We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay at Riu Tikida - Dec 13” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #131 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“recent stay at Riu Tikida - Dec 13”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall the hotel is excellent, with Wendy the local Thomson ref being fantastic. BUT there are a few issues that we experienced that spoiled the trip:
- we were told by Thomson (Chester travel shop) the rooms had interconnecting doors (they didn't!) so bad start as we wanted the kids to have the next door room
- the internet hardly works and is only available as occasional wifi in reception, this was very irritating by the end of the week and is easy to fix!
- the outdoor main pool is not heated so effectively 'off limits' in the winter season
- you will get 'chiselled' by the locals in shops or even (Thomson) organised tours for 'tips' for guides even if you paid an all inclusive fee, also be very careful of shops included in tours as we were sold fake goods
- the general 'haggling' for the price of goods in shops will invariably leave you ripped-off even if you think you have a good deal
- from an animal welfare perspective the camels included in the Thomson Palmaraie camel ride package seemed in poor condition and badly treated (all tied up by the necks to each other all the time, no feed or water evident and fur missing, not cleaned etc)

Those caveats aside, the hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,591
    941
    253
    59
    17
See reviews for
696
1543
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've stayed here twice, in June 2012 and December 2013 and just can't fault it. The staff are fantastic, the hotel is spotless and the rooms are great. The food is fantastic, so much choice in the main restaurant, and the italian restaurant is great too. Highlight for me though is definitely the Moroccan restaurant the food in there is just amazing.

The surroundings are lovely and shuttle bus to Medina is very useful. What absolutely makes this hotel though is the staff. Reception staff are brilliant nothing it too much trouble, bar staff are brilliant, entertainment staff are endlessly entertaining and Khalid the glass collector provided us with brilliant entertainment in the bar too! Waiting on staff are so efficient and polite,

This place makes me never want to go on holiday anywhere else ever again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, great food and a breathtaking swimming pool. Free bus to town and back every couple of hours was really useful. Felt very safe and quite frankly one of the better holidays we have had (when considering the nature of package holidays).

Heated indoor pool was of great use.

Rooms are massive and the towel displays each day were a real treat to return to at the end of a hard days sight seeing.

10 mins coach travel to the centre of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel from 10th till 24th october.
We arrived at 10 ish,to met by the hotel manager.
And the restaurent was still open,and there was still lots to eat and hot too.
It was lovely,the staff were all extremely nice and helpful.
Nothing was too much trouble for them.
My only critism,there wasnt much to do in the evenings or during the day,if you didnt want to go out of the hotel.
Im not one for sunbathing all day.
The excursions with Thomsons were great value for money,especially the discover Marrakech.
You got to see 8 out of 10 things to see in Marrakech.
I loved the Mosque in Jma El Fna square.
And hearing the Imam first thing morning,and at 6.30 in the evening.

Whilst I was there it was Eide,a holy day for them.
Everything was closed for the day,and the hotel was packed.
Of course,some English made rude remarks about this.
My opinion is,if you dont like the way Muslims live their religion,then dont go to a Muslim country.

Whilst there,i spoke to a few English people.
One lady was really nice,except for her travelling companion.
He was so arrogant,and self opiniated.
I felt sorry for her,glad i wasnt with him.
I would have took him to the Atlas mountains and left him,to find his own way back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have recently recent from our Christmas holiday and what a fabulous time we had.We had a good flight with Thomsons no problems.We arrived at the hotel to be greeted with a welcome drink and lovely friendly reception staff..I am disabled and gad already emailed to get a particular room but unfortunately this was already booked so Khalil the reception manager upgraded us to a suite as I needed a shower rather than bath,well what a surprise the suite was enormous the bed was huge and each say the maid arranged the bed with different designs and rose petals.we had suite 5008 near to the pool.t.There are three restaurants, including a Moroccan, Italian and the everyday buffet we didn't try the speciality ones because there was so much to choose in the main restaurant .The white wine is ok and on a Sunday you get champagne and smoked salmon very nice.
The animation especially Abdel,MJ,Redman and of my favourite Tarqic he kept taking my mobility scooter and riding round the hotel ,they work so hard to keep everyone entertained.
On Christmas Eve there was a champagne reception and then a brilliant banquet. We would also like to mention the dining room staff who kept a table at the front so I didn't have far to walk for my meals ,so our thanks to Ficiel and Abdullah .Also a very big thank you to Samir the waiter who was outstanding.The holiday was fab and we are going back next Christmas2014

Room Tip: Rooms 1000 are near the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first All Inclusive holiday and it won't be our last. The staff here are all so friendly, helpful and efficient.

I was a bit worried that as budget holiday people we may feel like the poor relatives, but that is not the case. I did take a couple of posh frocks but I really didn't need to get dolled up as it is more smart casual than dressing for dinner. Phew.

The food was very good, lots of choice with local and European food. This had been my biggest concern when booking, I like to eat local food and was worried that everything would be bland, stodgy and boring at the hotel but this was not the case. There was something for everyone at every meal, steak, chicken, lamb, vegetarian options, fantastic salads, and of course Tagine. The bread was truly amazing. On Sunday there was a champagne breakfast.

The room was clean and spacious, beds comfortable and we looked forward to seeing what swan towel we would have each day. The option of having heating on was welcome as the nights were chilly and there was frost on the ground most mornings.

If you go in the winter take a coat for the evenings as you may have to walk a fair way from your room to the main hotel and it can be chilly.

We went on a number of trips and also into Marrakesh on the courtesy bus so really did not take full advantage of all the hotel offered. The outdoor pool was cold so not many swam there, but it was warm enough to sunbathe most days. The indoor pool looked lovely but never used it or the gym, despite good intentions.

This hotel and holiday offers something for everyone. If all you want to do is eat, drink, relax, swim and sunbathe, you would be happy. For the health concious there was lots of lovely healthy food and opportunities to exercise. For the adventurous, plenty of good trips are available from the hotel. One young couple we met had booked a 3 day trip to the Sahara independently for a lot less than the tour operator trips, and loved it.

As we were very lazy we booked with the tour operator and possibly could have got better prices elsewhere, and with one exception thoroughly enjoyed them. the one we were not happy with was the one visiting the Kasbahs. It was too long, from 7am to 7pm, and you really didn't visit many Kasbahs and everyone on the trip agreed we got little cultural experience. We joked about it being a drive, stop, ordered to take a photo and leave experience. We advised Thomsons that they would be wise to review offering this trip. Food on both the all day trips was good.

Once we got used to the hassle of the Souks etc we just fell in love with Marrakesh. It is so different to anywhere we have ever been and is a bit overwhelming at first. Donkeys and buses and moped and bikes and taxis and cars and people crossing in between all of this chaos. Take note of all the warnings in previous reviews about snake charmers and henna tattoos and be aware that most people do not like to have their photo taken and those that do will expect to be paid. Take lots of change. And go into the Medina at night. The street food market is fantastic. the Cafe de France has a great terrace to watch all that is going on (including fights between snake charmers) coffee is cheap and the toilets are clean. We visited one of the herbalists and were almost duped into buying goods at over inflated prices from him. As he showed us his herbs and oils packets started to pile up on the counter (which we didn't ask for) and he totalled them up to 900 Dirhan. Fortunately I had programmed the exchange rate into my phone and knew this was about £66 which for anywhere is a very expensive pile of herbs and spices. We said no and he turned very unpleasant. Tip here is to say you have no cash of cards on you as he was very keen to get all his customers to pay by card. Even better take very little cash and no cards with you. You can always go back for that must have Argan oil another day.

The two day open bus trip is good value and a good way to see more of Marrakesh. We shared it with a number of noisy but well behaved football supporters from Brazil. The stop at the Jardin Marjorelle http://www.jardinmajorelle.com/ is a must. Check the bus times though as you could have a long wait.

My little (and they very minor) niggles about the hotel are:

The wifi signal was very weak. It seemed to be strongest near the bar area. Normally this would not be a problem, but I am a non smoker and this is the only public area where smoking was permitted.

RIU, please re think you smoking policy please.

And improve your wifi.

Shampoo/shower gel are in measly sachets, and we had to request additional ones (which were supplied very promptly). I was surprised that shampoo etc. is not supplied in dispensers. Not sure this meets the environmental standard they claim to meet.

Delays to check in the room on arrival. We were on a 7 am flight so had been awake since 3 am. We arrived at the hotel hungry and tired and in need of a shower. As three flights arrived at about the same time there was a long wait to check in on arrival at about 11.45 and rooms not available until between 1 and 2. It would have been better for the guests if the hotel could open the lunch facilities slightly earlier and let us all check in after lunch when rooms were ready. I also question why rooms were not available when the hotel was not full to capacity.

Totally confused about tipping policy. No staff hung around expecting a tip (good) especially after the hustling that goes on in the city. Guidance would be very useful.

As I said these are minor niggles.

Would we go again? At the price we paid definitely. Most people were there that week as it was a very good pre Christmas bargain. Some came the same week every year as they knew they would get sun and a good hotel at a very good price.

the overall experience was so good that I would definitely consider going to another RIU hotel. And now I know they are still a family business and not a faceless chain even more so. This makes me very happy and I get the impression that it is a good company to work for from all the staff I spoke to. Happy staff = Happy customers.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have private balconies, we were on the ground floor and never opened the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back from a christmas break for one week. As per the usual Riu brand ,cannot fault the staff,service,resort or food. The gym has good basic facilities to keep gym buffs ticking over the holiday. Just spoilt by a few chavs. No wifi though.The outdoor pool was freezing but the indoor pool is heated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.