We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Marrakech - with happy, smiley, people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Easter Special Offer
Ranked #117 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Ronnied1957
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An oasis in Marrakech - with happy, smiley, people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went for a quick January break to avoid the snow at home and so glad we did. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in a special hotel with everything you'd expect from an all inclusive resort but with a traditional feel.

Many hotels say 'just let us know if you need anything at all' but then don't deliver but this hotel says it and means it - from sending someone when you mess up your room safe to waiters remembering you prefer cold milk with your tea or replacing a dropped fork almost before it hits the floor or moving a table into the sun on the terrace for you.

We were welcomed with a drink from the high-octane entertainments team who were always kind and friendly but left you alone if you wanted (more of them later) and reception staff were quick and efficient. We had emailed and asked for a sunny room overlooking the pool and with a mountain view and asked on arrival if we had this. We were assured we we would like our room and told if we had a problem to come back and we would be moved immediately. The room was fine with a nice outlook over the mountains so we were happy to stay. Rooms immaculate, spacious and beds firm but extremely comfortable. Some reviewers have commented they were hard but this hotel tries so hard I am sure that they would keep bringing you new mattresses until you were happy!

Our luggage was delivered to our rooms by buggy while we had a late dinner and security staff were positioned at various points to direct us to our rooms and were always in evidence at night.

Food was of a high quality and almost too much variety but the chefs and waiting staff would help you with the buffet (sometimes carrying food back to tables where needed) and chefs were happy to prepare food in a special way if asked. One waiter went to the kitchen to look for a pudding I had requested and came back with a chef pushing a 6 foot high trolley loaded with every dessert they had in the kitchen but sadly not the one I wanted that day!! I imagine it could be a bit hectic in high season due to guests wandering around.

We tried the Morrocan themed restaurant but I would suggest booking the day you arrive as we could only get in towards the end of the week. This was excellent and the food was of a better quality than the food we had on an expensive Thomsons night excursion to a Riad.

We cannot comment on the themed entertainment nights but the live music from the small band in the large central bar area was always appropriate to the time of day - from the children's entertainment slot to just before midnight when this turned to classic bluesy music which was just up our street.

The hotel was immaculate with cleaners in evidence all the time (emptying ashtrays as smoking is allowed and scrubbing public areas endlessly).

Drinks were fine - although obviously not premium brands which some people moaned about. The wine was fine and cocktails alright if you asked for your usual ones rather than the mixes offered. Coffee at the pool was excellent -premium coffee standard and waiters would bring this to your sunbed if you wanted even if you ordered at the bar. We never had to wait for a drink and pool staff would collect mattresses and pillows until you were happy. We asked for a glass of milk for tea in our room and the waiter gave us a litre carton of milk. Reception would give bottles of water too people who were leaving on trips making you feel really looked after!!

Outdoor pool was massive and freezing - quite entertaining to see a few brave souls venture in to a round of applause. Indoor pool was fine - could do with being a bit warmer and some more chairs and table and perhaps a coffee machine. Only gripe that women's showers and changing was not private enough with no door.

Entertainments team made an effort to chat to everyone - happy to use each of their 3 or 4 languages - and would then leave you alone if you didn;t want to play darts or zumba - on one oaccasion led from the roof top to Gangnam Style!! I took part in two yoga classes and was impressed by both members of the team running these.

So just how does this hotel deliver such remarkable, friendly service??? In addition to all the examples above, they look and listen and put you - the customer - first, viewing everything as their responsibility and nothing being too much trouble. We were given a feedback form in the restaurant half way through the week and I commented on this that our showerhead kept dropping and it was fixed the next day!!! That is service and that's how they get such good consistenly good reviews by addressing issues quickly and efficiently.

My only gripe (but not a big issue) is about the smoking in the bar which can get into the large main reception hall. I avoided the bar but you cannot avoid the reception hall as this area also has the only wifi access. As the bar is off to one side it could easily be partitioned off with a glass wall (as it looks like it has been in the past).

Booked a package of 3 half day trips with Thomson that seemed good value but the groups were too large and the guides were amusing if a bit opinionated. A good introduction if you want to go from the hotel rather than get a taxo or meet in Marrakech.

Thomson's is the main tour operator here (more of them later) but this is hotel is very popular with morrocan families from other cities, particularly at weekends, which provides a nice balance. The staff are really good with children - with two members of the entertainments team merrily entertaining just one small child one evening!!!

All in all an excellent holiday until our Thomson flight was delayed by 30 mins taking off -allegedly to avoid bad weather in Manchester -then we were left waiting ON THE RUNWAY for 2 HOURS while the captain 'negotiated' for gate for us to disembark due to flights being diverted from Leeds having the last gates. A 4 hour flight had became 71/2 hours with us decanted down just one set of steps into snow and slush into one bus at 2am and waiting an hour for our luggage. Not impressed with Thomson Airways who are getting steadily worse or serviceair at Manchester. Loved the Riu Tikida hotel and will definitely return for another winter break but would think about going with Thomson's again.

Room Tip: Email the hotel and ask for a first floor, outside sunny room or near to the main building if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,434
    799
    221
    49
    15
See reviews for
597
1379
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I agree with the majority of comments and be aware this hotel is only 5 years old. It's sister hotel Tikida garden is closer to the city center and surrounded by local shops and houses and in my opinion is looking dated.there are only 2 Riu hotels in Marrakech
Stayed second week in January 2013 nighttime temperature was about 5 degrees and daytime temperature was about 20 degrees
Exchange rate at the hotel was 12.99d = £1 the exchange rate is set by the government so don't queue at the bureau de change in the airport because its all the same, used my Visa card to purchase trips from Thomsons and I got 13.65d as the exchange rate !
2 pin round plugs needed for your electrical items ( 240v appliances ok )
English channels available on tv are- BBC1 ITV1+1 BBC WORLD SERVICE SKY NEWS and a couple of film channels.
British newspapers available from hotel shop ( cost unknown )
WI-FI available in FOYER,LOBBY BAR,BREAKFAST RESTURANT but speeds can be slow at peak times ( 7pm-11pm )
Lots of security guards patrolling the hotel complex.
Fantastic views of Atlas Mountains from the swimming pool and selected second floor apartments.
Not just British tourists at the hotel but a lot of French,Dutch,Americans and quite a few affluent Morrocans on a weekend only.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really could not fault this hotel.Staff could not be more helpful,friendly and attentive.Hotel manager was always present and very approachable.Food was excellent with a varied choice at every meal whether you wished European style or Moroccan.Ate in both Italian and Moroccan restaurants which were again of a high standard.
Rooms were large and spotless and quiet.Pool area was great with ample beds including large decadent mattresses with pillows.Pool was cold but we used indoor pool for swim and then came back out.
Did not book any arranged trips into Marrakech but did our own thing using the hotel bus and our own guide book.Fabulous city buzzing with life with so much to see.
Definitely would go back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Travelled here at end of January, for a weeks sun in winter. Got a really good deal just prior to Christmas, whilst looking for a weekend spa break, which would have cost just as much!
The hotel was clean, welcoming and the food excellent. I celebrated a birthday whilst there and was treated to sparkling wine and birthday cake!
The staff were very attentive throughout, with the presence of the young manager, who spoke to everybody and always had a smile on his face, - happy manager - happy staff!
Tried the italian restaurant which was excellent - did not try the Morroccan as it is not to my taste.
The chioce of food in the restaurant was good and I enjoyed a 3 course meal every evening.
The all inclusive was very good, my only gripe that there was no Baileys on offer :( .
The entertainment team worked very hard, although not to my taste and a little noisy early on in the bar area.
The pool area was fabulous, but disappointed too cold to swim in, the pool attendants very helpful and would arrange your beds for you!
All in all a wonderful week, of rest and relaxation, in beautiful surroundings with attentive staff !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

went in january.the hotel was excellent ,has were the staff so very friendly ,and helpfull nothing was too much trouble for them.room was very clean food excellent.a visit to the medina in marrakech is a must ,truely amazing place.only complaint we have is that our holiday was not long enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a suite which was an OK room although the bed was incredibly hard and we ached in the morning.
The grounds were very nice the only complaint is that the pool was freezing and couldn't be used for more than about a minute. I jumped in, thought i was going to have a heart attack and had to crawl out.
Amenities such as tennis and table tennis were very good.
The food and drink could not be faulted and there was a good range of local dishes and the wine was very drinkable.
The evening entertainment was not really for us but they certainly tried hard. The Moroccan Frank Sinatra was very entertaining!

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for a suite - Not worth it
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just got back from a week in this resort and really enjoyed it. The hotel is lovely, clean & spotless. Exactly what you need for a week of sunshine. We got a great deal through Thomson so our expectations weren't that great, we literally just needed a weeks break. Therefore the food wasn't fantastic (but it was what we expected) but still always something to eat, whether it was pizza & chips, chicken, bolognese etc. The breakfast was nice though, lovely croissants & scrambled egg with fresh bread.

On my Birthday I received a letter in my room about dinner, went to dinner and there was a bottle of Champagne, rose petals & a birthday cake for me! Lovely suprise! I think they knew from the check in forms we have to fill in with all our details. A great touch to my holiday & birthday

We did a trip to Marrakesh to see some of the sights. I would recommend going to to the Souks & the square, but I would scrap going to see any mosques or palaces (it was literally an old building and the tour guides are pretty rubbish and very boring! The Souks are an absolute eye opener to how they live but a great experience. I would go with a guide as their are 60,000 stalls in 72 streets and is impossible to find your way out! Wear trousers and be prepared to be asked to look in their shop all the time! DO NOT let the ladies who are doing henna grab your hand, you will have henna within 30 seconds and she then wants lots of money for it! You are not allowed to take photos of stalls or people, and if you do they expect money for it! So beware!

When wanting to buy something they will want to charge you a lot! Always barter with them and the aim is to get it for a third of what they are wanting to charge you.

Hope this info is helpful as I didn't know any of this until I went that I wish I did.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.