We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoilt, Tranquil break just 3 hours from London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unspoilt, Tranquil break just 3 hours from London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have only just come back from Marrakech and I am still feeling the relaxing benefits of our break.
We flew late out to our destination from gatwick but the restaurant and hotel staff stayed up for our arrival and we had drinks and dinner in the beautiful restaurant.
Every day was glorious sunshine and not too hot so would recommend October as a great time to go!! Flies are very pesky though so have some fly repellent to hand. However very few if no mossies!! The food was very delicious and catered to all tastes- particularly loved the omelette station at breakfast!! Watch out you WILL come back a stone heavier but it will all be worth it!
The staff are so friendly from the bar to the entertainment teams and actually remember you and I can't fault how hard they work.
The spa was fantastic I treated myself to a little massage and pedicure which was lovely and it is open until 7pm so you don't have to miss the sunshine hours!
Our room was massive for a twin so unless you NEED a junior suite I would say save your money by getting a twin room! Save your pennies for the souks in Marrakech! The shuttle bus is fantastic but make sure you are on time to be picked up in the square!! We visited the town in the day and night and I personally preferred the day time as there was a lot of caged animals at night and pretty crowded which can be a bit discomforting.
We were looked after our whole stay and felt like royalty I cannot wait to go back! Thank you all at Riu! Xxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,552
    902
    245
    57
    16
See reviews for
654
1515
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you' ve any doubts about this all inclusive hotel a few miles outside of the centre of Marrakech, just forget them, we stayed here in Sept for 2 weeks and had a fantastic holiday. This hotel is a modern complex yes, but it was a delight to contrast with Marrakechs bustling often grimy but nonetheless charming beating heart.

We had a large room with balcony, the pool is idyllic and huge, food fresh fresh and fresh! and varied options so u can pick at or pig our as you wish. Great bar options all included; isent that what holidays are for?!

We travelled with Thomson and it was reasonable and no hassle. There's stuff going on I the hotel but you can pick or choose whether to get involved to suit u.

Book it and go enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful time at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. The hotel is kept incredibly clean and the gardens are always being well tended. The selection of food produced each night and variety meant that I was never bored and the same goes for breakfast as well. The rooms were a lovely surprise, I was expecting them to be big judging by other reviewers photos but on arrival we found them to be bigger and far more comfortable than we could have hoped for. We were in room 1116 and had a completely private balcony and were far enough away from the main hub to not hear the music if we wanted a quiet night in the room. The staff are very attentive and will do all they can to please you. The swimming pool and sunbathing area was just as clean and spacious as we had hoped for. Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked there was always free sunbeds to find and often to save you walking, the pool staff would point you in the direction of free beds.

The only draw back of the hotel is that there is no where within walking distance to visit. However, the free shuttle bus service the hotel provides is perfect and when you have spent a day walking through the souks or in a 4x4 touring the Atlas mountains, the hotel is the perfect retreat to welcome you back at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, balcony. The ground level rooms have no wall to stop them from flowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a lovely place, biggest pool I've ever seen at a hotel. Well laid out resort with lovely gardens. Food plentiful and readily available although the Moroccan restaurant was a little disappointing. Quite a few trips are organised - the quad biking was really good fun. Plenty of activities always going on and good entertainment every night although they only have one weeks worth so if you stay for two weeks you see everything twice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My Sister and i just returned from a week at Riu Tikada Palmeraie. We booked last minute and were on a tight budget so opted for our first All Inclusive. A little apprehensive but have to say we were very pleasantly surprised. We could not fault the hotel at all. It is the perfect peaceful oasis just outside a very chaotic, noisy, smelly and hot city (that said we absolutely loved the place!) We were advised by friends that staying in a Riad was the only way to do it but so glad we stayed in this hotel. Although we loved the Medina/Souks it's certainly not for the faint hearted and we were glad to escape after spending a few hours there at a time. Were looking for somewhere we could relax and include a bit of culture and we certainly got that at Tikada Palmeraie. We were looked after from the minute we stepped off the coach. Stacey and Ahmed our reps were great and really helpful and put us at ease being two blonde girls going out on our own. The staff in the hotel were exceptional, unfortunately we weren't sure what the norm was on tipping and didn't tip as much as we wanted to and as all the staff were so good it was hard to know who to give it to. Shame there are no 'tip boxes' located around the hotel.

As I said we couldn't really fault the hotel at all, but if we had to pick things then we were a little disappointed that we had a dark and dingy terrace (4045) which hardly saw the sun and no view. As we were hardly in our room this wasn't really a problem. Also, we did find the cleaning staff in the rooms to be very noisy and starting very early in the morning. I spent a day in bed with a migraine and the screeching furniture and slamming doors went on nearly all day, didn't help that our room was next to the cleaning room!! Our other biggest gripe was the issue of reserving sunbeds. This really is a big problem. We found ourselves having to set an alarm just to get up at 8am to get a sun bed, not really what you want on holiday. By 9am just about every bed had a towel or bag on it and some remained that way until midday. Most of us probably don't like doing it but you have to because the trend has been set and you stand no chance if you don't do it. There are signs around asking people not to do this but the hotel really need to take stronger action. Also agree with the previous comments that topless sunbathing isn't really appropriate (not at all against it normally) the irony of a topless lady guest only a few beds away from a muslim lady in a headscarf and full dress just seemed wrong.

We ate twice in the Morrocan restaurant and once in the Italian. Both more peaceful and ambient than the main 'canteen style' dining hall although the food not much different.

We had a Hamman & Massage in the hotel spa which was lovely, but be warned they expect you to be completely naked. I wasn't expecting this, especially as they told us to go in swimwear but then was asked to take it off. My face must have been a picture a she laughed at me and handed me a pair of the skimpiest paper knickers! Massage wasn't anything amazing but the sauna and scrub down were a great prep for the tan.

Highly recommend paying 500dm (£39) to extend your checkout to 6pm otherwise you are given a 30min slot in the gym shower which can be at anytime during the day depending what time they give you. you need to check availability at 9am on the day before your departure day to extend your room.

Out and about, the souks are great fun and we enjoyed the shopping, however as I said earlier, not for the faint hearted and I think being 2 women we got hassled a lot more than most. One day we got horribly lost and found ourselves quite a way out of the souks and no idea how to get get back (non of the streets have names on them) we did find this a little stressful and we were lost for nearly half an hour. Didn't help that we were sucked in by a group of young men who told us a road was banned to women as it led to the mosque and literally dragged us out then insisted they led us another route and then demanded money. When we wouldn't give them any they became quite aggressive which was a little unnerving. Just be warned!

All in all a fabulous holiday though and definitely won't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting a good mix of relaxation and culture, you can do as much or little as you like. Book it and enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony and a view ask for a first floor room. Rooms surrounding the pool are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Riu Tikida Palmeraie
My husband and I spent 11 nights at the resort from 3rd October to 14th October 2014, travelling with Thomson/First Choice.
The flight was good and on time, just a short 3.5 hour flight from Gatwick.
We were met promptly and professionally by the rep and found our way to transfer coaches. Considering there was also a plane just landed from Manchester at the same time everything went smoothly & quickly.
Arrival into the hotels was lovely and the entrance lobby / reception gave a very good first impression as did the friendly staff who offered a welcome drink and ushered us to the dining room where a full selection of meals and drinks was available at 11pm in the evening.
Our room was 4153 some distance from reception etc, but having emailed ahead we were pleased to have received a complimentary bottle of French brut champagne and a room on the first floor.
The room was on the whole okay – regrettably our air con’ didn’t work and despite two requests to reception it was not fixed, however we ‘made do’ with the ceiling fan. Cleanliness was okay but would agree that the some areas are begin to get worn – towels and bed linen for example. The beds too were very hard and probably the worst I have experienced (even with a topper!).
The room was also very noisy on some occasions – you can hear toilets being flushed & furniture scrapping on the floors - if our air con worked I think this would have helped to drown out some of the noise – never mind!
The pool was lovely, yes cold at first, but once you get in it is lovely, clean & refreshing. Lots of activities going on to one side of the pool if you wanted to join in and a pool house where for a small deposit you can hire tennis racket, board games etc. They also have a good library of books to loan at no cost
The food was good; we never got bored, even after 11 nights. We ate at both speciality restaurants and preferred the Italian, maybe not for its food but for the somewhat quieter and more private setting and it was nice to have wine brought to your table rather than grabbing a glass “canteen style” as my Husband put it in the main buffet restaurant.
Alcoholic beverages were fine – certainly large measures of what ever your favourite tipple may be – I had to ask the barmen to make mine ‘small’ as I was struggling a little bit & they were only too happy to oblige and I was soon known by the barmen who remembered how I liked my rum ‘n’ coke!
As previous reviewers have stated all of the staff at the hotel are very professional and friendly. Even the maid who spoke no English was very helpful when we returned from the pool one afternoon to find our key card had stopped working. Tip – do not place your key card in your handbag against your mobile phone or camera as reception informed us this is the reason that the cards stop working.
The shuttle bus into the Old Town was very convenient – even though it broke down twice! Thankfully both times within walking distance of the hotel so not a big problem.
The weather whilst we were there was excellent 28 to 30C each day.
P.S. – You can change your Moroccan money back to £’s at reception before departure despite what the reps tell you!

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room & email ahead to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have travelled to lots of destinations around the world the TIKIDA PALMERAIE is exceptional I have to this hotel when it first opened three years ago it was fantastic then I have just come back on the 18th October 2013 the hotel on any holiday makes ones holiday especially when you have excellent service from management and the staff the rooms the food is fantastic Pablo is the general manager at this hotel there is one member of staff who is outstanding there is name is Khalid what a lovely person he looked after me and my friends very attentive you will after visit this hotel you will not be disappointed lots to do in Marrakech and also the TIU rep Stacey was always on hand to if ever you needed her it all addes to your holiday and to you having a good experience we are going again next year

Room Tip: all the rooms are spacious and of good quality being disabled I requested a ground floor room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.