We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #131 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here on a short break during the summer of 2010, the hotel had only been open a matter of months, but you would not of noticed, as every aspect of our stay was truly first class, from the first impressions when arriving at reception to the Hotel entertainment. The food was cooked fresh and catered for all nationalilities, The rooms were well equiped, and spacious, and the All inclusive aspects were exceptional, I can't speak highly enough of the resort. A++++

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,561
    908
    247
    58
    17
See reviews for
663
1521
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. We are a young couple aged 22 and have been on full board holudays but this was our first all inclusive.
The hotel was better than expected and looks exactly as it does in the photos which is rare! Staff give 100% friendly helpful service I had one of them running around trying to find me some string one evening. Food is lovely and the restaurant staff are excellent- not sure what a previous review is talking about! We were there for 2 weeks and cannot fault them. We ate in all 3 restaurants and all had varied option.
The pool is huge and there are hundreds of sunbeds- yes people get down there early but we were getting down there about 9.30 and got beds in the sun everyday.
The animation team made our holiday- very friendly and very funny our favourites were tarzan & redwane. They all were excellent though put alot into their shows. Plenty to do in the hotel the daily activities we mainly stuck to were darts, water aerobics and bingo.
As for location it is in middle of nowhere but we knew that when we booked it! We went on lots of excursions all of which were worth the money! As for the children everywhere, it really isnt that bad you get kuds everywhere if u dont like it go to an adults only hotel! One persons whole review was about the children causing havoc they were loud and everywhere but they wernt that bad. Maybe we just ignored it I dont know.
The rooms are huge and cleaned everyday, water restocked and towels changed. Beds are a bit hard but not unbearable.
The 11am checkout was bit of a pain but you get full use of the facilities until you leave the hotel. We did only get 30minutes in the evening for both of us to shower which was bit of a rush.
But we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and both agreed we could not have picked a better place for our honeymoon. We will definitly return here in the future. Very impressed & will use other riu hotels although they have a lot to live up to!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed at many Riu hotels in the past and this one was very disappointing. Being in our sixties we didn't appreciate the amount of kids running around out of control most of the time, it was very noisy around the pool area and nowhere just to sit quiet and relax and read a book. Food was OK but very repetitive, and even had to get your own cutlery at meal times. Rooms were large but very dark. Swimming pool water too cold to go in. We were on a 10 night stay and after 6 nights we both got a sickness and diarrhea bug. Had to get medicines from the local pharmacy but have still got it now and been home for 2 days! Will I be returning - NO.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

what an amazing experience we had, the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and worked very hard, we were even given recipes by the chef!
there was a great range of drinks all day long and we could have eaten at any time of the day, the food was hot, varied and plentiful and the food areas and dining room were spotless.
the grounds and communal areas were well kept and spacious.
overall it was a fab experience and i would happily return and will certainly be staying at riu hotels in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent a week in Riu Tikida in June 2012, this is a very nice hotel with a superb pool, had a problem with the room smelling on arrival but got the room changed the next morning. The food was very good Riu all inclusive is very good, the best I have had everything is included even fresh orange juice at breakfast. The three restuarants in this hotel are all very good and the choice of food excellent. This was our first stay in a Riu hotel it will not be our last. The hotel is a bit remote with nothing nearby but the shuttle bus soon gets you in to Marrakech although the last bus back is a bit too early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield. Derbyshire.England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We used the hotel as a base for four nights in Marrakech before moving down to the Riu
Palace in Agadir ( for those interested,there is a review of that hotel on another page.
Firstly, one point that seems to be overlooked elsewhere is that this hotel definitely offers a seaside experience in what is essentially a 'City Break' destination.Most city hotels are mundane places,high-rise and characterless.Not so here.The Palmeraie is a compact hotel built on two levels and set within beautifully sculptured gardens.Yes,it's isolated but there are a number of
daily shuttle buses which can be pre-booked subject to availability.These take approximately fifteen to twenty minutes travel time into central Marrakech.
The Hotel vestibule is quite airy but suffers from a sparsity of chairs and tables which can
lead to a bit of hovering in the evening when people want to relax.there is a central buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner which is varied enough for all to enjoy as long as you don't sample everything every night or the variety might dwindle and become repetitious.There is a
poolside 'italian' restaurant which caters for the daytime rush and an evening clientele with plenty of space both inside and out.The Moroccan Restaurant is actually more varied than
it's Agadir counterpart.Both are predominately buffet service with wine waiter back-up.
The rooms are all set in two storey blocks which are built around small quadrangles.
A five to ten minute recce will get you au fait with the hotel grounds layout.there are people to guide you on arrival,however the blocks could do with better signposting at the top of each pathway.All rooms are spacious,approximately 25-30' long.The bathroom area is more than adequate for most with separate bath / toilet facilities and hairdryer.The bed area is also comfortable with smallish T.V. which will give you Sky News / BBC 24 as a staple English speaking viewing.All plugs are the normal Two point circular European style 200/220 volts which are a bit haphazard in positioning.The balcony area is adequate at about 10' x 6'. Unfortunately the balcony wall precludes any view unless you stand.The balcony lighting is
centrally controlled by the hotel so you're limited to when you can have illumination for reading unless you own a back-lit kindle; a bit of a nuisance that could have been easily avoided.
The pool area is enormous and normally there's enough room for everyone to have a sunbed,working on the assumption that some people will always be touring at any given time.There's not much peace and tranquility because there aren't any sunbeds in the grounds,only around the pool...be warned.
The hotel is designed well for people with walking disabilities.Obviously request ground floor accommodation but otherwise everything throughout the complex buildings and grounds is very flat with ramps where necessary and a very caring attitude from all staff.
All in all,two weeks here might be stretching it but for a week in the sun or as part of a City - Beach twin centre is very enjoyable.Yes, there are niggles but these are acceptable in a 4* hotel.The reasoning behind my 5* rating is based on the overall experience and not just the facilities.....Just don't fall into the trap ( honestly !! ) of asking how far it was to the beach as poor tourist did on arrival.

Room Tip: Anyone with a mobility problem should e-mail ahead and request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute bargain holiday so for the price we paid, we can't complain too much.

The rooms are very large and clean, but as many others say, the beds are hard, the towels desperately need replacing, and we found the block quite noisy as we were next the the cleaners room. You really can hear every little noise, even from the rooms below.

The one thing really letting down the hotel is the lack of waiter service at meals. It wouldn't take much to be seated and offered a tea/coffee at breakfast or a drink with your evening dinner. The two speciality restaurants had waiter service but these are both also buffet food. Its such a shame as there is so much potential to make these a la carte restaurants. Overall the food was good and varied, though lunch was always hectic and didn't have enough tables to cater for everyone, and no poached eggs for breakfast!

If you are a sun worshipper, you have to be up early (no later than 7.30) to get a lounger where they'll be sun all day. We are early risers so this didn't bother us too much on the way to breakfast. What we did find crazy was people taking the pillow cushions back to their rooms each night (yes you fellow Brits).

Overall, we found this to be a nice enjoyable break but we wouldn't return unless some small improvements were made.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.