We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing base while exploring Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great relaxing base while exploring Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We were lucky enough to stay in this hotel during the recent ash storm and managed to get an addtional 4 days, thank you iceland (the country not the supermarket)
we stayed in room 1026 and while sitting on the toliet if you look to the right and count 5 tiles across and 3 up you will see a small hairline crack approx 6 mm long on the tile and for that reason we can only rate this hotel 3/5 as this spolit my holiday?!?!? :-)some people and the diverse reports amaze me,
This hotel was excellent value for money and we personally feel a good distance from the souks. The food had a very wide choice (blah blah the food was very repetitive blah...) there is massive choice if you decide to have a bit of everything every day then a bit of everything becomes repetitive, if you actually stick to having one/two types of meal per sitting you could go weeks before eating the same thing. was a bit disapointed with the italian and Morrocan restaurant as food was very similar to the buffet and although the surroundings were nicer than main restaurant the fact it was not table service didnt quite do it for me, both were very easy to get into and the waiters in the main restaurant were always approaching guests for bookings, (you must try the BRAIN in the morrocan yum??!) dress code in all restaurants was very casual and dress shorts for men were acceptable. the rooms were very spacious and much bigger than expected, nice to have a separate toliet/bidet to main bathroom where you had a powerful shower over the bath. our room was on the ground floor and very quiet unless maid was in room above juggling furniture. the pool area was very nice but beds and umbrellas were a problem to get and many were pre reserved by the pool boys for guests who had slipped them a few dirhams, you can easily do this and you will also recieve the short-shorts A-list experience.
the pool is very large and quite fresh (its cold). lots of sports activities availble during the day, i really liked the beach(sand) volleyball and as we were stranded due too ash we were a pretty good team by day 34!! there are also 2 foot/basket/tennis ball courts and 2 wiffwaff tables. you get a towel card when you check in that you swap for towels by the pool as and when you need too, evening shows were poor, the staff work very hard but Rui you need to get more outside acts in, example a magician, comedian or even if you are doing a berber show get some actual berbers in! the drinks were ok as we drunk wine and lager (not together!) you recieved a bottle of wine with dinner, well as many bottles as you want, the rose and white were drinkable and the lager was pretty good, largers are also nice if your fed up of normal lager:-) there is lots of smokers around the bar but it didnt bother us much and i am very anti smoke, if it bothered us we just moved tables-end of drama.
TRIPS the bus was very handy about a 15 minute ride which went by very quickly as the sites from the windows on way easily filled the time (how many can you get on a moped?) the distant was good as you went back to calm after the hustle and bustle, we went into the souks approx 5 times and really enjoyed it, the first time was a real culture shock and we rushed through, the second time we went with another really nice couple cant remember there names and it was much more relaxed as when one of you embarked on the role of chief barter the others could browse without hassle, watch out for the henna witches, mopeds and people trying to put snakes and monkeys on you for photos, the orange juice from the carts 3 dirham was squeezed in front of you and was very refreshing. going at night is very different from the day i suggest you try both, we got the last bus 7pm in and made our way back by taxi (always 100 dirham) which was no hassle and you could be back for last dinner 10.30, we had a caliche ride (horse drawn carriage), around the surrounding wall and in the souks 1 hour for 4 of us 1= 150 dirhams which i felt was good value, we organized a couple of other trips indepently which were both excellent - marrakechbyair hot air balloon ride was fantastic with berber village visit, brunch and camel ride included. also had a quadbiking and canyoning itrip in the foothills of the atlas mountains trip organized by morrocan adventures aka splash white water rafting excellent day. there is free wifi in the reception stretching to the main restaurant which was very handy. overall an excellent value hotel to base yourself while experiencing the culture of marrackech,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,035
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
755
1,690
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Just got back from Riu Tikida Palamarie with Thomsons. We were caught up in the Volcano ash fiasco which meant that we were stranded for an extra 5 days. We were treated so well by both Thomson and the hotel staff. The hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed at. The food was excellent and all the resturant staff were amazing. The entertainment team were fantastic. We are usually very reserved but they had us up dancing and joining in the fun. Simo was the nicest of guy's and sat with us talking around the pool, he had us up dancing and generally helped make the holiday a really good experience. The managers cocktail party was a lovely touch with champagne, nibbles, dancing and even the manager did a song or two for us. Thoroughly enjoyed it! We will deffinately go back. Marrakech markets by day and night were also a great experience. We had a hire car and driving was fun and looked more scary than it actually was. Must watch out for the stop sign which we called doubble slipper as this means 100 dh for the local police officer, if you do not stop even if the road is completely clear. He he. The hole experience was amazing. Its a must do so go enjoy!! Kay, Kevin and Jade x

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We travelled here with Thompson and were caught up in the ash crisis.The hotel and Thompson were fantastic in all this and the high level of service and friendliness remained consistent throughout.

Its a great place to go with children as they can have so much freedom as the complex is so safe. There's a great variety of food that the children can help themselves to, on offer most of the time.

The hotel was very clean and tidy, there an incredible amount of service staff working there.

Only slight drawback was that the service at the bars was a little disorganised at times and when children went to the bar, they were sometimes ignored-giving adults preferential treatment. We paid the same for them!

Its a super place and would go again. Its a littel way out of the main town and we replied on the free bus service from the hotel, but again when travelling with children this is fine.

Would highly reccomend. Go now before it gets really expensive!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Hi,Weve just returned from a wonderful 4 night break staying in this lovely hotel.Everything about this place is great.Just 6 months old,and i think in time will be even better.The food,rooms,pool,and weather was fab.From babies to oaps,everyone seems to enjoy themselves.We booked the flights,transfers and hotel independently,and got our 4 nights on an all inclusive basis for just 225 each.Well happy.No need for mozzie spray and temps ranged from 80 to 90 degrees.One bit of advice;we booked a balloon flight before we travelled via do something different .com.We payed 154 pounds each,yet after speaking to fellow travallers, they payed just 65 pounds each in resort.GUTTED OR WHAT!!!!. Please give this hotel a go as you will not be disappointed. Lack of evening entertainment may be a negative for some.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

sold as a 5* hotel by first choice(more like 3-4*) yes it is work in progress fair do's .
the staff are very nice and efficiant drinks are ok but small measures, the food is repetative but plentiful meat sometimes a bit raw. the rooms are clean and pleasant ,though they lack any drink making facilitys(dissapointing) the speaciallity restaraunts are'nt that special serving pretty much the same food as the main restaraunts do,we ate in the moroccan restaraunt on 10/4/2010 and by the sun morning my wife was very ill which following tests proved to be salmonella poisoning(6 weeks of misery followed)best advice be careful what you eat and where and reading other reviews this is not an isolated incident. night time entertainment is very limited also unless your a trainee alchoholic and enjoy passive smoking A BIG LET DOWN,to what was expected and potrayed by the holiday company.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night city break at this hotel, having got it at a bargain price through Thomson, paying a total of £500. This was well worth it as we had a wonderful time. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful, and the standard of the hotel as a whole was excellent. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, having a bathroom with bath and shower and a separate little room for the loo together with bidet. Rooms also have a large couch as standard which gives an additional comfortable alternative to the beds if you want to sit and relax rather than lie down. The balcony/terrace is also comfortable furnished and is very pleasant to sit out on when the heat is not too overpowering.
We have travelled extensively, and stayed in many north African hotels in particular but this had positively the best food out of them all. The All Inclusive range is excellent with snacks available throughout the day in addition to the standard breakfast lunch and dinner. Dinner in the main restaurant is excellent - there is plenty of choice, it was well presented and the food was always hot. Even the fussiest of eaters would find something to tempt their palates here as there is so much variety. This has now become our new favourite place! We have been home a total of 2 days and before writing this review we visited the Thomson website to book our spring break for next year at this hotel. This time we have booked for the full seven nights, and we can't wait to go back. It is truly stunning, and if you go you will not be disappointed. Ignore all the moans and negative comments we could not find fault with anything and we have travelled extensively. Some people just moan and pick holes for the sake of it. We loved it and are counting the days til we return.
We will be happy to answer any questions regarding this hotel if you want any further information or are considering booking it for yourself. Don't hesitate. Do it. It is truly a wonderful relaxing oasis.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My Girlfriend and I visited the Riu mid April and were lucky enough to have 4 extra free days due to the ash cloud. We were delighted at this outcome. We couldn't of asked to be stranded in a nicer hotel.
The staff here were all very friendly and always happy to help. Check-in was very quick and took a matter of minutes.
The rooms were very spacious and clean. Ours consisted of a double bed, sofa, tv, coffee table, plenty of wardrobe space, safe, toilet with seperate bath/shower and a good sized furnished balcony. All Private and communial rooms throughout the hotel are beautifully decorated.
The pool is huge and was always very clean. Early reviews said the entrance to the pool was slippery. This "problem" has been solved with a handrail and is now perfectly safe. We had no problems finding sunbeds even during busy periods. People do tend to put towles out early but there are plenty of beds for everyone.
The restaurants had a great choice of food and i always found something i liked or wanted to try. They had a seperate Italian and Morocan style restaurant which served pretty much what you could find in the main restaurant. They were more decorative and smaller which gave you a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of the larger main restaurant if anything else.
Service at the main bar in the evenings was sometimes slow but this was mainly due to bar staff laughing and joking with other guests. As other reviews suggest cocktais are a bit hit and miss, this greatly depends on who makes them, I stuck with the local larger. We sat in the main bar most nights and we were never effected by cigarette smoke even being non smokers.
Make sure you spare time to visit the city. I think this is a must. Just hop on the free hotel shuttle bus that runs every hour. The city is an amazing place and is a true taste of local life.
We had a great time. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.