how we could be getting bitten so badly after using repellents etc., so we went to the Pharmacist. She couldn’t explain what they could be other than “Not Mosquito”, we purchased anti-biotics, anti-histamines, creams etc., and went back to the Hotel.

Back at the Hotel we decided to have a look on the internet to see if we could shed any light on the matter, after searching bites the first thing that came up even on the history bar was “bed-bugs” after reading the about symptoms, how they bite and seeing photographs of past victims, (I say victim because that’s how they make you feel after being fed on in your sleep) and couldn’t believe the similarities, no mosquito bites could look like this, the only problem was my husbands looked ten times worse than any of the photographs on the websites. He became very self conscious about people staring at him.

We tried to explain to the Reception of our concerns with the bites and the room and asked to speak to the Manager. This didn’t happen but they told us they would inform him and send someone to the room to look into it for us. We waited for a couple of hours, no one came so we decided that we could no longer stay in the room. After what we had read we were afraid that we could contaminate another room if it wasn’t treated properly and tried to explain this to the Receptionist who didn’t really understand, he told us to go back again to the room and someone would come. No one did. We went back to reception and told them to move us.

The holiday “Advisors” had arrived by now so we told them what we thought. They had no experience whatsoever about bed-bugs and how to deal with them other than what we told them. They went to reception to ensure we could change rooms but we strongly re-iterated the fact that bed bugs can go with you and this is how they’re spread. We were terrified that we could be bringing them with us but the Thomson advisor said that they couldn’t survive the plane journey in the hold.

The following day we didn’t seem to have any new bites so were hoping that we were clear and hadn’t carried any with us but unfortunately as we had so many it was difficult to tell. Still feeling very worried by this time we went to speak to the Thomson and First Choice Advisors to tell them that we were still concerned and wondered if we should see a doctor. Again we showed them articles on the websites and the bite comparisons especially the formation of threes.

The doctor duly arrived and looked at the bites, they didn’t look as bad as the rooms were poorly lit, we tried to explain the possibility of bed bugs, so he looked at the mattress, we explained that this wasn’t the room were we got the bites and that they don’t have to live in the bed. The rooms were so big and dark it would have taken ages to locate them and like we said we had changed rooms. The doctor told the Advisors and the hotel that they were bites and that my husband was allergic to them and that there was no way whatever bit us could travel back with us. It cost us 50 Dirhams for the doctor to confirm that we were suffering from bites, but he didn’t know what had kept biting us.

Our holiday was totally ruined by these bites, we were told that the room would be checked but the following day new guests were in it so how they could have fumigated was beyond us.

We were still paranoid when coming home and to an extent still are after reading that bed bugs can live for up to 180 days and go without feeding for months. We complained to Thomson holidays about the room and that nothing was done or that they or the hotel didn’t have a policy on how to deal with bed bugs, this was there final reply:

“As advised, the hotel hasn't received any further complaints about bed bugs - your complaint was the only one they'd received. When the issue was reported, the hotelier dealt with this appropriately.”

Our holiday was ruined by these bites and apart from letting us move rooms nothing was done to stop the spread of possible contamination, Thomson said the hotel took the appropriate action which was? If other people had reported bites then they may have done something about it.

How many people know what bed bug bites look like and know that they just don’t live in mattresses or old mattresses as Thomson explained the beds were new so how could this happen? How many people like us thought they were mosquito bites and how many had reactions to them? This we’ll never know, but as far as Thomson are concerned that whilst you’re on holiday
“Sleep tight and hope the bed bugs don’t bite, because if they do, rest assured Thomson will do absolutely nothing”

If anyone did stay at the Riu Tikkida Palmerie and had any unexplainable bites please let us know.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,031
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
750
1,685
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

From the moment we arrived in Marrakech until the moment we left, our holiday surpassed our greatest hopes and expectations. Having chosen the Riu Tikida Palmeraie for five days of relaxation in the sun; we had a truly wonderful holiday. Upon arriving around 10 o'clock at night - we were delighted to be met by lovely, friendly staff who assured us that our bags would be taken to our room whilst we enjoyed a late dinner in the restaurant (which had been kept open late for us and our fellow new arrivals). For two very health-conscious vegetarians we were delighted to discover a buffet of fresh, healthy and delicious food, which was replicated in great variety every day in all three of the hotel's restaurants.
Our room was incredibly comfortable, clean and spacious, and looked out on to the hotel's manicured gardens. We spent most of our time relaxing by the hotel's huge pool, soaking up the sun, and enjoying the atmosphere of our surroundings. We were very impressed by the hotel staff, who went above and beyond to ensure that everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
We were also lucky enough to see some of the city's most beaufitul sights, sounds and smells, and would recommend taking the time to explore Marrakech's historic and modern quarters. We particularly enjoyed overlooking the Medina at sunset, before heading in to the night market to experience its bustling and vibrant spirit. The people of Marrakech are incredibly friendly, welcoming and only too happy to proudly show visitors around their fascinating city.
I can wholeheartedly recommend the ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, and the beautiful city of Marrakech. In fact I enjoyed my time there so much that I am already planning to visit again at the end of this month!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed at the RIU for a few days at the end of May. I have to say I was very skeptical about staying at an all inclusive that had some concerning reviews on here. My topline was that the rooms were great, clean and big. The air conditioning could have been colder but maybe that is just the way it is in Marrakech in general. The reception staff were doing their best to be helpful but it seemed to be confusing that the friends I was travelling with and I wanted to be somewhat close together. The resort is quite large! The staff were incredibly friendly and they wanted you to have a good time. They remembered your names and greeted you personally every day - their attention to detail was impressive. There was always someone cleaning the restrooms, the hallways etc - very very clean. I would say that the drinks from the bar could do with some upgrading and after a night of the food, I was ready to give up on the buffet - but i'm not a buffet person in general. The shuttle to town was very convenient but we found that the souks mark everything up as soon as they see foreigners so be careful. We did have a great taxi drive - Mustapha - who is generally parked outsidethe hotel and for 300dirhams, there were 3 of us that got a great tour and enjoyed a wonderful day.
I would stay at the RIU again if I planned to go to dinner in the city and come back...I could not do the buffets again!! But the pool and the staff make up for anything the hotel is lacking...it was a truly relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and i spent the last week in May at this wonderful hotel.From the minute you walk into reception,until the time you leave,you are made to feel so welcome by all of the staff. On arrival you were welcomed with a drink,check in was very simple,and the luggage was taken to our room,while we enjoyed a lovely meal.
On arrival at our room,we noticed a small pool of water,which was small drip coming from the ceiling,we rang reception who promptly sent a plumber .He was unable to repair it ,so we were moved to another room,which turned out to be a suite,which we kept for the rest of the week.The cleaners were brilliant and the room was kept spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.If you wanted anything ,all you had to do was ask.
The food was really good with plenty of choice at every meal and the service in all the restaurants,like every were else in the hotel was good. The choice of drinks with your meals was good, The bars were the same good choice and no queuing and you could take as many drinks as you wanted,no just a half full glass like at some places.
The pool was very large ,but very cold,with plenty of sunbed,but the larger ones were soon snapped up The boys who looked after the beds, were very helpful.There was plenty to do during the day with a enthusiastic animation team.The same team also provided the evening entertainment ,which we never bothered with,a lot of people said it was a bit on the amature side.
We only made one trip,that was down to the main square and souks,which was very good There were many other trips on offer but we never bothered with.All in all we had a very enjoyable week.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Just returned from a week of Holiday and what a fantastic week it has been!!! Beautiful resort and the staff are amazing, who would do anything to keep you happy...Love;y food and with 3 restaurants - 2 of which are speciality restaurants (Moroccon and Italian)....Enjoyed the food and deserts are lovely....It was our 5th anniversary celebrations and were presented with a champagne bottle and a delicious cake.....very nice touch....

We did an afternoon trip to the Ourika valley - very beautiful and scenic...the Majorelle Garden (YSL memorial garden) is verty beautiful and should be visited when at Marrakech. Les Bains (Spa and Hamma) lived up to their mark.....The souks and Medina are charming and plenty of bargains to be had...All in all a fantastic hotel and a lovely city!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic weeks break at the Riu Tikada Palmeraie.The higher percentage of excellent reviews written on this site are fully justified in our view.It has only been open 7 months and of course it would be easy to go looking for 'Faults' at this early stage.The only area's that need further improvement are the evening entertainment,of which all is performed by the animation team and despite their best efforts can be below average.The week we stayed however saw the Debut performance of .The Show' which was a musical performance and included the lead roles taken by the Hotel Manager,supported by his management team,this was an enjoyable show,thanks in some way to outside influence from a German lady.The Hotel need to bring in maybe more 'Outside' acts to break up the below average nights.The pool area is exceptional and we had no issues with sunbeds etc.As I have indicated this hotel has a unique Manager who also hosts a Cocktail party and opens up his Kitchens for a no holds barred tour,this was an amazing insight into the behind the scenes day to day running.The food is good ,but feels a bit repetative by the end of a week,while the themed restaurants offer a change,the Italian is not as good an experience as the Morrocan.Like the hotel ,the other facilities offered are exceptional,the spa is a relaxing experienceand the gym is of a very good standard.Finally a word about the staff ,what a wonderful team the manager has working for him,they work long hours ,but the level of service and in particular the genuine warmth and helpfulness is some of the best we have come across.In conclusion book the Riu and go enjoy this african gem,two final tips,use the showers in the Gym to save time when changing on your last day and be prepared for a poor level of check in service at Marekesh Airport (2 Hours to get through) on your way home,a sad end to what was a fantastic week.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

on arrival we were asked to have dinner in reasturant to ease check in procedure midnight!!!! long walk when tired to room to find keys didnt work many people had trouble agg! pool area okay toilets dirty and shabby room okay door knobs missing shower hanging off cant think what its going to be like after its first summer, food was very poor,plenty of it but poor quality and the same every day even set out in the same way every day. this hotel should not be in the platinum book at best its a 3 star, no atmosphere very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.