We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot but wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD 2016 DEALS
Ranked #169 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hot but wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and had an absolutely wonderful time. My children are 20 years old and they weren't bored at all. Obviously it is very hot in Marrakech in the summer but as long as you are sensible about the heat then you are fine. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable apart from my sons bed which was a concrete slab with a mattress on top of it, but this was the third bed in the room so no problem. The restaurants were very good with a great choice of food. The swimming pool was lovely even if there were a few bun fights over the sun loungers. The large mattresses under the shade was a great idea apart from certain families who hogged them every day. I am not sure if the pool guys got the just of tourism but there you go. The hotel is in a great setting with wonderful grounds to walk around. There is a gym and children's play area. The entertainment is ok but I don't go on holiday to watch the entertainment, I go to relax, so I can't rate it. In the hotel foyer it is nice and cool and relaxing. My daughter and myself went for a walk on a few evenings on the road and we found a few shops and a large supermarket which sold just about everything. One morning we went for a long walk to the right of the hotel (6.30am) and we found some more little shops and the Jewish neighbourhood and walked under lime trees, it was wonderful seeing the city wake up. We visited the souks which was ok but we went earlier in the day before it got too busy, but it was still extremely hot, so make sure you go in loose, cool clothing and take plenty of water. Overall this hotel was wonderful and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    1,284
    355
    87
    31
See reviews for
921
2,050
26
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (969)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We booked this hotel because it looks stunning and is known as the most luxurious hotel in Marrakech.
Don't get me wrong, the hotel was beautiful but we didn't enjoy our stay at all.
We asked to move rooms on arrival as our room had lots of flies squashed to the walls and our 'double' bed was two single beds pushed together. (Apparently there isn't a double bed in the whole hotel.) We waited for almost an hour for our cases to make it to us, after a long day travelling and it being nearly midnight we decided to see if we could see the porter to have them off him. We left our room to find our cases and four others just dumped further down the corridor.
The food was pretty average really with not much variation throughout the week and there was no kids section. The italian restaurant is nice and would recommend going there.
The entertainment team regularly cancelled games of water polo etc that were timetabled to be on.
We asked Rachid (the rep) about visiting the markets. He arranged a taxi for us which squashed 6 of us plus the driver in an ordinary 5 seater car. We really didn't enjoy the trip to the market and left earlier than planned.
First impressions: there was a man asleep on a bench, puddles and piles everywhere off all the horses and monkeys chained up. One of the men approached our friend and before he could say anything there was a monkey on his arm!
we returned to Rachid who recommended a trip to the plaza, he told us the best day and time to go. We booked a taxi through the hotel reception. On our way to the Plaza the taxi driver (again 6 of us squashed in a 5 seater) informed us that actually the plaza was closed that day because of it being the end of Ramadan. Literally, everywhere was closed.
When we complained to Michelle back at the hotel, her answer was "well if you didn't book it as an excursion there's nothing we can do". She was rude, uninterested and not helpful in the slightest. That trip cost us over £40 in wasted taxi fares!
When we asked to keep our room on for late checkout they told us to return 24 hours before we left. We did this and straight away they told us there were no rooms available. They charged us for the house of another room to have a shower and get changed. This room was miles away from reception and up some stairs. Even the cleaners couldn't find it when we asked!!
We changed money as we thought we would need it (like for a trip to the markets!). We had a letter through our door on the day we left to say that we needed to change any money back before we left as it couldn't be spent at the airport or changed back outside of Morocco.

I could go on and on but all I will say is this: We have been to Egypt three times and loved it every time. We would never go back to Morocco.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

i went here in may 2014 and it was amazing, the staff were all friendly, the hotel was beautiful, the entertainment staff were funny, friendly and they are always holding games around the pool. 1 bad thing i would say is the guy who takes your photo.....hes a rip off. apart from that it was amazing and i would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

August 11th - 21st 2014. 40degrees plus each day, very strong sun so have your factor 30/50 ready. Not a cloud in the sky. Great humidity to help you breathe.

Rooms - great room for couples but not for 3 people. Spoke with a few people who said the stone block with a mattress on we thought was a sofa is actually the third bed. Could easily catch your head on it. Wardrobes but no drawers. Separate toilet with bidet and bathroom with shower over the bath run through the taps. Each day the sheets are made into fans and towels used for hearts and swans with red rose petals. Fridge in room means you will need to leave one of the room cards in for the electric to work, which also comes with 2 new large bottles of water daily. Air con works separately. 15 degrees during the day and 20 degrees at night was a great temperature. All rooms have a patio with table and chairs and are either ground level or first floor in large blocks which we found to be quiet.

Pool - wow! lovely temperature, slanted on one side meaning you could lie down and have the water flow over you. Around the pool was a ledge that meant you could sit on the edge and dangle your feet on the ledge. Depth was 1.4 metres all over meaning it wasn't too deep. Central to the pool is a ledge you can sit/lie on with the water lapping over you. Plenty of sunbeds and lounge areas with covers. If you want a specific spot be up and at the pool for 7am when they unchain the beds, although there are a few left around the higher edges of the pool. The umbrellas are fixed with laths for the sun to come through so you may have to move around if you want to hide from the sun at times. Bar staff at the 2 bars during the day great fun and very friendly. They will bring the drinks to you if you have a lot to carry.

Food
daytime - good choice hot and cold buffet style you can sit inside or outside, used plates etc cleared away very quickly
nightime -buffet style with a large variety of hot. cold dishes. Along with the usual English style dishes of chips, veg, meat, fish etc.. always a separate set of Moroccan dishes available which are very tasty. Staff very friendly and always see you to a table and get your drinks whilst you get your food.

Bars - lobby and entertainment rooms which close at midnight on the dot and an outside bar with entertainment (2 guys on guitar and keyboard) most nights which closes at 11 on the dot. Good choice of drinks and not afraid to give large amounts of alcohol in the shorts. Lager very palatable. Choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails

Staff - very friendly, good English speakers and cannot do enough for you. Great service with a smile from each one of them, ie reception, cleaners, bar staff, restaurant everyone.

Thomson Reps - available in the lobby area and very helpful, Michelle (flixton) and Rashid. They also hold stocks of suntan lotion, shampoos etc... which people leave in case you run out so please hand over all toiletries and sun lotions to help others.

20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes by free coach each day into Marrakech. Visit the souks by day then return to see them at night. All I will say is it is like being in Ali Baba and forty thieves. If you get lost in the souks the locals will always help you back to the square. don't let someone take you round do it yourself and don't forget to haggle for the goods. friendly but not pushy, a firm no thanks with a smile does the trick.

it advertises wifi in the lobby but reception is poor due to the amount of people wanting to use it. Best time was around 8am to 9am as a lot of people and kids are still in bed.

Overall a fantastic holiday. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Some good trips available to the Atlas Mountains, waterfalls, quad bikes and camel riding amongst others. Used Thomson reps to book the trips.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a block on the ground floor which was only 2 minutes from the pool and 2 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My partner booked me this holiday as a birthday treat so I was really looking forward to this break away. The flight with Thompson was basic think easyjet with fake leather seats. We then arrived at the airport which was nice then easy transfers to the hotel. When there we were welcomed with a fruit punch (very sugary but the thought was fab) and checked in. We had emailed previously we wanted a pool facing room as recommended on trip advisor and we didn't get it but the room was still fairly close to the pool. The room is great, very spacious and black out curtains. The 2xbottled water is kept on mini bar too. The maids are AMAZING. They keep the hotel so clean and do nice little touches everytime. They earn about 15dh a day which is £1.40 so tip them if they do a good job, they so appreciate it. The grounds are beautiful too. I never saw any scorpions/cockroaches etc but even if I did it wouldn't bother me. It's a hot country and the cleaners do everything they can to prevent it. The pool is big but not kept clean enough. The pool boys are all taking bribes too so even though the beds are chained up until 7:30 they still leave some out for their "regulars" who tip them. The spa is amazing-you must visit!! The ladies are so attentive and so kind. Best massage in a long time. The hotel was full of kids which was fine as it's summer holidays but be prepared this is a family place during that time. My partner was getting frustrated as a lot of French kids were rude but that's certainly not the hotels fault. There are lots of French there though!

My main criticism is the food. Everyone we spoke to had upset stomachs as did we. The chicken was often raw and the main restaurant was a glorified canteen. The food anyway was poor-average. We never made it to the Italian restaurant. We did however go to the morrocan one lots. The staff are easily the best thing at this hotel by the way! Again it was a buffet, bit nicer but an al la carte was certainly missing at this hotel. The house wine tastes of vinegar, the beer is like a watery Heineken, cocktails are sugary and attract wasps (literally groups of wasps hanging around but again not altogether the hotels fault) there are no bar snacks. Breakfast was good variety lunch was bland and dinner was always a let down.

Great place for a family I'm sure but I for one would not pay to return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this lovely hotel. Getting through the airport was a nightmare, over 2 hrs in a queue which just didn't seem to move but on arrival to the hotel it was all forgotten as we enjoyed a refreshing drink and food in the restaurant. Talking to others I don't think it is usually quite such a wait so we were probably just unlucky. Coming home was not a problem at all and we got through all the checks very quickly. Hotel grounds are just lovely and are kept immaculate. We enjoyed all the food and drinks for the whole 2 weeks, lots of choice even for the fussy eaters. The puddings were the best and we all looked forward to them. You can pretty much eat all day if you want. Room was great, lots of room for our family and again kept v clean every day. We had emailed the hotel and asked for a quiet room and we were given just that or so we thought. We were given a lovely room in the 3000 block and it was very quiet until the last few days of our stay when we were woken by very loud music which was coming from outside the hotel grounds. It started from anything from 1am to 3am and went on for a few hours. Reading a review just posted below, I note that they had the same problem and that they were then moved so maybe block 3000 isn't the best block if this is an ongoing problem. The hotel itself is very quiet though and the staff are very friendly and helpful as others have said.

Trips were good and well organised, we did the caleche by night which was good as you have a guide to take you into the medina, so it was good to do this the first time we went into town. We did the ouikra valley which was excellent and good if you have kids as it is only half a day and not much travelling. We did the water park aqua fun not the nearer one, bit run down but some good slides and our son has a great day. Make sure you request your 50 dirham deposit back if you get a locker as they tried to take my key so I couldn't get it back but I did eventually. It's 100 dirhams but you should get 50 back. They don't let you take drinks and food in but will give you it back when you leave which was good as we had taken water and they had kept this cold for us on exiting which was much needed as the bus was so hot. We used the hotel bus on many occasions to go into town, they will drop you off by the fountain if you want to visit it the new part otherwise they drop you right by the square which was good.The bus was always on time so very reliable and we always got a place when we wanted one despite booking last minute sometimes. As others have said it is worth going to the shop with fixed prices first before you go to the souks so you know what prices things should be.

The only negative is the same thing others have said re beds in the shade. We are not early risers at all but we usually managed to get some shade late morning or afternoon. The pool staff will help you. It wasn't as bad as I had expected after reading reviews prior to our trip but people do set their alarms to reserve beds at ridiculous times and then don't use them for hours! Some people had the same spot every day so they must have got up in the night to reserve them, not my idea of a holiday. The bar area is all shaded so you could sit up there if you needed to get out the sun. The pool was just lovely and didn't seem that crowded when you were in it despite it being August.

The entertainment team are lovely but we didn't watch any of their evening shows as we liked to sit by the pool bar listening to the two guys singing who were great. Lots of day time activities if you want to get involved.

Sorry this review has gone on but my honest opinion is that this hotel is great and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Email and request a quiet room. All have private balconies but first floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Went to this hotel with my friend and god-daughter. Nice enough sized room. The staff are out of this world! SO friendly, lovely and genuinely great! There was nothing they couldnt do for you. We got the all inclusive and I strongly recommend you do it! Drinks (inc alcohol) and food on tap!

The poolside is impressive and there are so many activities when there! We did aqua aerobics (so much fun!!!), darts, various games and they put on shows too!

There are three restaurants and they are all buffet style. You have to book the Moroccan and Italian restaurants but the third one you walk in and dont need to book.

Make sure you take sun screen as at this time it is ridiculously hot!!! The hottest was 47 degrees! Make sure you take sun screen!

Go to the Atlas mountains, do a camel ride, go to the medina and be prepared to haggle!! Go to the En Semble market/ shopping area first which is close to the medina (or souk) as these are set prices! This will help you so that when you go to the souk you have an idea how much items are to be sold for. When they see you thy see £££ signs!!!

Lovely experience!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#210 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#192 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#64 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.