We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good hotel (not perfect)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overall very good hotel (not perfect)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I must say I had high expectations of this hotel (being a RIU) and was not disappointed. There were however a few little things that stopped this hotel getting a five* rating but overall a good hotel.

Pros
Our holiday to Morocco got off to a bad start as the airport was disorganised, resulting in much queue jumping and an hour and a half wait to get through immigration. We then missed our transfer but when we got to the hotel they ushered us in, gave us a welcome drink and said to leave our bags and get some food. What a lovely welcome.

When we got to our room we noticed it had only been set up for two (there was three of us travelling) so the porter arranged linen to be brought up. This was quickly remedied but the whole holiday it was clear that we were in a two person room as we only got two towels, two glasses etc.

The hotel rooms, furnishings and facilities were to a very high standard and the hotel grounds are really lovely.

There is good choice in food, Moroccan restaurant is lovely.

Lots of indoor spaces for when too hot, free WIFI etc

The lovely pool

On the whole - high service standards- lovely wine waitor in the italian restuarant and the waitress in the moroccan resturant were exceptional.

Entertainment team friendly and had a good programme of day time activities.

Staff are amazing with children!

Courtesy bus to the souk

Cons
Evening entertainment was very hit and miss. Nothing to do after 12.

Would have liked more imported alcohol

Some staff members not very helpful and friendly. We complained about our room (see above) and did not even get an apology. Also our sun canopy (over our sunbeds) was taken for washing whilst we were using it - we weren't asked if we minded. However we did complain and found it was replaced quickly.

You have to get up at 6.30 to get a decent sunbed. There are enough for everyone but you have to set your alarm to get one with some shade.

Overall a good hotel. Ambiance is lovely - this is a real family hotel and the other holiday makers (mainly British and French) really do make the place. However sometimes experienced rude service at the bar, being served last, being blanked etc, not sure if this is due to being three women travelling alone. This seemed to depend on what bar staff were on - other bar staff were lovely and friendly so does not apply to all of them.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,560
    904
    246
    58
    17
See reviews for
659
1520
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Avoid if one or more of the following applies to you:

You must have hovis bread, lurpak and Heinz beans.

You don't like frogs or cats

You want to have a lively holiday

You don't like being in temperatures over 30 degrees

You don't like being in huge, clean, dimly lit rooms.

You don't like being confronted by extremely friendly staff waiting on everything you could want.

You don't like having the relief of getting out of the heat and going into a huge, clean coldish pool

If none of these do apply to you, go there, it's a beautiful relaxing oasis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

went there in may & it was so good we have booked up again for November, staff were so helpfull & friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Food = lots of choice.and different every day.entertainment of an evening was laid back by the pool and bar staff were happy to bring your drinks to your table.

Room Tip: go for a room near the pool - its closed in the evening but handy for everything going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went here in April for a week. A lovely place, friendly staff, lovely food, staff that could not do enough to help. As 2 girls holidaying we did find that some of the bar staff were reluctant to serve us alcohol and would serve every other person before us. Not a massive problem, just their believes which we respected.

Pool area was lovely, massive pool with plenty of loungers. We did find people would get up before sun rise to reserve beds but we always found beds together.

We loved the hotel cats and kittens and found out that they are well looked after with a vet visiting regularly and hotel staff feed the cats. They are very friendly and love to be fussed.

Food was always good and plenty of it. Bit samey sometimes but we are not fussy and the quality was good so it did not matter.

The only disappointment for us were the cocktails which were watery and very weak, although the beer was good.

Our room was perfect, lovely and clean. The maids really do work hard keeping the rooms clean and we left a big tip for ours as she done a brilliant job every day. Shower was powerful and the bath was perfect to relax in.

All in all a wonderful holiday to relax. Take advantage of the free shuttle bus into Marrakech, an excellent experience. We will definitely be visiting in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just came back today (Tuesday 27 August 2013).

Beautifully kept grounds, pool area, bars, restaurants, and rooms.

Large pool with pool bar located in the middle, generally plenty of sunbeds, however don't leave it too late, as some people are a little anal and reserve beds as early as 4 am in the morning!!!

3 choices of reastaurant, main restaurant, Italian and Morroccan ( buffet style ).
Good service generally and large selection of good quality food ( there was not much I tried that I did not like! ).

A special thank you to Mohammed Amm, the waiter who served us towards the latter part of our stay. He understands the whole concept of good customer service, extremely attentive and service with a smile. I hope the manager realises how good he is, he helped to make our holiday!!

Bedroom accommadation large spacious and well presented.
Maid service excellent, rooms cleaned thoroughly, with plentiful supply of towels.
Negative, beds like bullets, rock hard and even after requesting another mattress, still struggled sleeping half the time.

Reception we found generally very helpful.

Bars sometimes the service was not so good and we feel the pool bars ( particularly the one by the table tennis ) let down the whole hotel down, service hit and miss, sometimes good sometimes bad, I personally didn't like going to get drinks there, I felt at times I was just a nuisance especially when I was served by Asil. Surly in manner and attitude!

Mnager of the hotel very pleasant and hands on.

Nice touch keeping restaurant open for arrivals, so as soon as you arrived you were whisked into the restaurant to help yourself to the buffet.

Also appreciated free shuttle bus into town, not everyone supplies this!

Thompson rep Stacey brilliant, helpful and attentive!

Excursions we would recommend, The Atlas Mountains, really enjoyable day.
Convoy of 4 x 4 head up into the mountains, stop off to visit a ceramics factory,( don't purchase ceramics here much cheaper in the Souks ) Berber village where you enjoy a tea ceremony with a family and have a meal at a restaurant (meal very good I thought ).

Souks you go into town and wander round a maze of alleyways and shops, visit a pharmacy, where you can buy oils, soaps etc at reasonable prices and in the Souks you can purchase leather goods, decorative lanterns, bracelets, food drink, spices etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just came back after spending an amazing 14 nights at this hotel would recommend anyone going to Marrakech to stay here, staff are amazing could do enough for you, the animation team superb keep everyone entertained and get guest involved in everything, will defo be going back and cannot wait, oh just one more thing when going to bed the frogs are also amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a 5 night holiday. The hotel is lovely and perfect for a week of relaxation. The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The staff at the hotel worked very hard and made sure everyone was well looked after.

The food was plentiful but I would say that the queues in the main restaurant for food were sometimes a little bit ridiculous. The Moroccan restaurant was very good, the Italian not so good.

We used the shuttle bus to go into the city and it was delayed because there was a fault on the bus. The communication surrounding this was not very good and no one had any idea whether another bus was coming or not.

The only problem I have with the hotel is the amount of smoking that goes on in the hotel lobby and bar areas. For a non-smoker it was extremely off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.