We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Tikida Palmeraie July 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #136 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Riu Tikida Palmeraie July 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from the Riu Tikida Palmeraie, I went for one week with wife and one of our sons, a 29 year old who saw this as a last family holiday. Arrived on the 1st July 2013. Greeted with a drink and ushered into the dining room for something to eat. Everybody is different at meal time so when we finished and went back to reception there was only one other couple registering. Our cases had been brought into reception and we were given room number stickers to put on them and they were swiftly taken to our rooms. The whole registration process was smooth and a lot better than queuing with a coach load of other guests.
Rooms were pleasant and our son who went as a single guest was given the same standard of room that we had. Air condition worked as did the fridge, which was better than last year’s trip to Djerba on the North East coast of Africa.
Staff could not be more helpful and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The food was good with lots of choice in the main restaurants. There were also two other restaurants an Italian and Moroccan that you needed reservations for, however there were no restrictions on the number of times you could eat in them and their was two sittings in each, we preferred the Moroccan.
Have seen reports that the hotel is overrun with cats, not so. There are a few as the general manager likes cats, they were not a problem in fact we quite enjoyed seeing them and reacting with them.
Sun beds were as normal and there were plenty about, if you wanted a prime position you had to be down around 7am to 7:30 am, same was true for the sun bed pillows and tables that were a bit fewer in number. But that was OK as breakfast started at 07:30 with a late breakfast from 10:00 at the pool side Italian restaurant that also served lunch including a BBQ.
Entertainment and animation team worked hard and were always lined up at the main restaurant in the evening and the lunch time restaurant to great you. They were not too pushy and accepted a no if you did not want to join in.
We went with Thomson and the two reps, one English and one Moroccan, were excellent in there help and advice, they were also on site a lot of the time. It was hot, evening temperatures, after the sun went down were 33 to 37, on average the day time temperature was in the mid 40’s and towards the end of our week it hit 50. All in all we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    975
    262
    61
    17
See reviews for
720
1580
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel has everything that is needed for a relaxing holiday. All inclusive, no need to worry about cash. Free WIFI in the lobby area. The staff were very friendly, nothing was a problem for them. The food was buffet style, two book only restaurants for variety. Only two criticisms.. Dress code in the restaurant in the evening needs to be upheld (no vests please). Sun bed savers need to be kept an eye on, and the Brits are as guilty.
Visit Marrakech City, make your own mind up as to wether you like/dislike. But do visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Firstly do not listen to the bad reviews... I fail to understand how anyone can moan about this hotel!

We arrived to a welcome drink with lots of staff who were lovely, our room we had was a suite had so much room, cleaned everyday and very modern.

The food was excellent so much choice, the staff in the restaurant are again amazing! The entertainment was good and variety was good for all different ages :)

The grounds were well kept and the security was very high, the reception staff were so helpful and would ensure you had everything!

Pool was lovely and clean, sunbeds were reserved so get there early but always managed to get one... Pool bars are both good with friendly staff again...

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It was just excellent could not fault it one bit!!

The staff defiantly make this hotel, nothing is ever too much, they make so much effort with everyone.

Wouldn't stay longer than a week as not loads to do but still lovely :)

Don't be put off by bad reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am just back from Marrakech on Friday and as whole this city is one of the most beautiful & diverse places that I've ever been too! The hotel grounds & pool are absolutely stunning! It very well maintained & the staff are constantly working to ensure this standard is met. Our room was also stunning although we had to phone reception one night as we were bitten alive by Mosquitos! When we calls though the did come to our room and give us mosquito spray which did help but just be careful even if you only notice one or two call right away! The food was a bit repetitive and to be honest I didn't really enjoy it but I am quite a fussy eater & also for the money you can't really complain. The entertainment at night was awful, we found ourselves getting the 7 o'clock shuttle bus and a taxi home but if you opt for this pay the taxi driver the correct money which should be no more than 150 dirham! We had no change one night and the taxi driver away trying to con us with the incorrect money. We done 4 excursions which were amazing! The cascades of Ozud, history of Marrakech, the souks and the gardens. The cascades is a must see! And the gardens! The souks was also a pretty good one although the history was a bit boring... Also I was ver worries before I came about covering my shoulders and knees but this is not a all compulsory so don't worry. On a whole marrakech was one of the best weeks of my life! Just watch out or Mosquitos & flies!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Riu in May, and upgraded our room to a suite which was great. There was loads of room and plenty of storage etc.
The hotel itself has nothing to offer outside of the complex, so you do need to rely on Taxi's to get you about. But the hotel had everything we needed for the 5 days we were there.

The swimming pool was freezing and we couldn't really go in it, but they did have an indoor pool which we used with our 3 year old daughter. They also had a kids club which i took my daughter along too, but most of the toys were broken or missing part too.

The food was very samey but had a good selection, i think the best meal was breakfast!

We went into Marrakech for a day and hired a guide to take us round which was really good. The hotel provides a bus service to take you into Marrakech town and back to the hotel which is a really good service.

The evening entertainment is very samey - with the kids club at the begining of the night and then live music.

Overall a nice hotel, but could have done with a bit more to do and see outside of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Fair play the hotel is amazingly well maintained, the staff are friendly, the animation team I have to say are brilliant in the daytime but the evening entertainment was dreadful. The same 2 people doing a set in the outside bar in the evening and not even knowing what set or songs they were doing. We went to watch the shows and walked out after 10mins!
Our air con didn't work properly and they attended straight away but it we were told that was how good it was, so we accepted being warm at night until we went into another room to find it much cooler but only on the last day! My other half didn't really like the food but I found a good choice and ate loads.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to relax in boiling hot weather but not go anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was absolutely amazing. You really get a wow factor when you walk into reception which doesn't stop until you get to your room!
The food was incredible. So much choice and everything cooked perfectly. We tried both the themed restaurants but found the Italian quite disappointing (the Italian themed night in the main restuarant actually served better food!) The Morroccan restaurant is well worth a visit though and we both throughly enjoyed it.
Sometimes we struggled to find a space by the pool but that was more from pickiness than anything else. Some of the beds were broken but putting two broken ones together fixed that problem! The hotel has a complimentary towel service for pool towels which you can change each day. Saves space in the luggage for other stuff!
The pool was pristine and the perfect temperature for cooling down from the hot days.
In fact the whole hotel was pristine, the staff never seemed to stop tidying, gardening and fixing things!
Everyone was lovely, from the waiters, bar staff, reception to the entertainment team. The entertainment team were amazing, they never lacked for energy and the shows at night were hilarious. As long as you weren't expecting 5 star entertainment and enjoyed a laugh you'd enjoy the show they put on.
We had a couple of problems with the room and getting our luggage to the room (you don't have to let them take your bags which I didn't realise and sat waiting for an hour until they brought it up). Once we reported anything to reception they sorted it straight away.
We didn't really have to queue for anything here. Everyone was grateful if we tipped, they didn't expect it at all.
The hotel is perfect if you want a hot, gorgeous place to lie by the pool for the week. The free shuttle bus to the old town is a bit infrequent but worth using. We explored the souks and found them interesting though a bit intimidating and selling some naff stuff alongside the good, like any market really. If you want to explore the true part of Marrakech then I wouldn't recommend this hotel as it is a bit out of the way, but if you enjoy 5* quality and paradise in one place then definitely go here. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.