We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel clean and spacious. Gardens vast and well tended. Excellent selection of food & drinks and all plentiful. Hotel staff friendly, polite and eager to respond to guests requests.
Hotel operates a free shuttle bus service which is extremely handy as location of hotel is approx 20 minutes from centre of Marrakech.

Only criticism .... hotel guests reserving their pool loungers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,554
    901
    246
    58
    16
See reviews for
656
1518
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just spent two enjoyable weeks at the ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie in Marrakech. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The excessive gardens surrounding the complex was wonderful, so very green with palm trees and beautiful plants. The huge pool was an added bonus to the wonderful surroundings. There was a vast selection of food & drinks which was of high quality and plentiful. Hotel staff worked hard to ensure guests were well looked after.
Unfortunately, the only downside was the hotel guests getting up in the middle of the night to reserve their loungers by putting their towels on the pool loungers. If you are a late riser, for instance if you tried to get a pool lounger at 8 a.m. you were way too late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just got back from an amazing week at the Tikida palmeraie! I have been to Marrakech before and stayed in the Riu Tikida Garden which was a fabulous hotel but as the pool was quite small we decided to book the Palmeraie instead as the pictures of the pool sold it to us!
We were not disappointed on arrival with a welcome drink and dinner waiting, and after checking in our luggage went off to our room and we took a leisurely stroll over (via the bar!) there were numerous staff members waiting outside to show us to our rooms (it was dark and the complex itself is massive!)
The rooms are huge and the air conditioning a welcome relief after a day by the pool.
The pool is a large infinity pool and there are plenty of sunbeds (although it can be a struggle to get one with a shade, they are pretty much all gone by 9am!) The pool attendants are always around and will help find you a sunbed and somewhere to sit!
The food was lovely and there is plenty of choice, a visit to the Moroccan restaurant is a definite (Book with the head waiter!). There is also an Italian restaurant which was nice but not quite as amazing as the Moroccan!
With 4 different bars and 3 restaurants you could always find somewhere you wanted to be, smoking is allowed in most places around the hotel which I found to be the only negative.
The animation team try very hard, I will take my hat off to them for the effort and hours they put in, I would have liked to have seen a bit more live entertainment maybe singers, bands and acts in the main theatre bar of an evening.

Make sure you get out and about and see the real Marrakech, a guide book and some haggling with the taxi's will get you to all the sites! Most of the sites in Marrakech have very small entrance fees, 10/20 diramhs.

Overall and amazing hotel with fabulous staff that really looked after us!
We have even looked at booking up for next year and we only got back yesterday!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 25th July until 29th July. The hotel is located outside of town and there is not much around the immediate vicinity. The hotel is a large sprawling complex and has a large number of rooms. On arrival we were offered a drink and could eat something as the restaurant had been left open for the arriving guests. We weren't hungry but this was a nice touch. The rooms are clean and spacious with everything you need. The grounds are amazing with lush palm trees and beautiful plants. Every day we saw people tending to the gardens and they really do keep it looking superb. The hotel has a few different restaurants mainly buffet style and the food is good. We didn't go in the Italian restaurant as people said it wasn't worth it. We did go to the Moroccan though but were disappointed to find that it wasn't table service. It was basically just another buffet room serving only Moroccan food. It would be better to make these table service so it makes it more of an occasion.

There are lots of activities offered by the entertainment team if you are interested, however they do leave you alone if you are not fussed. The pool area is very good and we didn't have any major issues getting sunbeds. Staff were in fact removing towels from sunbeds that had been left for hours on end and not been used and this was good to see. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Marrakech which is good but don't be late at the pick-up time as they don't hang around. Wifi is provided in the hotel lobby although you will need to try several times to get a connection as even though there are several different routers, trying to get a connection is very difficult. This is something that needs to be improved. There is a wide range of drinks and cocktails on offer including international brands. All in all a good hotel and a good base for visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, we were in block 1 on the ar side and away form the croaking toads as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I believe in being fair and honest as this helps both the hotel to make changes (if necessary) and other potential visitors.
We, (two adults and three children) were there the first two weeks in August and we all had a great time.
The staff at the hotel are worth their weight in gold. We have never been made to feel more welcome anywhere, absolutely outstanding service by everyone who worked at the hotel.. You'll also find if you try to speak some french that they'll be appreciative The animation team were also fab, they try to get you involved but if you dont want to be then they'll leave you be to enjoy your holiday. My kids loved the animation team, they made them and all the kids feel special at all times.

I felt sorry for the poor cats/kittens who were being manhandled by children who were not controlled by their parents. Saying that, the animals were well looked after by the hotel staff.

The animation team put on a different show every night and considering they're not professional dancers etc. these shows were great, There was a DJ and you could ask him to play whatever music you wanted, so there was enough dancing to be had until midnight.

Drinks were fab with a large choice of beers/wines/cocktails - drinks were a plenty with no resticitions.

When we went it was Ramadan where there was no eating/drinking or smoking from sunrise to sunset. YOu would not know from the way you were treated by the staff or the Moroccan people in general as you were treated so well at all times. We went to the Souks and people there were so helpful and friendly, not everyone is trying to rip you off as per a previous comment I read.

Finally, I would like to thank the Thomson rep's at the hotel Stacey and Mohammed (I think is the right names). They were so helpful, friendly and informative at all times when we were dealing with them. We had a problem with our laundry bill and Stacey kindly got us in touch wiht the Manager and General Manger (Pablo) who dealt with it in a matter of minutes. I really appreciate everything they did for me and my family and I would definitely return to that hotel should I every go back to Marrakech - thanks everyone at Riad Tikida Palmarie and a big thank you to the restaurant staff who were always always brilliant (you all were) xxx

Room Tip: we had a standard room which was excellent for our needs. If I were to do it again, I would go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bit of a delayed review, but me and my boyfriend stayed here for two weeks, the last week of June first week of July. I have never stayed in an all inclusive hotel before, but it more than lived up to expectation.

The entertainment team were brilliant during the day, with plenty of activities going on if you wish to take part in them. We never actually went to the night time shows as it isn't really our thing, and seemed more aimed at children with gangnam style being played too much!

Food was good, I am quite a picky eater and there was plenty for me to choose from. We did both the Moroccan and Italian restaurants once but opted for the normal dining hall after trying these, as you can pretty much get the same food in there! The only issue we found with the food was that puddings were a bit of a let down, we ended up opting for ice cream most of the time!

The pool was amazing, it was chilly when first getting in but you really needed it to be to escape from the heat! Do not underestimate the heat, we both got burnt from being sat in the shade with suncream on!

Our room overlooked the pool as I had seen reviews on here previous to going and emailed ahead to ask for a room with a pool view, which they gave us no problem upon arrival. So if you don't want far to walk from your room to the pool I advise you do the same!

The only down side we had was that our room door lock broke and reception had to be repeatedly told before it got sorted out, so we were left without a locking door for a few days!

We also did a couple of trips which we really enjoyed and gave us a taste of Moroccan life! I'd recommend the Atlas mountains 4 x 4 trip which was a very enjoyable day out, and the meal included was the best food we had while out there accompanied by stunning views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Before you read on please dont think this I am only rating this trip as fabulous because it was our honeymoon, I am rating this trip as fabulous for many reasons.....

This was our first trip to Morocco so neither of us knew what to expect, when we arrived at the airport there was a slow customs queue but I think it felt longer because we arrived quite late in the evening so we were tired already. The wait for the cases was also a little lengthy but you'd expect this anywhere - just a tip if you need to change money don't panic about doing it at the airport, you get the same rate at the hotel and they dont charge commission.

So once we left the terminal we were "sort of" direct to our coach by the First Choice rep, when we got to the coach we were approached by someone who we thought worked for the coach company, in fact he turned out to be someone who decided loading cases on to the coach would earn him some money, the people in front of us didn't tip him - so just be mindful you need to load your own cases on to and off of the coach - IF there had been a rep there directing people then we may have known this to start with.

Once we arrived at the hotel (no rep accompanied us on the coach) it was a little confusing, we got our cases off of the coach and went in to reception to check in, at which point our cases were taken back off of us and taken outside and we were escorted to the restaurant. At this point (it was quite late and again there had been no direction from the First Choice rep about what was going to happen when we arrived) we decided to leave the restaurant and just check in. Once we had done this we were given stickers to attach to our cases which were then taken to our room and we were taken to the restaurant to have a snack and a drink and we set off to find our room.

We were in room 4116 which I think is the "family" block as there were a few adjoining rooms next to ours but it was quiet (which we had requested) and overlooked the gardens. In our room was a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch to a hectic start.

Other than the first night confusion all I can say is that the rest of our honeymoon was absolutely fantastic. The hotel grounds are fabulous, the gardens are well maintained, the complex itself is spotless and the food, drink and service was excellent.

The pool area was busy, but we were there at high season so you expect this, but you will have to get up early to get a decent sun lounger - there is space for everyone but it really depends if you're bothered about having some shade, if you are then you will need to get up early as these spaces are at a premium - as we found on a couple of days when we thought 8am would be early enough, nope you need to start reserving them at around 6am. There are signs around the pool saying the reserving sunbeds is prohibited and items will be removed but actually this never happened so if you cant beat them you'll have to join them.

Our room itself was spacious and clean and we were given towel art pretty much every day, the aircon could have been a bit more powerful but given the temperatures were over 40 everyday I am not sure that any aircon would have been powerful enough!

The food was excellent, there was plenty for everyone and I am not sure what people have been complaining about saying there was no choice. Breakfast there was everything from cereal to a full cooked breakfast (including bacon and sausages), fruit and even salad if you wanted it, there were pastries and cakes and the coffee was amazing!

Lunch was served in the poolside restaurant and again there was plenty of choice from salads, cooked foods (Moroccan dishes/pasta/paninis/chicken) and outside there were burgers and BBQ available.

We ate most days at the buffet restaurant for dinner, which gave plenty of choice, I am not sure what other people were looking at when they have reviewed this restaurant, but there was definitely plenty of choice, there was a Moroccan dish on offer every night, Italian food, salads, veg, fresh cooked meats (chicken/beef/lamb) and desserts and fresh fruit. There were also themed evening, Italian, Spanish and Moroccan while we were there.

We only ate at the Italian restaurant one evening, it was more intimate than the main restaurant and the food was as you would expect, pasta, pizza, salads etc.

We ate at the Moroccan restaurant twice and the food was just amazing. If we could have eaten here every night we would have we loved it, the atmosphere was lovely, and the staff really attentive and we couldn't have asked for more. The tagines were delicious, we couldn't have asked for more.

The staff at the hotel are worth their weight in gold. We have never been made to feel more welcome at any other resort, everyone from the reception staff to the bar staff to the restaurant staff were just brilliant. You'll also find if you try to speak some french that they'll be appreciative (even if its rubbish like ours!). The animation team were also fab, they try to get you involved but if you dont want to be then they'll leave you be to enjoy your holiday.

Just a couple of other things I want to mention that other people have complained about:

Cats - the cats are no bother, they are well looked after by the hotel and they do not bother holiday makers, in fact I felt sorry for the cats that were constantly man handled by kids that cannot be controlled by their parents.

Evening entertainment - The animation team put on a different show every night and considering they're not professional dancers etc. these shows were great, I am not sure why some people were reporting there was nothing to do after 8pm, if you eat dinner at 7 and then go back to your room then of course there is nothing to do, but there are 3 bars, and I know for a fact that after most of the evening shows had finished in the "theater bar" there was a DJ and you could ask him to play whatever music you wanted, so there was enough dancing to be had until midnight. If you want a lively nightlife with clubs etc. Marrakesh is only 15 minutes away you could always take a taxi to a nightclub - but common sense should tell you that in a Muslim country you're not going to have Ibiza style bars on your doorstep.

Drinks - The drinks were excellent, the beer they served was award winning, the wines were excellent and the cocktails were plenty potent!

First Choice - I wouldn't bother booking with First Choice to visit this resort again, I would rather book it adhoc myself and save a little money. There was no help from the rep from the airport to the hotel, while were were there I was sick and the rep offered no help at all, and we had to visit her 4 times to try and get money back on a trip we couldn't go on because I was too ill to get out of bed (this wasn't an illness picked up at the hotel).

I cannot praise the hotel and the staff more than I have, this is a place we will definitely be visiting again and again we had such an amazing honeymoon.

Thank you to all the staff that made it special for us.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.