We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday. Best hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best holiday. Best hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We booked this through Thomson and went in May 2013. This is my second time going to Marrakech and how anyone can trash talk it I'll never know. If you want to experience a totally different culture then this is definitely the place for you. No it's not as clean as the UK and yes there beggars and merchants trying to selling you things around the medina and main square a simple "No thank you" will do the trick. If you go can't go to another country and embrace their way of doing things then why bother going at all?

As for the hotel I honestly cannot understand the bad reviews. We arrived late in the evening but staff were on hand to greet us with a drink and check in staff were very helpful. Our room was a fair walk away from the hotel but whats a 5 minute walk through stunning gardens going to hurt? Room was spacious and clean. (it even included rose petals on the bed and a towel swan)

Now for anyone doubting the food as a few people have given bad reviews I throw my hands up and admit I am a fussy eater. I'm vegetarian, dairy intolerant and have a strong hatred of mushrooms and tomatoes. I e mailed ahead and was told by the Thomson rep to make myself know when I went to the dining room and someone would be there to help. I was taken round by the HEADCHEF and he pointed out each dish I could have and told me he would cook something different if none of it took my fancy - I have NEVER received that treatment in any uk restaurant.

The animation team were fantastic and worked throughout the day to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. We ended up meeting a brilliant group of people because of the entertainment they put on.

The pool area was stunning. Very clean and peaceful. There was a fair few children when we were there but the pool is big enough that you could escape the noise of them and relax and recharge those batteries.

All in all this was the best holiday and the best hotel I have stayed in and I recommend it to everybody!

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk request a room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,107
    299
    73
    22
See reviews for
797
1,813
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful hotel and the staff and management are as helpful and professional as you would find anywhere. Outside of the hotel it is quite poor as you would expect but given that the local people are great.
If you are after a relaxing time within the confines of the hotel you could find no better, but if you are after going out and about looking for lots to do you might struggle.
The Camel ride excursion is well worth a go and at about £20 a person all in is great value for money. There is a free bus to the souks which is somewhere you will love or hate but something else you must do.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 5000 block facing the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked this at short notice with Thomson's and stayed from Monday 3rd to Friday 7th Feb.

Although we did not arrive until approx 11.30 p.m. on Monday night the transfer from the airport was very good and the hotel had kept the restaurant open for our arrival -the bags were brought to the room within minutes of us finding the room - this could be a bit daunting due to the size of the resort but there were plenty of security staff dotted around to point you in the right direction. Our room was overlooking the pool and was only a short walk from the restaurants and bars. The room was absolutely huge / separate toilet and bathroom, twin beds pushed together with a large lounger / sofa and ample wardrobe space.

Although we only ate in the main buffet restaurant I cannot fault the choice and quality of the food on offer - there is no need for anybody to go hungry here!!! We were shown to a table and the staff then looked after you i.e. refilling water and wine glasses as soon as they
were empty. Only tasted the red wine but it was very drinkable.

The weather was exceptionally warm during the day but early morning and evening did get a bit chilly and cardigans / jumpers were needed. The bar in the main building was large and buzzing on the nights we went there and the drinks are not watered down and in fact they tasted too good!!

We did use the shuttle bus to the town and although I think the driver works to a different time scale as the rest of us this was an excellent service. As this was our first visit to Marrakech I did not know what to expect of the medina and souks but they were certainly an eye opener - I did feel that the sellers pestered you so much you were afraid to even look at items and I came away feeling a bit cheated that I could not look closer. During one afternoon visit we went to the Museum of Marrakech and the Museum of Photography where we had lunch on the terrace - well worth a visit as you feel you get away from the hustle and bustle of the souks even though they are only a step away.

All in all a great spot for a bit of winter sun, the hotel was clean, well maintained with good gardens and although the water was too cold in the pool the areas around it were great for just relaxing and reading with plenty of space and many many loungers - but I would expect that this would be a different matter in the height of the season.

I cannot see us returning to Marrakech as there are too many places to visit, but I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room and you will not be too far away from all the restaurants and bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends have just returned from 4 nights here all inclusive with Thomson. Right from the start we were very impressed with the standards and staff at the hotel. Here are some things you might want to consider if you're booking / going there:

- it's a massive hotel so in the peak season it will be very busy. It was only half full during our trip but I would imagine the pool and restaurants would get v busy when full
- the outdoor pool is great but far too cold to swim in at this time of year, so prepare to swim in the indoor pool instead
- because of the size it can be quite a walk to the rooms, and to get to our room you had to walk through the pool
- the food is great but our favourite by far was the Moroccan restaurant - highly recommended

So in general we were really impressed, had gorgeous weather and also really enjoyed Marrakech itself. We didn't get anywhere near as much hassle as we thought! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights which was plenty of time to enjoy the hotel facilities and Marrakech medina. Great value for money and the chance to get some Winter sun, only 3 hours flight.

Positives
Clean and well maintained resort, very comfortable.
Lovely pools, fitness centre and spa with all treatments offered, therapists very good.
Food was excellent - vast choice to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements.
Service was first class, friendly and efficient bar and restaurant staff.
Very secure site.
Loved the location, short shuttle ride to the medina, 25 mins transfer time to airport, set in landscaped grounds.

Negatives
Reception check in disorganised - with so many group check ins each week, the process should be a lot smoother.
Noise from the rooms next door and above is very audible, particularly patio doors and furniture being moved.
Spa only takes cash, a bit of a hassle that could have been avoided if we had been told at time of booking, so we didn't have to return to the room to get a cash card and then go to Reception to draw cash out.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is the 3rd time in 3 years we have stayed at this hotel and the 4th time in Marrakesh we paid around £369 for a week fri to fri and again found this hotel superb value but be aware of thomsons variable pricing policy as it ranged from 369 to 633 over a month. that said back to the hotel
the hotel is located about 20 mins by bus from the old and new towns the hotel as a free bus to the old town up to 8pm and taxis are fixed price if you order from the hotel 100 to 150 dhm 8 to 12 pounds on the way back you will need to haggle.
the hotel is set in beautiful gardens over a large area and rooms are in blocks of 2 floors rooms are large and tv has English channels no tea coffee making facility so you may want to take a kettle as it can be a bit of a walk back to the bar
the pool is massive and very cold in January but still went in as did others the is also an indoor pool, gym, and spa lounge bar show bar pool bar and 3 restaurants.
The best thing about this hotel that keep us returning year after year are
The staff
they will all go out of there way to help and make your stay good i would say the staff at this hotel and every one deserves a thank you
The food
For a All inclusive hotel in this price range the food is superb great choice high quality food the Moroccan and Italian restaurants are also very good we can get a bit fed up with some food at most all inclusive hotels but not here
so yes will be back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked this all-inclusive hotel as part of a long-weekend package from Thomson. There were 3 of us in or group; me, my sister and a friend. To give us some room we booked a mini-suite, which was not much more expensive than a standard room. In summary - WOW - fabulous grounds, huge and comfortable suite, good, varied and plentiful selection of food in the buffet restaurant (including good veggie options), very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located just outside Marrakech but there were several complimentary shuttle buses in and out of the town so seeing the sites was not a problem. We can really recommend the spa and enjoyed our Hammam treatment. What was a nice touch was that although we have a really late flight back to the UK, we could use all of the facilities of the hotel including restaurants/bars until we left in the evening. Other lovely touches were free bottles of water provided in the rooms and inventive towel art (see my pictures) - these really made our short break special.

Room Tip: If you have checked out of your room but are travelling late, you can book a courtesy room to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.