We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
paignton devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived late at night to be given a welcoming drink and asked if we would like to go to the restaurant for a bite to eat and to then book in.Our bags were then taken to our room. We found our room quite quickly as there are security people around the grounds ( don't know why as we never saw any trouble).
we had a first floor room which was large and very clean ( I always check the beds etc when I get in the room)There is a sitting area which can be used as a day bed.
Yes the mattresses are a little hard but if you go to reception and ask then you can have a mattress topper put on your bed, more pillows are also available just ask.
The main restaurant is busy but just have patience for goodness sake your on holiday.Some waiters will ask if you would like a drink bought over and if you do they will continue getting them for you, if however you would rather get your own that's no problem either.The main restaurant is buffet style but the waiting personal will help anyone in need of any help. The chefs will also try to prepare anything that you wish to have if they possibly can.
We struggled a little as we don't eat beef or fish but there is always something to be found wether it's pizza or pasta. The desserts are fancy and don't always taste as you think, but try and if you don't like then just leave it no-one will say anything to you.
We found both the Italian and Moroccan a little disappointing but try for yourself ( at least they try ).
The manager and assistant manager can be seen around the grounds and even eating in the restaurants along side the guests.The head chefs are always checking that everything is fine and as I have already said they will try to find you something to eat even if it isn't on the menu.
The receptionist can't do enough for you and no request is ignored ( they even offered to send a staff member to get something from the supermarket rather than let us have to walk there even though it's only down the road).
You don't need to book a late room as they will let you shower in the inside pool and even give you towels or shower gel etc, so save yourself some money.
The animation team although of various nationalities try extremely hard to get everyone to have a good time. You are not made to do anything you don't want too but just relax and try to join in.
Sorry this is such a long review but when something is good then it should be told.
All in all go there and enjoy

Room Tip: If you are offered room 4128 ask for another as this next door to the cleaners room and they start a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    1,057
    283
    66
    22
See reviews for
771
1,732
26
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm re-posting this review as trip advisor removed it thinking it was for the wrong hotel but this is 100% for the Riu Palmeraie in Marrakech.

Well I'm writing this review while currently sitting in another Riu hotel in Agadir this time... and its only really in hindsight that I realise how average / poor it really was.

Firstly its miles out on its own just off a main road. Dont think about popping out of the hotel to walk to get anything as there is nothing for miles (Ok a petrol station about 300m towards the city but thats it). Not the end of the world if the hotel was perfect... which it isn't.

We booked with Thomson for our honeymoon so part of the blame should be with them and I'm not normally someone who expects something for nothing... but a honeymoon is perhaps the one time you'd like to be pampered. Despite telling Thomson this was a honeymoon there was no record of this at the hotel or with the Thomson reps. Whether or not this would have meant we got a nice room or not, I'm not sure.

The room was 5025, which was quite a walk from reception, past the pool and out back, looking at the tennis courts. The room itself was dark and cold and the fittings had seen their best days many years ago. Stains on the lamp shades and sofa cushions, electrics that worked one minute and not the next, paper thin walls and ceiling so you could hear every move your neighbours were making. I complained to reception after the first night and they said they would fix the room as they didn't have any others. The room wasn't fixed but to be fair we did get some petals on the bed and some champagne.... the champagne helped us forget about the crap room for a few minutes which was nice. In general though the room was not a nice place to spend any time what so ever.

The aircon / heating ONLY blew out freezing air even though I switched it to heat mode and asked reception to fix it, so that wasn't great either.

The pool area was ok although the swimming pool was also freezing cold.

Staff were all friendly and although I never tried one of the girly cocktails, the local free beer (from a can) was perfectly drinkable. (Wife now says she was 'indifferent' to the cocktails)

Food was hit and miss... the main restaurant was actually better than I was expecting and we filled ourselves up there quite happily. Some dishes were a bit tasteless but on a mass scale like that it wasn't bad.

The italian was the worst.... OH MY WORD... what an embarrassment. They need to shut that place down. I couldn't eat a single thing and we both left laughing with disbelief that you actually had to book this place in advance like it was a special occasion!

The Moroccan was ok but only the same stuff that you get in the main restaurant anyway so also felt like a waste of time.

Its a shame as they could do so much with it to make it nice and actually style the rooms nicer... but they are just massive brightly lit rooms with zero atmosphere.

Another sub standard thing was the wifi. Now I know people do'nt go on holiday to sit and surf the web but come on... this is 2013 and even most travelodge's in the UK can get wifi in the hotel room (ok...at a cost... but it works!)... The free wifi was only in the main reception area and its so poorly set up using 5 different base stations all named differently. In the mornings you could connect and just about send an email, but past lunch time and in the evening with a load more people in there and there was no chance. I'm not an idiot with computers and I tried on my macbook, ipad and iphone and none would connect. Simply not good enough.

Another down side I've just remembered. We had 2 single beds pushed together. Thanks Thomson and Riu! Just what we wanted on a honeymoon. I was sort of willing to accept maybe it was just a result of being in a different country and thats how things were done, but here in Agadir in another Riu (a nice one this time) and we have a MASSIVE double bed in the nicest room!

I'm trying to think of some positives...

The room was cleaned daily to a good standard
All the staff were friendly and greeted you as you were walking around the hotel
Hotel common areas and grounds were clean and well kept
The pool area was also very clean and well maintained.

As nice as it is writing some positive things above, to be honest they are what you expect in a place like this so it hardly makes up for all the negatives.

The only truly positive memories from this section of our honeymoon is Marrakech itself. The city is fun and vibrant and I'd go back... but never in a million years to this hotel.

Its hard to believe the hotel I'm in now is run by the same company. I'll write my review on this place in a few days but its already miles better. The hotel I'm in now by the way is the Riu Palace in Agadir.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As most of the reviewers have already said, the place is a little paradise. Huge pool, brilliant food, nice drinks (don't expect any premium brands though) excellent service, nice, spacious and clean rooms.
Two or three things to point out: mattress and pillows need to be replaced, they are old and already too soft, woke up every day with stiff neck.
Already knew there was no internet in the rooms, which was not a problem because most of the time you are outside. But they tell you there's internet in the lobby area, well, good luck with that. It's almost impossible to go online, especially when everybody is trying at the same time (late evening). Coffee and tea facilities in the room would be nice, as all the rooms have a nice balcony with a view, and sometimes you feel like sitting there with something to drink and it is a bit of a trek from the rooms to where they serve drinks and food.
Definitely a place I would stay again though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

An amazing place very relaxing made perfect by the ever attentive staff. Nothing is a problem and whilst its not walkable to the Medina there is a free shuttle bus or simply a taxi for 10 euro for 4 less in a smaller car.
The food is a joy with everything possible to enjoy and even though the big storm hit and the hotel flooded the staff literally rolled their trousers up smiled and got on with it. Next day you wouldn't have known
Great place will be back

Room Tip: All rooms overlook gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here in Sept 2013. The hotel is amazing and the staff are fantastic.

Rooms: large spacious and airy. Beds and a sofa, large wardrobes and a TV with English channels if the need takes you. All the rooms are away from the main block and so are peaceful, although this also meant the it was a bit if a trek to get from our room to anywhere. The cleaners constantly topped up our bottled water supply.

Cleanliness: summed up in one word...outstanding

Staff: from the concierge going to find a chemist for me on a Sunday to a member of staff giving me a lift to the shops nothing was to much trouble.

Pool: much has been said about this, it was slightly chilly to get in to, but wonderful once you were in. We had no problems finding sun loungers even though we went out about eleven each morning.


Food: plenty of food, good quality and a fair degree of variety. I'm a fussy eater but found plenty to eat.

Overall: A brilliant week, with great people in a wonderful place....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Palmeraie for a week from 16th September and we had a fantastic time.

After a bit of a long wait at the airport (be warned, you will be at passport control for over an hour!) we arrived at the hotel at close to half 10. Even though it was late, a welcome drink was handed on arrival and we was whisked straight into a dinner service. Check in was quick and painless. I would advise you change your sterling into Dirhams at the hotel. Whilst I didn't compare the rates to the airport (where we changed our money up) there is a very long queue at the airport and you will save yourself some time.

The complex is very large meaning a bit of a trek to the room especially around unfamiliar winding paths in the darkness, that said there are plenty of security staff around at night who are more than happy to assist. The room itself was spacious including a balcony or a patio depending on what floor you're on. The bathroom was an adequate size and the television had BBC1 and ITV. The room was very clean and the maid service was wonderful, often leaving swan sculptures made of towels with flowers on them. 2 large bottles of water were left every day too and a fridge and a free safe we're also included. The beds were a little too hard for my fiancé however i had no issue with them

The pool was large if very very cold!! However once you get yourself under it is a welcome relief from the hot sun. Beds are always available however the prime spots are taken early.

Food was buffet fayre but it was nice. Staying all inclusive you should not expect La Gavroche however you do expect certain standards and I was happy that my standards at least we're met. There are 2 speciality restaurants, Italian and Moroccan. These are also buffet style but again are nice. You do get some of the same dishes as in the regular service however they are worthy of a visit especially as they are of no extra cost.

Bars are ok, with local grog thrown in. The alcohol content isn't near European average but I see this as a good thing. It means everyone can have a good time whilst not getting obliterated. The drinks are nice though. Soft drinks are all the usual coca cola brands. There are a few wasps and flies around the outside bars, as there are a lot of syrupy drinks being stored. The flies can be bothersome at times.

Entertainment is good. It's not going to be worthy of the Royal Variety Show but the Animation Team work very very hard and do a good job at keeping everyone entertained at the same time they are not pushy if you do not want to join in. The evening shows are quite Butlins but that isn't a bad thing. Audience Participation night and African Heartbeat were the better shows. Everything shuts down at 12 though so there isn't anything to do after that.

Late checkout is offered but we didn't take it up. There is a luggage room and a free half hour stint in a courtesy room is offered for a freshen up before the flight which I thought was a nice touch.

Overall a very enjoyable stay especially if you just want a week away to chill, with a little fun thrown in.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My title pretty much says it all...'nice hotel' nothing special but really nothing to fault.
Having flown into Agadir as part of a twin centre package we didn't arrive till 5am & the check in was faultless and swift assistance with bags to the room. The staff are fantastic, we travelled with our 2year old son & they made such a fuss over him he just loved them. The pool area is lovely & clean and although the pool itself is freezing you do get used to it. As with most All Inclusives the food does get a bit samey and the 'specialist' restaurants are also buffet style and actually serve similar food to the main restaurant so bit pointless. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are huge and the walk to and from the main areas is very well kept and nice bit of exercise. The room fridge is only stocked with water though! The free shuttle service to the main square in Marakesh is fantastic and we made plenty of use of it with no restrictions. The souks are well worth a visit with some great bargains to be had ;-)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.