We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern all-inclusive hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern all-inclusive hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Clubhotel RIU Tikida Palmeriae for one week on our first visit to Marrakech. On arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the customer service during check-in and were very pleased to find that the hotel had fulfilled our request of a mountain-view room.

The weather was extremely warm whilst we were there (temperatures reached a maximum of 56 °C) and the huge swimming pool was a great relief from the temperature outside. Even though many people also found relief in the hotel swimming pool it was plenty big enough for everyone. There was also ample shade around the pool to be able to keep out from the sun.

The gardens are a delight to walk around when the sun has gone down and it is clear to see that the gardeners work extremely hard to keep the grass and exotic plants lush and green.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food at the hotel and especially enjoyed tasting the wide variety of local cuisine in the Moroccan restaurant; it is definitely worth at least one visit during your stay. The drinks were better than we expected for an all-inclusive holiday with a wide choice of cocktails and spirits on offer.

We used the complimentary shuttle bus to visit the Marrakech medina once during our visit. There are plenty of spaces on this large, modern, well air-conditioned coach however it is necessary to book a day before you wish to use it with reception. It takes approximately 20 minutes to get into the medina but it is well worth the visit to see the Koutoubia mosque, Jemaa el Fna and Souks.

The only downside for us was that this hotel seems to cater mostly to families with children. Which was not what we were looking for, however if you are looking for a family friendly hotel they seemed to have lots organised for children to take part in and the staff were very attentive to children.

Room Tip: Request a room to suit your requirements before you go and the hotel will do everything they can to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,560
    904
    246
    58
    17
See reviews for
659
1520
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family - husband and 2 girls aged 4 and 7 visited this hotel 29th July for a week. Great transfers and immediately felt welcome. The staff were an asset to this hotel (I have spent a lot of time visiting Eygpt & Tunisia where smiles are getting harder to come by) but the staff here were friendly, hard-working and made every effort to give us what we wanted. This at a time when they are experiencing Ramadan and not not drinking or eating from dawn til dusk in 48 degree heat - deserves a mention. The manager and all his team leaders were introduced to guests - something I had't experienced before but I thought was a a lovely touch. The young manager is clearly doing an incredibly good job. The hotel itself is gorgeous, the food was amazing and the large pool was fabulous. The down-side was only the annoying necessity of having to get up early to get a bed by the pool - but we did visit at a very busy time - this is no way a criticsim of the hotel. The cool water of the lovely pool was necessary in the heat - the pool has many shelves around the edge - perfect for lying on, as long as the kids will let you. I've never been one to shove my kids off to the Kid's Clubs but to be honest, the club was so relaxed and predominately English/French that my kids wanted to go. A litter of kittens recently born was the final straw for me - I may move there.

Room Tip: I emailed to ask for ground floor and in quiet location. I was given what I requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the minute we stepped off the coach from the airport until the day we went. Family friendly holiday, staff great with the kids, took good care of them in the kids club, one child 4 the other 9 both couldn't wait to join the fun activities put on daily and the evening entertainment. Hotel clean and although was quite full, it didn't appear crowded. Plenty of sun-loungers whatever time you got to the pool, and various activities for anyone feeling energetic, going on most of the day. Good selection of food and drink. The Moroccan restaurant was really good, although you could get very similar choice of food in the main restaurant as served in the Italian restaurant. Restaurants very clean and staff very friendly. Free shuttle bus in and out of Marrakech at set times, don't get tricked into going with a guide, even if they tell you they are from the hotel, unless you've gone on a guided tour, no guide accompanies you on the shuttle bus. Marrakech for all the pre warnings of the hassle to expect, we had no problems walking around the souks and a firm no when we weren't interested in a taxi or items for sale, meant we were then left alone to wander and enjoy this fascinating city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel clean and spacious. Gardens vast and well tended. Excellent selection of food & drinks and all plentiful. Hotel staff friendly, polite and eager to respond to guests requests.
Hotel operates a free shuttle bus service which is extremely handy as location of hotel is approx 20 minutes from centre of Marrakech.

Only criticism .... hotel guests reserving their pool loungers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just spent two enjoyable weeks at the ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie in Marrakech. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The excessive gardens surrounding the complex was wonderful, so very green with palm trees and beautiful plants. The huge pool was an added bonus to the wonderful surroundings. There was a vast selection of food & drinks which was of high quality and plentiful. Hotel staff worked hard to ensure guests were well looked after.
Unfortunately, the only downside was the hotel guests getting up in the middle of the night to reserve their loungers by putting their towels on the pool loungers. If you are a late riser, for instance if you tried to get a pool lounger at 8 a.m. you were way too late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just got back from an amazing week at the Tikida palmeraie! I have been to Marrakech before and stayed in the Riu Tikida Garden which was a fabulous hotel but as the pool was quite small we decided to book the Palmeraie instead as the pictures of the pool sold it to us!
We were not disappointed on arrival with a welcome drink and dinner waiting, and after checking in our luggage went off to our room and we took a leisurely stroll over (via the bar!) there were numerous staff members waiting outside to show us to our rooms (it was dark and the complex itself is massive!)
The rooms are huge and the air conditioning a welcome relief after a day by the pool.
The pool is a large infinity pool and there are plenty of sunbeds (although it can be a struggle to get one with a shade, they are pretty much all gone by 9am!) The pool attendants are always around and will help find you a sunbed and somewhere to sit!
The food was lovely and there is plenty of choice, a visit to the Moroccan restaurant is a definite (Book with the head waiter!). There is also an Italian restaurant which was nice but not quite as amazing as the Moroccan!
With 4 different bars and 3 restaurants you could always find somewhere you wanted to be, smoking is allowed in most places around the hotel which I found to be the only negative.
The animation team try very hard, I will take my hat off to them for the effort and hours they put in, I would have liked to have seen a bit more live entertainment maybe singers, bands and acts in the main theatre bar of an evening.

Make sure you get out and about and see the real Marrakech, a guide book and some haggling with the taxi's will get you to all the sites! Most of the sites in Marrakech have very small entrance fees, 10/20 diramhs.

Overall and amazing hotel with fabulous staff that really looked after us!
We have even looked at booking up for next year and we only got back yesterday!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 25th July until 29th July. The hotel is located outside of town and there is not much around the immediate vicinity. The hotel is a large sprawling complex and has a large number of rooms. On arrival we were offered a drink and could eat something as the restaurant had been left open for the arriving guests. We weren't hungry but this was a nice touch. The rooms are clean and spacious with everything you need. The grounds are amazing with lush palm trees and beautiful plants. Every day we saw people tending to the gardens and they really do keep it looking superb. The hotel has a few different restaurants mainly buffet style and the food is good. We didn't go in the Italian restaurant as people said it wasn't worth it. We did go to the Moroccan though but were disappointed to find that it wasn't table service. It was basically just another buffet room serving only Moroccan food. It would be better to make these table service so it makes it more of an occasion.

There are lots of activities offered by the entertainment team if you are interested, however they do leave you alone if you are not fussed. The pool area is very good and we didn't have any major issues getting sunbeds. Staff were in fact removing towels from sunbeds that had been left for hours on end and not been used and this was good to see. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Marrakech which is good but don't be late at the pick-up time as they don't hang around. Wifi is provided in the hotel lobby although you will need to try several times to get a connection as even though there are several different routers, trying to get a connection is very difficult. This is something that needs to be improved. There is a wide range of drinks and cocktails on offer including international brands. All in all a good hotel and a good base for visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, we were in block 1 on the ar side and away form the croaking toads as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.