We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I visited Tikida Palmeraie with a friend for five nights in February 2013, we had a great time. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. All the amenities are clean and safe. The spa is beautiful, we had a hammam scrub - a great experience. In the restaurant, there is a good mix of Morrocan food and also pasta, pizza and chips for those with less adventurous tastes. We enjoyed playing tennis, table tennis, swimming, salsa dancing - the entertainment staff are brilliant, very friendly but not too intrusive if you just want to relax.

(The only slight negative was that the outdoor pool was freezing cold (February), but there is an indoor pool and the rest of the hotel is so good it's not worth knocking off a point!)

I would love to revisit this hotel if we come back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,442
    805
    223
    49
    15
See reviews for
601
1389
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Following on from previous reviewers, I have to say my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie. We would not normally go on holiday at the beginning of February, but my wife had a big birthday, so off we went and we weren’t disappointed, the weather was lovely allowing sun bathing, even though you did need a coat to go for dinner later.
While the check in was a bit chaotic, the welcome drink was appreciated, as was the delivery of our cases to the room, which was a walk from reception (this hotel is low rise, so the rooms are spread around the complex).
The room was spacious with a view over the biggest hotel pool I have seen, there was a free safe (no charge) and it was maintained by the first class and cleaning staff. As per our other visits to RIU hotels there was a varied menu, with plenty of fresh food and your glasses were kept topped up by the friendly restaurant staff. All area’s were very well maintained and staffed by great people, the animation staff worked deserve a special mention as they were always there around, be it stretching or darts around the pool or entertaining in the evening.
On my wife’s birthday there were some great touches, firstly the maids decorated our bedroom then in the evening we were escorted to a table decorated with rose petals where there was a bottle of champagne, later the staff brought out a small cake and sang happy birthday.
While there we went on two trips, organised through Thomson, the first was very disappointing and the second great. The poor one was around the Souks and Medina, which we and many others thought was just an excuse for the guide to take us into place where we were pressurised to buy from expensive shops! The great one was a trip into the Atlas mountains, up the Ourika valley where we experienced some great sights, saw how Argon oil was produced and had mint tea in a Berber house.
The only downside I could see is that the hotel is not within walking distance of anything being out on the edge of the city, was that a problem, not really as there is a regular free bus from the hotel into the main square.

Would we go back – oh yes!

Room Tip: By and overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited the Riu Tikida Palmeraie For our christmas break from the 21st-28th of december
and our experience of marrakech and all it has to offer was overall very good.

So i will start with the hotel, upon arrival it was very pleasant a welcome drink and a swift check in, you can have your bags taken to your room by the staff (but beware the tipping culture) or just take them yourself as we did, but beware its a MASSIVE complex and amateur map readers will get lost.
The choice of food on offer is ok considering what we payed, but like all big hotels that have to cater for the masses there are some hiccups but nothing that would put your health at risk. Me and my partner stuck to the Moroccan dishes and was more than happy.(desserts look good but all taste the same) :(
Breakfast is great a wide choice from your cooked usuals to your cheeses,fruits and cereals ( and doughnuts for the kids or big kids).
Lunch was also fine fresh salads and hot food just what the doctor ordered, so not really many faults on the grub, The staff in the eating HANGER are very helpful and have always got a smile on their faces as have the Bar staff.
So drinks, The beer is average but definitely drinkable, red/white/rose wine for the other and the spirits are house.(i would recommend the mint tea VERY GOOD)
Shuttle bus service very good and run pretty much all day to the medina and back.
The excursions are a must and the rep makes booking all of them very easy.
The only thing i would say to bear in mind is the tipping be stern but fair, the locals can get a bit much.
Oh rooms, can get a bit nippy but they provide extra sheets, VERY clean this was one thing we were very pleased with the whole complex was spotless.(especially the toilets)

Room Tip: My dad was in a separate block and his room was the same as ours also the courtesy room was identica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just got back from this great hotel, champagne and smoked salmon for breakfast on sundays. Can't get better than that but it did, the only down side was that we could'nt stay longer but, next time we will. The food was fantastic and the staff and animation team were axcellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

our four days in marrakesh were amazing, hotel had friendly staff who couldn't do enough and great choice of food, lovely clean and modern--> a beautiful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the marrakesh city centre craziness !!
only negatives = food could have been hotter on some occasions, the pool was fffreezing but looked absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District. Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everything about our holiday was superb. The weather, the hotel itself, the food, our room, the country, the experiences, the people everywhere, the trips (Marrakesh Discovery and Cascades), the price (Thomson late deal), but more than anything else, the Management and staff at this hotel. They outshine every other team of staff at any hotel / shop / restaurant etc that we have ever been to. The reason is because every member of the team, from Management, Reception staff, Cleaners, Security Staff, Entertainment Staff, Chefs, Bar Staff. Pool Staff and Restaurant Staff, appear to have the customer completely at the centre of everything they do, and are genuinely determined to ensure everyone has a superb time. They all appear to really enjoy their work, and do everything so naturally.
As I have said, it is every single member of staff... I could recount something out of the ordinary that each of them did whilst we were there to make our holiday special. But the Restaurant Team deserve special mention. They are all very professional, and undertake their role as well as anyone in a top quality restaurant, but they are all completely aware of what is going on around them, looking all around whilst clearing tables, topping up drinks, escorting visitors to their tables, etc, so they quickly move on to the next thing that needs doing, whether it is picking up a sppon dropped by a customer, and replacing it, clearing another waiters table, greeting newly entering customers, or walking with a young child and talking to them so they feel comfortable in their surroundings. Every one of them seemed to be a natural at superb customer service, having fun with the customers, ensuring they have everything they could possibly need, but always being professional and working as a team. Fantastic!
The Manager and Deputy Manager came to the restaurant at some stage during almost every meal, talked to customers and to staff, checked on the food, and helped out if needed.

What a wonderful team...other places could really learn how to do it properly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights here mid Feb 2013 and had a great time. The quality and selection of food and drink was incredible. The staff are fantastic, really fun and very helpful. Free bus to/from the Medina several times a day and they even organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us to see the Berber Peoples. The outdoor pool was too cold to swim in but there is a heated indoor pool, art classes, golf course and Show bar. The internet access is exceptionally poor so you won't be able to upload your photos till you get home. Be sure and change some money into coins because outside the Hotel everyone wants a tip. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed be sure and ask or you may end up with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.