We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adults paradise - a little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #142 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Adults paradise - a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What can I say about this hotel?

The staff are excellent and really make your holiday. The rooms and public areas are spotless. Having only visited for 1 week, I definantely want to go back. I feel that this holiday is for adults and not for families with children. The only thing I missed was bacon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,088
    292
    68
    22
See reviews for
787
1,775
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I visited the Riu Tikida Palmeraie while the UK was gripped in snow and freezing conditions(March 22nd). The weather in Morocco was surprisingly good, with only two days of less than perfect sun. The second day of our stay was so hot we both got sun burnt, should know better by now!

The Tikida Palmeraie is what you expect from a 4 Star Riu hotel and to be honest it grew on us as the holiday went on. The main reception and bar areas are of a high standard of decoration. There is wifi available throughout this area, but it is slow in the evening with everyone trying to use it at once. The food was again the standard all inclusive buffet style, but we had no complaints and the evening menu was just about varied enough. There was lots of fruit available at all meal times and the bananas were popular as take away items. There is two theme restaurants, but we didn't try either of them for some reason.
The room we stayed in was a twin, which is two big singles pushed together. The room its self was ok, with a fridge, sat TV (BBC one and ITV1) and a comfy couch. The room was tided every day by an army of staff *.
The entertainment team at this hotel, has to be said put more effort in than anywhere we've been before. Sometime you find that the entertainment staff can be annoying to say the least, not at this hotel, if anything they are one of its best assets! Friendly, helpful, polite, and most of all entertaining. Some of the evening shows had us in stitches, at first because we thought they were really bad, but later we realised that they had a great sense of humour. The were all good fun with "Mido" the leader of the pack. His sketch about Robin Hood was both hilarious and weird.

TOP TIPS:
Avoid a ground floor room as the cleaners start rearranging the furniture from around 8:30 every morning. This was our biggest gripe during our holiday and to be honest was down right annoying. If you like a lay in while on holiday you just hope your not near a room that gets clean early.

Tip one of the waiters at the bar in the evening and you wont be waiting for drinks, or even make it to the bar before your glass is refilled. I tipped our waiter 50 Dirham on the second night and he couldn't do enough for us, for the rest of the holiday.

Put your towels out on the way to breakfast as the best spots get taken by early birds.

If you go into the city to look around the Souk its a good idea to take a guide, which can found when you get off the bus. We had a bloke name Omar and he was spot on and is an official guide. We paid 100 Dirham for about 4 hours and we learnt so much about the city and Morocco.

Overall another destination we have ticked off our list and somewhere we hope make a return visit.

Room Tip: Not a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

So like most of the reviews on here the hotel grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are great with TV showing BBC 1 and ITV, the food was one of the best quality all inclusive's I've been to. They all get a bit repetitive after a while but it was still good, service was great everybody happy to help.

So why have I only given the hotel a 3 out of 5? The Pool. Whilst the pool was gorgeous to look at it was absolutely freezing. I read reviews before I went saying it was 'cold'. Serious understatement. You couldn't actually use the pool because it was like an ice bath. Many of the other hotel residents were talking about what a shame to have a visually beautiful pool tempting you in but you couldn't use it. We visited the hotel last week in March 2013 so whilst the weather was gorgeous as we wanted I was soooo disappointed I couldn't cool off with a swim in the the pool without catching hyperthermia.

So would I recommend this hotel....... maybe the pool is warm in the summer in which case definitely, if you don't ever want to get in the pool then definitely, if you want to go in March and use the pool definitely not. I found out that the sister hotel TIkida Gardens is the same re pool temperature.

Not sure how Thompson can give this hotel Platinum status when you can't use the pool in March.

The hotel was relatively quiet at the start of our holiday never a problem getting a sun bed but as we were leaving the Easter holidays started and the sun beds were all taken by 10am, Maybe as the season progresses the hotel will bring out more sunbeds.

The drinks selection at the bar was great with some branded drinks available and cocktails included within the All Inclusive.

You have a fridge in the room but hotel only supplies water. We walked up to the local 'supermarket/cash and carry' for some hotel room supplies.

I was worried about the taxi drivers and their prices but I was pleasantly surprised. The taxis at the entrance to the hotel immediately gave the price the same as what the hotel suggest (check with the driver first before you get in). When we were in the Centre of Marrakesh the taxi driver suggested 200 dirhams to get back to our hotel (hotel suggested 150) we asked 150 and he happily agreed.

Before we went we arranged round trip airport transfer which we were charged something like £70 for two people, wish I'd just used the taxis now which would charge 150 dirhams (not even £15) each way. Live and learn ;)

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Suite which gave loads of room but there didn't seem to be any extra lighting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just back from a brilliant week at Riu Tikida Palmeraie .Rooms were spotlessThe food was lovely in all the restaurants and there was lots of variety.The staff were really attentive and friendly
They sent me a bottle of bubbly and decorated our table with rose petals for our anniversary.
Our favourite was theMoroccan Restaurant,very atmospheric with authentic dishes.
I visited the Spa for a massage and t was fabulous. The pool was really beautiful ,huge and with plenty of sunbeds.The shuttles were really well organised ,and Marrakesh was really interesting,but much more exciting at night.
I am a travel agent and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

stayed 4 nights as mini break in sun before arrival of baby! Very good service, friendly staff, considerate of my being pregnant, high level of cleanliness, nice spacious rooms, decent beds, lively animation team but not too pushy, wide range of food, plenty of sunshine! smell of jasmine as you walk through gardens amazing!
only annoyance- stray cats hanging around your table at lunchtime and around pool toilets.

Room Tip: Book Moroccan and Italian restaurants on first day otherwise they get fully booked. Room 1017 litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After visiting last March with my husband, I returned to this wonderful hotel & city because it really is the ideal winter getaway, This time i brought my Mother & sister to do some serious shopping & sunbathing

The reviews are all accurate regarding the staff/ rooms/ cleanliness/ cold pool etc, so nothing more to add.

So here are some tips to get the most out of your holiday;

Email the hotel with any requests, Their happy to oblige with anything they can. I asked for extra hangers, a view of the Atlas mountains & a bouquet of flowers, roses, arum lily's & iris. Beautiful & they cost less than £20, easily £100 worth in the UK.

A small tip to the staff gets you extra special treatment, never having to go to a bar, as your drinks are poured & delivered to you before you know you want them, & you get your sun lounger set up with a towel & table as you walk to the pool.

When eating in the Morrocan resturant, choose the first sitting, it may be a pain getting ready for 7, but the food is far better than the 8.30 sitting.

Visit the souks first thing in the morning for the biggest bargains, the traders believe the first sale of the day brings them luck so are willing to except really cheeky offers, we all got wonderful camel leather bags(£27 the most expensive), sets of glasses(£5), 3 pashminas (£7), shoes(£4/5), tagines(£12), huge carved wooden bowls made from a single piece of wood(£17).

Make sure you visit the spa, we all had the full package; a Hamman (sauna) a body wrap & full head to toe massage (£70 for 2 people or £40 for 1 person) worth every penny. Don't have this treatment if you have any tenderness from the sun as your severely scrubbed down, i recommend starting your holiday with this to prepare your skin for the sun.
The hairdresser is also great, a head massage, wash & blow (£11) he doesn't rush & took well over an hour & half

If you have a fave tipple, get some at duty free as the drink options have shrunk since last year, but still enough to keep the average person happy.

All in all if you don't enjoy this hotel your even harder to please than i am, so i recommend the Burj Al Arab in Dubai

Room Tip: Request a view of the gardens & Atlas mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My daughter took me for a Birthday weekend from the 22nd March till the 25th, we found the hotel very clean and very well looked after, all the staff were very friendly and we were made to feel most welcome. the food was typical of any buffet in a hotel complex, much the same most of the time, we never once had to wait for a table at breakfast or dinner, we did not eat in any of the speciality restaurants because of the short time we were there. Unfortunately for us it rained on the saturday so we did not leave the hotel. On the sunday we had a well being massage, exfoliation, mud wrap etc, that was a new experience for both of us and was very relaxing, we then finished off the day sunbathing round the pool which is extremely large with no shortage of sunbeds and a bar and self service drinks machine, the grounds are beautiful and well cared for at the hotel and would be good for a walk because it covers about six acres. If I had to be niggly I would say the beds were to hard for us, and I would also have preferred soft drinks in the fridge in the rooms, although bottled water was supplied daily, its more enjoyable to have a selection of drinks. My other disappointment was that my daughter emailed to say it was my Birthday and they replied they would organise a cake and wine for the celebration but that must have been overlooked because it was not mentioned once. All in all a lovely weekend, and if we had not had the day of rain we would have gone into marrakech itself.

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the amenities, some are quite a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.