We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab sunshine break at friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fab sunshine break at friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends have just returned from 4 nights here all inclusive with Thomson. Right from the start we were very impressed with the standards and staff at the hotel. Here are some things you might want to consider if you're booking / going there:

- it's a massive hotel so in the peak season it will be very busy. It was only half full during our trip but I would imagine the pool and restaurants would get v busy when full
- the outdoor pool is great but far too cold to swim in at this time of year, so prepare to swim in the indoor pool instead
- because of the size it can be quite a walk to the rooms, and to get to our room you had to walk through the pool
- the food is great but our favourite by far was the Moroccan restaurant - highly recommended

So in general we were really impressed, had gorgeous weather and also really enjoyed Marrakech itself. We didn't get anywhere near as much hassle as we thought! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,033
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
753
1,690
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights which was plenty of time to enjoy the hotel facilities and Marrakech medina. Great value for money and the chance to get some Winter sun, only 3 hours flight.

Positives
Clean and well maintained resort, very comfortable.
Lovely pools, fitness centre and spa with all treatments offered, therapists very good.
Food was excellent - vast choice to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements.
Service was first class, friendly and efficient bar and restaurant staff.
Very secure site.
Loved the location, short shuttle ride to the medina, 25 mins transfer time to airport, set in landscaped grounds.

Negatives
Reception check in disorganised - with so many group check ins each week, the process should be a lot smoother.
Noise from the rooms next door and above is very audible, particularly patio doors and furniture being moved.
Spa only takes cash, a bit of a hassle that could have been avoided if we had been told at time of booking, so we didn't have to return to the room to get a cash card and then go to Reception to draw cash out.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is the 3rd time in 3 years we have stayed at this hotel and the 4th time in Marrakesh we paid around £369 for a week fri to fri and again found this hotel superb value but be aware of thomsons variable pricing policy as it ranged from 369 to 633 over a month. that said back to the hotel
the hotel is located about 20 mins by bus from the old and new towns the hotel as a free bus to the old town up to 8pm and taxis are fixed price if you order from the hotel 100 to 150 dhm 8 to 12 pounds on the way back you will need to haggle.
the hotel is set in beautiful gardens over a large area and rooms are in blocks of 2 floors rooms are large and tv has English channels no tea coffee making facility so you may want to take a kettle as it can be a bit of a walk back to the bar
the pool is massive and very cold in January but still went in as did others the is also an indoor pool, gym, and spa lounge bar show bar pool bar and 3 restaurants.
The best thing about this hotel that keep us returning year after year are
The staff
they will all go out of there way to help and make your stay good i would say the staff at this hotel and every one deserves a thank you
The food
For a All inclusive hotel in this price range the food is superb great choice high quality food the Moroccan and Italian restaurants are also very good we can get a bit fed up with some food at most all inclusive hotels but not here
so yes will be back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked this all-inclusive hotel as part of a long-weekend package from Thomson. There were 3 of us in or group; me, my sister and a friend. To give us some room we booked a mini-suite, which was not much more expensive than a standard room. In summary - WOW - fabulous grounds, huge and comfortable suite, good, varied and plentiful selection of food in the buffet restaurant (including good veggie options), very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located just outside Marrakech but there were several complimentary shuttle buses in and out of the town so seeing the sites was not a problem. We can really recommend the spa and enjoyed our Hammam treatment. What was a nice touch was that although we have a really late flight back to the UK, we could use all of the facilities of the hotel including restaurants/bars until we left in the evening. Other lovely touches were free bottles of water provided in the rooms and inventive towel art (see my pictures) - these really made our short break special.

Room Tip: If you have checked out of your room but are travelling late, you can book a courtesy room to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie on 6th January 2014 & had 14 wonderful days at the Hotel which could not be faulted.
The airport staff were as we expected having been to Morroco before, very uninterested & this part of the journey took longer than it should have. Having been caught before by the Airport Case carriers we thought we had escaped their clutches but just before getting to our Coach the cases were taken & carried to the Coach which was all 40 metres away & he then as expected demanded English money but as i had no English change on me he was unlucky & not a happy chap.
The transfer to the hotel was quite quick & on our arrival at the Hotel we were greeted with a Cocktail which went down very well. We unloaded our cases from the coah & were ushered into the Restaurant for a light meal as it was around Midnight by now. Having eaten we were checked in at reception & it was a quick painless exercise & we were soon off to our room.
Unfortunately our key did not open the door to our room which was a 5 minute walk from reception but they reprogrammed the key card & once back at our room having been shown by security where it was we could unpack our cases which arrived at our room at about the same time.
The room was large, well cleaned & more than suitable for our needs whilst we were there with a large bathroom & separate toilet, we were not expecting a bath in our room as our paperwork had suggested only a shower so this was an unexpected bonus!.It was well cleaned with the fridge topped up with bottled water each day. Every day the towels/bed linen were folded into Heart Shapes/Swans or Waves & this was beautifully done & it seemed a shame to disturb this artistic design to use them.
The food was outstanding & with a wife who gets an upset stomach very easily it was great that she was clear all through the Holiday although we only ate at he Hotel & did not take a chance in the Souks or Square. Breakfast was varied from Full English to Continental with cerials,donuts toast & pancakes always available. I stuck to the Ommletes which were out of this world with a choice of bread or rolls that you could not get tired of but you will pile the pounds on as i did.The wife piled on Pounds due to all the delicious pastries available at lunch time & in the evening.
In light of the breafast eaten we did not find ourselves very hungry by lunch time & tended to only snack or on some days left it until later in the afternoon to sample the gorgeous pancakes as we did not want to ruin our evening meal.
The Evening meal was yet again a joy in so much that there was such a choice that even a fussy eater could not complain here. The tagines were delicious & you had to sample them at least once but there were several other choices every night & despite some reviews we have read we did not find it repetative at all. We went to the Morrocan Themed Restaurant on one night & we were not dissappointed it lived up to all the good reviews we had read about it.
In the main restaurant & Morrocan Restaurant the Waiting Staff could not ever seem to do enough for you. The first week we got great service from them without Tipping them but the second week we gave the 2 staff who looked after us 20 Dirhams each & we were then treated like royalty, as soon as our glasses were empty a refill appeared without asking & some nights we would go to the Soup area & the Waiters even took that back to our table for us & they made sure each night we had a table by the window that we requested early into the Holiday. The service we received was great but this was made even better but the looks we got from he French guests who did not get this great service.
We did not go to any of the entertainment so we cant comment on this & did not take part in the games around the swimming pool & the staff in this area accepted when you just wanted to relax on one of the many Sun Loungers available.There was no reason to put towels on the loungers prior to using them as there were many not in use during the day, although many people still did though
We went into Marrakech probably 6-7 times during our stay & went by Taxi most times but did use the Shuttle Bus a couple of times which was bookable in advance. We ended up wanting to go into Marrakech when the bus had just gone or there was a wait until the next one. The Taxi fares were quite reasonable 100 Dirhams £8 going to Marrakech & 150 Dirams £12 going back to the hotel from anywhere in Marrakech. The Taxi journeys were quite an experience & it made driving in London look easy, there were other Taxis,cars,mopeds,bikes all cutting one another up & every one seems to toot there horn at every other road user & this did not take into account the Donkeys pulling their overloaded Carts. It was amazing there wernt loads of accidents but in one Taxi journey our driver did run over a pedestrians leg & just drove on totally unconcerned.
The only downsde to the Holiday was the sight of the unnecesary neglect of their animals, the Donkeys carry loads far to Heavy & seem to be worked into the ground without their owners giving a Dam & when questioned just mutter they are only animals!!!. To me they are tools of the trade so why not look after them, you would not neglect you car would you.
In the Square you wll get approached by all sorts of traders from Mobile phone sellers to Henna Tattoo Ladies but they are OK when you firmly decline to buy, but if you photograph any of the Monkeys, Snakes or other acts you will get hasled by spotters who will become verbally aggressive if you dont pay what they want from you, we found it best just to walk away from them. These people need to be stopped if there is no demand there would be no supply & these animals would not be suffering as they currently are.
The Souks were great fun but most of the goods on sale were just tat that they wanted to haggle high prices out of you but telling you it was their best price & that that price was only for you!!. What seemed strange was how all the 16000 Stalls could make a living as many of them were selling the same items such as spices, Tacky ornaments or designer clothes!!! or so they said, there were many food outlets which all smelt very good but we did not take the chance though.
All in all the Hotel was fantastic & we plan to visit again in the near future & look forward to another fortnight in this magical city where we can both relax in this wonderfull hotel & enjoy the mystery of Marrakech once again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My Partner and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel eight times in total , I cannot praise the manager Pablo and his assistant also called Pablo enough ! They are truly dedicated to making your holiday a fantastic experience , the bar staff restaurant and front of house staff are all the best ! Yousef and Tuk Tuk the porters cannot do enough for you ! The Doctor and Too Tall in the restaurant in particular ....Jamal , Rocky, No champagne, and I'm frightened, are all the finest staff you will find anywhere... Looking forward to seeing you all again soon, Ali Baba and Fatima ........

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Couldn't be happier! Have just got back from a week away at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. Booked the holiday last minute, and was very cheap so wasn't expecting much. However, the hotel is amazing!

I honestly don't know how people have left bad reviews - I have stayed and travelled a lot over the world, and this is probably the best accommodation I have stayed in.

I have stayed all inclusive once before, and had a terrible experience - but for £320 we thought we would just risk it. This holiday is incomparable to that other all inclusive.
The food is different every day, and the staff are so friendly and will do anything to help. Rooms were cleaned daily, and were of a high standard. Excellent range of drinks (FREE), and entertainment was good and varied.
It was my birthday while we were away and the staff made an effort to make it special, with a decorated table and a bottle of champagne and birthday cake.
We went on a trip with Thomsons to the mountains which is a must - in fact the day we went it had been snowing so looked even more spectacular. It is expensive, but think it was good value overall. All the other guests are friendly and after having spoke to many different groups of people, no one had a bad word to say about their trip.Already thinking of when we can come back to this hotel.
The hotel is out of the city, which makes it quiet and relaxing. The hotel provides a regular free shuttle bus to and from the city should you want to explore the Souks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.