We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fan Dabby Dozey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #136 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fan Dabby Dozey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel in lovely lush grounds, ponds with turtles, frogs and fish. The bedrooms are large and cool in the very hot Moroccan sun. The TV even had ITV (watching Coronation Street in Morocco!)
The food choice is extensive with fresh pancakes and omelettes and even a lesson around the pool on how to cook Moroccan style.

The entertainment staff are great and can all speak English well. The hotel is approx. 20 minutes drive from the centre, but there are 5 free shuttle buses a day, the last one comes back at 8.20pm though, so if you want to get a taxi back it's approx. £12 (150 Dinah)

Morocco is one of those places where if you go to any Souks (Market) or shops, you have to haggle and the locals can be quite aggressive, swearing and cursing you if you don't buy - but ignore this and just accept this is their culture.

On the last day our flight back to Manchester was not picking up until 8pm, we had to be out of the room by 11.00am, so my tip is to book the (free) courtesy room at 9.00am the day before departure, you are given 30 minutes but it certainly allows you to spend the whole day by the pool and still feel fresh to travel back.

I have been on a number of 'All Inclusive' holidays and this is certainly one of the best, there were no restrictions on number of times you can book the Italian or Moroccan themed restaurants and no restrictions on drinks etc. -as always - you do need to get towels on the beds by 8.00am for the best spaces though!

Room Tip: All blocks are only 2 floors high, so none have an issue with too many stairs (unless of course you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,591
    944
    253
    59
    17
See reviews for
696
1545
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Riu Tikida Palmeraie for 11 nights on the 6th June. I went with my boyfriend, just the two of us and as a couple we had a fabulous time. We had previously emailed the hotel to ask for a quiet upstairs room and they did just that. The room was beautiful and had everything we needed. It was cleaned everyday and water was left, and also the aircon kept the room lovely and cool.
99% of the staff were so friendly and helpful, and it seemed like they got to know everyone, especially the bar staff.
The entertainment team were pretty good, always doing activities throughout the day, and most of the evening shows were really good. We were a little disapointed that there werent any outside entertainers at any point, and a couple of times the entertainment was karaoke, but the actual shows were very good.
The pool was huge! We could always find a sunbed as there were loads, and they also allow you to leave your towels, there were two bars very close to the pool, and the snack bar was also next to the pool.
The food was very nice. The only reason i have given the overall experience a 4 and not a 5 is that we had an issue with raw chicken in the moroccan restaurant, i would not recommend the moroccan themed restaurant, but the italian and main buffet resraurant were lovely. Food was so good, and there was alot of choice. Also, everything had a label so you know exactly what you have on yout plate.
There was a good choice of excursions through First Choice. Anyone travelling to Morocco MUST go on the Atlas mountains 4x4 excursion. We were out the whole day and it was one of the best experiences ever. Has to be done.
Overall we had a fabulous holiday and i would certainly recommend this hotel to other couples. Not sure i would go as a family with young children, but i would definetly go again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel as advertised externally is a 4star quality and not 5star as some agents are suggesting in my opinion. They foyer is large and comfortable with a bar adjacent but the only fault being it allows smoking in there.

There are 3 restaurants Italian, Moroccan and the main buffet we ate in all 3 and the Italian was okay but don't expect your favourite Italian back home standard and you will be okay. The Moroccan was better but similar to the buffet but more intimate and personal and finally the buffet. We stayed for two weeks here and to be honest people who say food is repetitive should really think a bit more as breakfasts are the same and food changes only slightly from week to week but how extensive of a menu do you want or really need. The food was fresh and they had a good selection of meats, fish, salad, pasta,s pizza including tagines with couscous and fresh breads and of course good old fresh chips for the Brits who want a taste of home. In the afternoon they have someone who will make you fresh painini's and if you don't like what's in them ask them if you can use your own filling and they will send you off with a plate and you get what you want hand it to them and they will make it for you. On Sunday morning they always have smoked salmon and champagne for you and that's not limited to how much you an eat or drink. Being a French influenced country every morning they have the most delicious freshly cooked croissants, pastries etc and the deserts were excellent. My hobby is cooking and the staff are so accommodating they let us give them ingredients to to make our own pasta sauce such as olives, onion, oregano, garlic etc and they cooked this and served it to us with fresh pasta. They even let me show them how to make garlic bread with cheese which they cooked whenever we wanted it. These staff were amazing and look out for Mustapha the Manager and Laschen a waiter who will make you chuckle at dinner.

The rooms are a bit dark as they that've brown painted ceilings which makes them a bit gloomy and our air on was not great which we got offered a free upgrade to a suit but we declined as there was not a lot different and we had a better view, so don't upgrade as its an expense for not really a lot of difference. The hotel provided us with a fan which was great and made the stay a lot more comfortable, Pablo was the manager who looked after us and again he was brilliant.

The only big fault was the hotel is in the middle of no where and you can't go out for a walk or visit a pub or cafe on the evening other than taxi into Marrakech centre. This then left you in the hands of the entertainment team which we don't really participate but a lot of people did and seemed to enjoy themselves so I think it's fair to let you judge it just wasn't our cup of teak.

Excursions:

Thomson had 3 half day trips for £50 each so to get us out of the hotel we purchased the first was to two famous gardens and a horse carriage ride which was not that good other than the horse and carriage ride, the first garden was bamboo and cactus plants and the second was olive trees only which no one walked around we all just sat in a small cafe in the shade. The second was a history tour which was ok but not as interesting as expected but it got us out for half a day. The third was Souks and Medinas which was good and gives you a good orientation which will allay fears that its as scary as it looks out there.

We did The Fantasia show at night which consisted of being taken to a man made palace watching dancers and musicians having a meal which consisted of soup starter, a massive side of lamb you all share on the table then a massive mound of couscous topped with a chicken tagine, then a platter if fruit a cup of mint tea and a biscuit. For the veggies let them know and they will cater for you. After dinner you watch a horsemanship show followed by fireworks, this was a very good night and drinks. Not inclusive but do try the Casablanca beer it's a surprisingly nice beer and overall a successful leavening to be had.

Top tip was before you attend the day trips go to the inside bar and ask for a bottle of very cold water to take as the water comes in 3 grades of temp (Normal- which is off the shelf, cold - chilled and very cold which is partly frozen and ideal for walking around in that heat as it keeps melting and you have ice cold water foe your trip) each bottle is 1.5litre.

The square and souks in Morocco are fine and the horror stories are mainly caused by Europeans being disrespectful and rude as we never had any problems as did anyone we spoke to other than a French couple whom were screaming at poor man. Things to remember are please don't photograph anyone without asking as they usually want a small tip for this other than the snake. Charmers or monkey handlers who make a living out of this,they will ask for silly money but 20 Dirham is about right £1.80. Treat people the way you like to be treat and they respect that and you will have no problems,should anyone try a hard sell show hem the palm of your hand to head height and that means back off your too much which they will as they understand this. If using taxis there are two sizes small and large pending on size of party, large will cost more and always ask driver to run the meter and check his meter is working and you won't have an issue. The bus runs a lovely free air on bus shuttle so use this and the last one comes back at 8am but they are quite regular.

I would return to his hotel as I thought the service was amazing and the Moroccan people are amazing but not for two weeks as nights were long and boring but seven nights would be ideal. For a more lively holiday look to stay in the new part of the city as it adjoins the old city so access is great but the new is a bit more European with bars, clubs and more modern shopping but my preference was the old city for its how Morocco really is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wow! Arrived on late flight, no problem through immigration arrived at hotel and directed to restaurant for a late dinner. Room was lovely bed sheets made into fan with Rose petals scattered around and a bottle of fizz to boot! Food was excellent although as others have commented the Italian is nothing different to the main dining room! If going to the Morrocan restaurant try for the first sitting as food seems to be better. We were so relaxed apart from the excursions Cascades of Ouzoud, souks and medina 4x4 atlas adventure and camel trekking we never moved although I would highly recommend the calech by night! If you want late checkout persevere with reception although it will cost extra (as you would expect ) no problems with airport security on leaving! All I can say is go go go you will love your stay!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 5 no problems close to pool and short walk to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent a week here at they end of May - a family of 4 including 2 boys aged 12 & 17. The hotel & service were both superb. Excellent food &spotlessly clean with as much or as little to do as you pleased. We'd booked 2 interconnecting rooms, however it was a shared entry porch rather than an interconnecting door between the rooms which wasn't a problem for us as our boys are older but if you have younger children then you may wish to take this in to consideration.
We did two trips:-
Fantasia which was excellent & I would recommend.
The night time horse & carriage tour of marrakech - rubbish!
We would highly recommend this holiday & will definitely be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel and has been my second visit in 8 months. The Hotel is big and spacious and the rooms are excellently furnished. We stayed in the suites which were very big and had excellent air conditioning. The restaurant had a wide variety of food to cater for all tastes and snacks were available throughout the day. There is also a Moroccan themed restaurant and and Italian themed restaurant as well.
The Entertainment Team at the Hotel work extremely hard and provide entertainment for all ages from 1030am until 1200 midnight with only a short break in between. The evening entertainment is excellent for the small children and then a show is provided each night from 2130. It has a very inclusive feel to the Hotel and everyone appears to be enjoying themselves.
The staff are most welcoming and I feel sure I will be returning to this wonderful hospitable country and this particular Hotel again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the main complex and are very quiet at night. I booked independently and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent a week in this wonderful hotel in early September 2012. We were greeted with fruit cocktails and food on arrival after late flight which lovely, very unexpected. We had two ground floor adjoining bedrooms by the tennis courts. Very comfortable and well equipped although looking a little tired. The pool was outstanding - really big and many activities on offer such as water aerobics and volleyball! Great selection of food available at all times of day and staff were friendly and helpful all the time. Gym was also well equipped although lacks larger weight machinery. Only downside is that smoking is still allowed inside the hotel lobby, meaning that the inside bars weren't very comfortable to sit in and we tended to head outside. As we had a late flight home, we requested (quite a few days ahead) to keep one of our rooms for a late check out. This was not granted and instead we were allocated 20 minutes in another room - not enough time for a family of 4! Overall a great stay in Marrakech, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Block 1 is lovely, right next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.