We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“second time even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Decided to go back again this year with friends after a excellent time last year and we could not find fault with this hotel. we went at the end of January and the weather was better than expected 27c every day this hotel is 20 minutes from the center of Marrakesh but this is not any problem for us its is better as it is an oasis away from the mayhem with easy access into Marrakesh either in the free hourly hotel bus of for about £6.50 in a taxi to us it is a far better option than a riad the hotel is large with extensive grounds and gardens a massive outdoor pool spa gym indoor pool etc the staff were the same as last year and came over and said hello we we in a large group and they arranged a table reserved for us every night in the restaurants. the food was excellent in all 3 restaurants something for everyone we came back a few weeks ago from the riu Marco polo in Tunisia which is another 4 star platinum hotel but the Tikida Palmeraie is far superior in ever aspect the animation team we good this year keeping you involved during the day if you wanted the staff are all excellent and helpful and will go the extra mile to help the general manager is always walking around saying hello to guests and maintains an excellent standard have stayed at many hotels is this faultless will be back next year would like to see wifi in the rooms and it will be 110%

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    1,033
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
752
1,690
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My daughter and I decided we wanted some winter sunshine and was recommended this all inclusive hotel we were looking to relax and enjoy some sunshine and good food and drink for a week. This hotel offered us that plus much more we got back just this weekend and had to sing its praises straight away especially after reading some other reviews posted. On arrival things were very organised we were given a lovely drink and our cases taken to our room whilst we had something to eat our first time in the buffet style restaurant and it was pleasing to see a lot of choice also really nice wine! also the waiter topped us up with fresh water many times, there is bottled water in your room everyday too and a fridge to keep it cooled. It was chilly on a night so do take a cardigan as January is still winter time even though the sunshine in the day doesn't suggest this ha ha!! We had temperatures of 29 degrees every day during our stay we were expecting about 19 or 20 so this was a definite plus point we didn't have to reserve any beds as there was a vast selection! the pool was cold but I didn't expect anything else being January!! I still went in up to my waist and some Brits decided on a swim nevertheless as it was so hot. You could if you wanted join in with the activities but this was very much up to you and even though everyday the animation team come round wishing you a good morning in no way were we nattered to take part. Cocktails and drinks available at the pool bar were brilliant these drinks were available throughout the day and night even the wine.
My daughter is vegetarian but had no trouble finding a meal in the restaurant we found the food varied and was replaced as soon as the tray had been emptied we tried the Moroccan restaurant which was really nice and have vowed to do some of these dishes ourselves, the Italian restaurant was not as good mainly because most of the dishes were included in the main buffet service most nights anyway, we particularly enjoyed some of the pastas and slices of the fresh baked pizzas. Pablo the hotel Manager is keen to get to know you and makes a great effort to speak to everyone and check all is well.
There are smokers in the lobby and bar only but the hotel cannot do much about this as people are allowed to do this over there, We are non smokers and did notice this as being different to English laws but it was not too overpowering.
The cleanliness was amazing I've never been to a hotel that was cleaned this much you could have eaten a meal off the floor as they were mopped that much, they took great care to keep the gardens looking stunning this all adds to the beauty of the place.
We had a treatment at the spa which we enjoyed very much we were treated with much dignity and kindness and the prices were fair too. We arrived just as the hotel was having a busy time due to Moroccan holidays but the locals kept themselves to themselves they didn't use the pool area as to them the weather is still chilly, the restaurant was busy and the evenings were busier but I did not see this as a problem at all and the service was the same all credit to the staff for remaining professional and welcoming Im sure things get busier as the year goes on anyway, I think temperatures are well into the 40's then so too hot for us.
January is the ideal time to go for a break from our winter we booked some trips and was well looked after by our guides who spoke great english and were very informative wether a couple or family, or a group of friends this is a must visit hotel It will set the bar high for future holidays!!

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor we had a balcony low floors have terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We escaped the UK snow and spent 10 days in this hotel and could not have chosen better. The hotel is beautiful, the gardens immaculately maintained. All the staff are happy and friendly, our room was large and comfortable and cleaned everyday, an amazing view of the Atlas Mountains from our balcony. We enjoyed all the meals and found a large selection of salads, vegetables, meat and fish dishes, lots of different spices and condiments, amazing selection of cakes and desserts and even rice pudding. The restaurant staff soon got to know our favourite drinks and brought us fresh orange juice at breakfast and a glass of red and white wine for dinner with more than enough top ups! The bar did a good gin and tonic. The outside pool was enormous and cleaned everyday although we didn't venture in because although it looked beautiful it was icy cold, however we did enjoy listening to the shouts of those brave enough to try it. We joined in with lots of the activities provided by the entertainment staff because they worked so hard and were all so lovely that we wanted to support them. We also swam in the indoor pool which was warm and with large floor to ceiling windows so you could see outside. There were ample sunbeds round the pool and in the indoor pool, and lots of alcoves and areas round the pool where you could relax and recline on large cushions which was pretty good. The free shuttle bus was great for venturing into the main square and souks in Marrakech and then escaping again back to the calm of the hotel. There are also plenty of organised trips for those who want to explore further afield, especially to the Atlas Mountains.
The only criticism from us and other guests that we made friends with was the problem of people smoking in the bar and the reception areas, some guests smoked outside but others smoked inside just because they could !! I am looking out of my window at the moment into the gloom and drizzle of a grey Sunday afternoon and we just wish that we were still in the Riu Tikida Palmeraie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Being a travel agent I am always seeing hotels that I want to visit. I've often seen this hotel and thought how amazing it looked. When it came up in the search results I was amazed by the price and the reviews. Saying how good the hotel was. So it was booked for my new husband and our 7 month old son. After having poor time from the Thomson airport and aircraft staff we thought the holiday could only get better. Unfortunately we were wrong. The hotel itself was beautiful, the lobby is stunning and the check in process was very quick. Unfortunately the hotel never answered my emails I sent so they were unaware it was our honeymoon and Thomson had passed on that it was a birthday instead but the hotel sorted this out and they put us in a lovely pool facing room with a bottle of champagne. The suitcases were quickly brought to our room and after finding our room and dropping off our hand luggage we made our way to the buffet restaurant. It looked very good, a massive selection etc. Unfortunately our first impressions were deceiving. After looking round the buffet i was amazed by the selection of food. After tasting the barely warm food i wasn't impressed. Most the food wasn't edible. We put this down to it being later on in the evening and hoped the breakfast would be better. Lets just say each meal was a let down, breakfast was again barely warm, the sausages tasted like this could have been made out of cat. Now i'm not a snobby british person that expects the food to be all british but i do expect edible nice tasting food. The eggs were swimming in oil and like every other meal there were chips available. The next meal was lunch, yet again the same choice of food, all barely warm and not very nice at all. Im sure you can see a pattern here, the snack meal was even poorer and then the evening meal was the same all over again. I tried a bit of everything but it was left 9/10 occasions. The only consistently ok foods were chips and bread. We lived on these for a week. In fact i eat so little that i lost 3kg in a week!! We did try out the Italian restaurant but this was even poorer than the main restaurant, displaying the same pizza and pasta as in the main buffet restaurant. The Moroccan restaurant faired better and it was actually edible but unfortunately we could only get in there once during our stay is it was very popular and its shut for a few nights a week. The bar area is lovely but unfortunately spoilt by the fact that is legal to smoke indoors in Marrakesh. This obviously isn't the hotels fault but there wasn't anywhere you could really sit and get away from the smoke and when you have poor weather like we did there wasn't anything else to really do than sit in the bar in the smoke. The indoor pool is supposed to be heated but i would disagree, the room itself that the pool is in was very warm but the pool was a little cool. Not as cold as the outdoor pool which is like a block of ice. The entertainment team really do try their best but they do look like they have done their training via butlins. The evening shows were cringeworthy. We only managed to sit for 5 mins before leaving. It's a good job the room had bbc and itv or our nights would have been very boring. The animation team made a fuss of our son and made us feel very welcome but they did get a tad annoying in the day when you were trying to relax. I don't want to be forced to play bingo or darts thankyou. For a 4* hotel they really do need to get the entertainment team better trained. The free shuttle bus into Marrakesh was very good but the drivers manners were very poor. We certainly wont be returning to this hotel and i won't be recommending it to my customers.
Overall a very poor experience for a first time visit to a Thomson Platinum hotel i would give this hotel a 3* at very best. Not sure why it keeps getting good reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room. All rooms are a fair walk from the main hotel but these are the better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is mostly good, made so by the mostly eager and willing staff. The grounds were beautiful, our room was large and the other clientele (until the weekend - see below) really friendly. The outdoor pool looked lovely but was in fact ice cold. The one person who dared to swim a width got a round of applause from those sat around the edge!!

The entertainment staff were great, holding a daily session of the funniest bingo game I have ever heard. They also held yoga, dance and Arabic classes around the pool.

The food was OK and as a vegetarian I could always find something to eat. We had a slight issue however on our 3rd evening as I was eating a salad I chanced upon something very chewy, I thought it was a tough leaf but when I took it out of my mouth it was in fact a scrunched up piece of cling film/food wrap!!!!!!! This was very very off putting. On leaving I showed it to a manager who looked horrified and took my room number. I heard no more from the hotel about this, a note of apology wouldn't have gone amiss.

The indoor pool looked warm and the gym was full of modern equipment. Our room was cleaned everyday and we were left x2 1.5l bottles of water, we had a fridge in the room to keep this chilled. We got a kettle from reception (the only negative being that the. manager demanded a ?30 deposit before he would hand it over!!) so that we could drink tea on our sun drenched terrace.

There were always lots of sun beds available with lots of umbrellas.

On our 5th day (Friday) there was a huge influx of people into the hotel, and for the first time people checked into the room above us, here is where our nights of sleep ended, you could hear everything they did, it didn't help that a woman in the room insisted on spending her time shuffling about, waking me at 12, 4 and 8.

The huge increase in the number of guests completely changed the feel of the place and lead to large queues at dinner and breakfast. What had been a calm, peaceful resort was no more which was a real shame.
A waiter apologised to us for the craziness and said that it was because of Moroccans spending their weekend there, I'd recommend spending Monday-Friday at the hotel as these days were much more serene.


The shuttle into the city was efficient and I would recommend pre booking an airport transfer as the haggling over the price was stressful and irritating. The hotel told me it should cost £17, we were quoted £35 at the airport taxi rank. Be careful and stand your ground.

I am young and have travelled widely but was actually really disappointed with the souks in the town, I thought that they would be buzzing with life, instead there just seemed to be full of people trying to lead you astray or over charge you so be careful. It is quite an experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just got back. Excellent hotel, very clean, very friendly and helpful staff and yes would stay again.

The however is not for the hotel or thompsons, but for the angels, VIP lounge at Marrakech airport.

We used the one at manchester and this was excellent. Thinking we would get same service in Marrakech. The staff were rude, nothing to drink except warm wine, they don't do tea! No offer of wi Fi, broken glass in middle of room which was eventually removed after half an hour after asking 3 times. Only curled up sandwiches to eat, this pace is a joke. Save your money and don't use it. We are putting a formal complaint in to angels VIP lounges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 10 nights through Thomson as an 'all inclusive package'. We were very impressed by the hotel for the money, & when they say all inclusive, they really do mean it.
First overall impressions are very good, the lobby is stunning & very clean everywhere.
Staff are very friendly, our cases were taken to our room and the location was explained clearly with security helping us along the way.
The rooms are quite basic, they are clean & quite nice, the bed's are a little hard though. The Shower is in the bath & the toilet & bidet are in their own room off the bathroom.
The outside pool area is lovely, it's huge! the largest pool in Marrakech! The indoor pool is a great addition too, as we went in January the outdoor pool was too cold to go in but the indoor pool was great. The gym is good too, ample equipment. I had a treatment at the spa, this was really good, although she could have been a bit firmer!
The main buffet is really good, they really mix it up each night, there are always the basics like pizza and pasta and salads every night, but they theme it alot so the meat etc changes.
The Moroccan restaurant is great!!! you have to go, it's really lovely inside (all are buffet) & the food is really good. The Italian buffet is the most basic, but still a nice change from the other buffets.
Lunch is served where the Italian is at night, this is good although a lot more repetitive compared to the other main buffet. This is open for lunch/cakes until about 5.30pm!! There really is food & drink available all the time! The coffee from the main bar or the pool bar is lovely, they do have machines too but if you order it you get nicer coffee from a proper machine.
The Breakfast in the main buffet restaurant is great, really good choice, they have an omelette station too, my only complaint would be that they need two chefs on this station the whole time as there was a constant queue.
The internet is in the lobby area, this is wifi although it drops in and out constantly, they really need to invest the money & have the wifi everywhere, I think people expect it these days. It was not very reliable either, this was one of my only complaints.
My only other complaint is the evening entertainment is quite bad, the team really do make an effort so 10 out of 10 for effort, but it was quite often laughable how bad and tacky it was.
There is not much to do in the evenings, they would be better making use of the space and once the entertainment team have finished they really should open this area up and have a club or disco until 2am or something to give people something to do and to have a dance.
This place really does need a club as there is nothing to do in the evening really.
Overall this is a great hotel and the holiday was superb value for money, I could not have expected much more for the money that I paid.
It got very busy the second weekend that we were here, it was the Kings birthday so the place filled up with locals, this was a shame as it really did get too busy. There were children running around the lobby constantly and misbehaving, one child was roller skating around the lobby which I personally think is unacceptable. The management should have done something to stop this, & I also blame the parents. They did not seem to have any control over their children.
Would I book this again, yes! If I wanted a cheap break away then deffo! I would make sure next time that I did not book when it was a local public holiday.

Room Tip: 1st floor, I would feel vulnerable on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.