We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, perfect people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #136 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place, perfect people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week in May/June 2012 and this hotel cannot be faulted.

We knew it was going to be good from the start when we got a nice cocktail at check-in.

Staff: Always pleasant, always happy to help, spoke excellent English, happy to converse and find out more about guests and they work some seriously long hours to always be smiling.

Food: Something for everyone, can be a tad repetitive but thats expected in an all-inclusive buffet. Lovely smoked salmon and champagne breakfast on the Sunday morning. Definitely recommend the Moroccan and Italian restaurants, the food and wine was great and made for a nice change.

Marrakech itself: Amazing! If you're looking for a diverse culture this is the destination to go for. As long as you are firm with the people trying to sell you things or offer you henna then you will be fine. One tip for the ladies is that we found the argan oil they sell in the hotel gift shop better and cheaper than that in the medina. Some of you may also be lucky enough to meet a man called Abdullah in the souks who will invite you into his home for mint tea. If you leave without buying a carpet from him it will be a miracle. There is also a small shopping centre just outside of the medina where you can purchase high street style clothes and accessories for a reasonable price.

Rooms: Always clean and tidy, very private, spacious with lovely decor.

There are ample sunbeds, the pool is huge and the bed-style sunbeds are great for an afternoon nap.

We did the cascades of ouzoud excursion, if you do this make sure you take water and comfortable shoes and be prepared for quite a climb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    981
    266
    62
    17
See reviews for
723
1,594
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here with my cousin w/c 22nd April, the hotel itself was on the outskirts of the city and was lovely. The staff are very friendly and will always say hello and ask if everything is ok.
We arrived around 8pm and were greeted with cocktails, after checking in the hotel staff took our suitcases to our room and we were sent to have dinner. Finding our room was a little difficult as it was dark and all the blocks look the same. Rooms are spacious and tidy, cleaners will come and clean the room on a daily basis.

The main restaurant food was OK – they had pizzas, pasta, chips and tagine everyday with the occasional random dishes such as paella/fish/roast chicken. They have a large salad area as well as a great selection of puddings. The food got a bit tiring towards the end of the week as similar food was also served at lunch time. We tried the Moroccan and Italian restaurants which were both buffet and were again OK, not much different to the food served in the main restaurant. Drinks were always available as there are a number of bars, the cocktails were pre-made and did seem a little watered down but still tasted good. Breakfast was also great, crossiants, bread, fruit, cereal, eggs etc .. the chefs were also cooking fresh pancakes which were really tasty!

Other facilities in the hotel – we used the SPA which was a pleasant experience. There is also a gym and indoor pool on site. The main outdoor swimming pool was very cold, but once you got in it was fine! Getting sun loungers wasn’t easy as it seemed as people were getting up really early to reserve them, we used to walk past around 9am and all had towels on them.
The entertainment team also do a fab job with daytime activities and making it a fun environment. There is a kids disco in the evening as well as a show in the theatre bar every night which is hosted by the same team. WIFI was available in the main reception area, during the evenings the connection wasn’t great as there was high demand but the rest of the time it seemed fine.

The Thomson welcome meeting was informative and the reps were always available to answer questions. We booked the discovery trip which was a full day, very interesting to see the city and also get a history of the country. The souks area is big and it would be easy to get lost in there! There are also a lot of people coming up to you and trying to sell products which can get a bit annoying but it’s all part of the experience! There was a free shuttle bus going from the hotel into the main area.

All in all we had a great stay here, the staff are brilliant and the service we received was great. Would definitely recommend to families and couples who want a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Right from the start my wife and I were suitably impressed. Having read up on the other Trip Advisor reviews we knew what to expect and were delighted to discover things were indeed exactly as described by so many other previous guests..
We had come with Thomson on an almost record breaking 3 hour flight (positive tail winds) to arrive 35 minutes early in resort so staff were not expecting us so soon but they swung into action immediately upon our arrival.

The reception staff were highly courteous and efficient. We were all given a welcome drink as we lined up to check in having already filled in our registration cards on the bus from the airport.

I had e-mailed a room request based on what others recommended on Trip Advisor. The young lady dealing with us duly gave us exactly the type of room I had requested. By the way, they responded to my e-mail within 2 hours when I sent it back home. Many hotels would probably not even do that.

Luggage was delivered to the room and the cases had been placed inside when we returned from the evening meal.
We ate in the main international buffet dining room on the first night. It’s a huge place and was busy but the tables are nicely spaced so you never feel ‘packed in’ as you might do in other hotels. We always like a ‘salad course’ and there was a great choice for us to do so.

The waiters are really attentive. They brought us wine by the glass and water but there’s a drinks area as part of self service where you can get your own soft drinks if you wish.
There was also a very good selection of food for main course typical of buffet style offerings everywhere but with a little Moroccan twist. Meat eaters, like myself, are extremely well catered for but ‘veggies’ like my wife can also find something for them also.

There’s also an Italian and Moroccan restaurant which guests can choose instead of the main international one by booking a day in advance. There is no extra charge for this. We really enjoyed the Italian restaurant on the three occasions we dined there. It feels a lot more exclusive and there is definitely an effort to provide Italian-style food. We did not try the Moroccan restaurant but adventurous foodies will want to sign up for that I’m sure.

The accommodation was delightful. We were put in block two facing the morning sun rise which came up suitably early. We do enjoy standing out on the balcony watching the sun come up before breakfast.
Our room had a separate toilet and bathroom. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a good-sized in room safe as well. We had a small fridge with a litre of complimentary water already cooling inside when we looked. There was a second complimentary bottle of water uncooled.

I had not expected so many international channels on the TV but you’re spoilt for choice. Amongst the English ones were Sky News, CNN and BBC World. However, I also enjoy French TV and you’ll get France 2 and TV5 Monde with more besides. There’s a good selection of German channels and local Moroccan ones also.

Wifi is important for me. Unfortunately it’s not available in room but it’s free in reception areas. Many people were using their portable devices including laptops, ipads and mobile phones. Some reviews mentioned intermittent connection and that’s because of the huge demand made on the network at peak times when uploading photos will be difficult. However, by connecting early in the morning the entire network is available with fast connection speeds for all your uploading requirements. I made a habit of doing all my wifi stuff very early before breakfast when there’s no demand on the network.

The Thomson welcome meeting follows the normal, well-established format and it’s always worth attending for the insider tips and excursions. Our rep, Stacey was bubbly and very efficient. We booked 3 separate half-day trips for an ‘offer price’ of just over 600 Dihrams and a separate excursion into the nearby Ourika Valley. The hotel has a free courtesy coach into Marrakesh which shuttles back and forth five times a day but booking the day before is essential since demand is always high.

There are taxis outside the complex but the rather exorbitant fare of DH100/£10 (day fare) seems to be the tourist fixed price which is set out on a board just outside reception. People using taxis in the evening will be charged DH150!

Serious sun worshippers will love the pool side area because it’s vast and has huge numbers of sun loungers. However, there’s enough space to accommodate everyone without it ever seeming packed in or claustrophobic. There’s a large bar in the centre of the pool which opens first before the much more conveniently located one which everyone uses after 12.30. There are also self-service drinks dispensers at one end of the pool available at all times during the day.
Being all-inclusive means guests can basically have as many poolside drinks as they like whist taking in the delightful Moroccan sun.

This hotel is very popular with French guests which is hardly surprising since Morocco came under their jurisdiction during colonial times. French is also spoken by all the staff. During our stay there were other northern Europeans as well as Brits there. We did enjoy the cosmopolitan mix of guests. It’s definitely different from being in the Spanish Costas for instance. There were also large numbers of small children and babies so this is very much a complex for families. I suspect that some people barely leave it, spending their entire holiday within its cosseted confines. After all it’s excellent value being all inclusive. The kiddies can consume as much as they like without extra drain on parents’ pockets.

People who want activities will not be disappointed. There’s a highly-active animation team offering lots of things to do should guests wish. The in-pool aerobics always seemed to be popular. There’s a kid’s club for the little ones as well.

Morocco is a fabulous place so I would recommend either taking some excursions or doing it yourself. Marrakesh is a riot of colour, commotion and smells to assault all the senses. It would be tragic to come here and miss it. Some reviewers mention the cost of tour operator’s trips. They may be a little over the odds but they are convenient and easily fit into your holiday schedule. More independent people will still do it their way though. Either way, you must get out there and experience something of this fantastic location.

Special praise must go to all the staff from reception to waiters and poolside attendants. Everyone was really courteous and smiles were the order of the day. As all the other reviews mention, they really cannot do enough to help you and, for such a large hotel operation, that is impressive indeed. Essentially they provide an exclusive level of service for a mass-market clientele. We have never experienced such high levels of service before on any package tour.

This is definitely the kind of hotel most people would willingly wish to return to. There’s very little not to love about the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. To find faults would, I feel, just be nit-picking. I really do not think a package holiday gets any better than this!

The only point I’d make is its location. This huge complex is a resort on its own so there’s nowhere in the neighbourhood to walk to and immerse yourself in. The other RIU hotel, the Riu Garden, is nearer into Marrakech with a bustling local community right outside. However, it is a case of swings and roundabouts here because the Tikida Palmeraie is the more luxurious of the two having a much larger pool and sunbathing area.

Room Tip: If you like privacy definitely ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent choice of this very well run hotel if it is your 1st visit to Marrakech.
Very spacious & well kept gardens give a very good impression. Hotel amenities very good catering for families, couples & maturing gracefully like us.
All staff very helpful & receptionist Mohammed attended to our housekeeping issues with the room allocated very promptly.
Buffet selection good with fresh meat & fish being cooked at lunch & dinner & fresh eggs/omelotte at breakfast.
Although a very busy hotel the excellent staff give a very good service, full marks to the animation entertainment with day/night entertainment for everyone. Good hotel shuttle bus into Marrakech for a change of scenery. Will certainly be returning again

Room Tip: We had a pool view room on the ground floor which we found very convenient to pop back to during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For the price you pay, this is an excellent choice of hotel.

Based in a quiet (almost desolate) area in the outskirts of the centre with nothing to speak of around (wondered up to the local shops and supermarket but really not worth the bother). The grounds are very nice and well kept and the man made pond is lovely and attracts plenty of chatty frogs

After checking in (which was all very painless) and just catching last call for dinner at 10:15pm sharp we went to the room in 2 block which was a good size, clean with comfy bed and had all the basics including packet toiletries! - best to bring your own. It also had swarms of mosquitoes, literally hundreds. After calling the front desk a bloke with industrial strength spray came and killed them all but rather that choke to death every night we asked to move rooms in the morning which they were happy to do. Seems that the mosquitoes cluster in certain areas and it is not a major problem across the resort as the next room was fine in block 4.

As other have said, food is fine - nothing great but decent selection and you are bound to find something you like. Worth checking out the Italian and Morrocan if nothing more than for a change. Lots of French in the hotel so I don't think the restaurants would get away with sub standard food and I didn't hear of any dodgy bellies.

No problem getting a drink at any of the bars throughout the day and evening and I didn't get the sense they were watered down. The bar was a little soulless in the evening with football always playing but ok. Others have complained of smoke but it didn't seem to be a problem when we were there and I think you would have to be ultra sensitive for it to be so.

We saw the entertainment from the doorway but I think you either like that sort of thing or not - not in our case!

Pool area was nice and seemed to have space available on sunbeds at all times so although there was the standard rush for beds at the crack of dawn it wasn't essential. Bit of a downside just having one pool which meant that music and entertainment couldn't be avoided although it seemed to be concentrated in one area so didn't annoy. Also the sunbeds themselves were pretty cheap and nasty and not the most comfortable so they could do with investing in some better quality sunbeds. Weather was fantastic when we were there late April, 32-37 degrees every day and lovely warm evenings so no warm clothes needed for us - think it can get down to 12 degrees at night normally so best to come prepared just in case.

Used the shuttle bus and well worth a trip in to Marrakech which was mayhem! Make sure you have a glass of fresh orange juice from the market for about 30p - best I've ever tasted. Cab back was 100D (about £8) but do check before you get in. Wouldn't suggest you hire your own car because there don't seem to be any rules of the road!

I'd reiterate what others have said which is that what makes this place a step above is the staff who are all fantastic and genuinely keen to please.

Overall, as a 4* all inclusive hotel it is excellent value and for the price it is well worth the money

Room Tip: All rooms seem much of a muchness - check for mossies before you go in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Having went to this hotel last year , there is little to improve . Rooms are spacious and clean only odd faults such as no bin in our room if you want to be petty. The restaurants are of good size the main restaurant is the favourite of ours as seemed to ave the biggest variation, please no daft comments about food not being piping hot this is impossible to avoid unless you use comman sense ad use the live cook stations if your that stupidly fussy. The other 2 restaurants didn't really satisfy ourselves as thought it should maybe be the only 2 restaurants that should be a la carte and use a menu and waitress service and end the buffet stations in these restaurants.

The pool and bars are really good doing all varieties of drinks, all plastic cups please note for idiots glass by pools is dangerous and if served pint glasses you would be drinking warm beer time you ave started the other half of your pint. Te pool is very large and has a nice eventual slope into the pool for kids and elders where you can sit and lay in the pool reading.

There is free Internet in the hotel but the wifi ain't the greatest and you do need to find the hot spots for iPads to use the Internet.receptionist do tend to meet your needs, please note if you complain about air con I did come to realise it cannot cope as good as I want when did reach 48 degrees.apart from some times language barriers did cause confusion but overall they was friendly. You can book a seat to use the riu coach which really is swish to o to the centre which is a must day/night .

The hotel is just outside he hustle an bustle and you do need to get the coach to parts of Marrakech. I do recommend trips around the Atlas Mountains and the square .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wife and I went on a 4 night stay for our 30th Wedding Anniversary (THIRTY arrgh!!). Booked via Thomson. Flight from Gatwick 2hrs 40 with jet-stream pushing us 100mph quicker. Greeted at airport and onto transfer coach. 25min ride through Marrakesh and then arrive at the lush , secure hotel. Check-in was a well rehearsed drill with plenty of staff. It was nice to see the manager greet us all individually. Bags were left at reception and whisked to our rooms before we got there. We were allocated a room in block 5000, which we knew was furthest from the reception, but we wanted this for peace and quiet. A quick lunch at the all inclusive restaurant with ample selection of all kinds of food for any palate. For children there were pizzas and chips and burger meats, but even the pizzas were cooked in front of you. We were aware that it was a good idea to pre book the themed restaurants as soon as you arrive, as these sometimes get booked up. The weather was 35-39degs for all 4 days but not humid and there were no insect issues at all. The very large swimming pool allowed everyone a sunbed around it. The pool is not heated presumably due to the enormous size, so it can be a bit nippy! There is a sloping ramp to the pool which is tiled and can prove rather slippery as we witnessed several splashes. The use of the long hand rail into the pool is recommended . There are a few quieter secluded areas away from the activities/music area. Some are covered with canvas sails for sun protection. There are 2 pool bars that stagger their open hours. There is morning aqua aerobics which is well attended. We had a couple of minor issues that were very quickly fixed - toilet continually flushed and on one day our room entry card would not work . A quick call to reception and the staff rushed to fix both issues very quickly. Overall we could not fault the food and everyone we spoke to agreed. All, and I mean all, the staff seemed genuinely pleasant and helpful. It was nice to see the manager every day walking the hotel grounds, going into the kitchens and checking on things, The fact that he ate his meals with the customers, selecting the same food as everyone else showed his trust in the quality of his hotel. There is nightly entertainment which we watched for a couple of nights. The rooms are large, with a separate washroom/shower and separate WC area. 2 large built in wardrobes with digital (free) safe. Fairly quick free WIFI is available in the entire reception area. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained with many flowers, roses and lakes. There is also a gym/spa and indoor pool.

We were lucky enough to book two nights in the Moroccan themed restaurant . This has very good decor and ambiance and very tasty food. Strongly suggest you book it.

Overall everything about the resort and flight was excellent and good value for money.

The departure through Marrakesh airport was rather slow (obviously not hotel or Thomsons problem) but I feel I should mention it. The check-in staff were extremely slow, then there was the queue for security. This was painfully slow, mainly due to the fact that they require you to go into lines of males and females. Unfortunately the sign advising you to split into these 2 lines is right at the scanner, rather than at the furthest end of the line, so there is continual swapping of people to get to the correct line. Once you get through security, you then have another long wait to go through passport control. This whole process took 2 hrs. Don't forget to change your Moroccan currency before going through security, as its a closed currency.

We took a night time horse and carriage trip through Marrakesh old town. It was "interesting" to say the least.

Room Tip: Block 5000 furthest away from reception/bars/pool - so fairly quiet - only 2 stories high. If you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.