We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Marrakech Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Northampton UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Marrakech Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Simply amazing hotel, we went for a 3 night break to celebrate my wife's Birthday and it exceeded every expectation, the hotel laid on Champagne, a cake and the restaurant staff sang happy birthday to my wife which really wasn't expected but a fantastic touch. The hotel is very clean and laid out so you have a feeling of space, the food was varied and we certainly had plenty of choice to choose from. We will return to this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, the attention to detail was faultless and gave us a truly memorable experience to treasure.
We did do a 4x4 trip into the Atlas Mountains which I would have to say was the best trip I have ever paid for on a holiday, it was a full day including lunch and Tea with a Berber family that was fantastic, the guide was so well versed in the culture and had a genuine passion for His country which made the experience so enjoyable.
This was genuinely a real privilege and something I will always remember as one of my best life experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,551
    901
    245
    57
    16
See reviews for
652
1515
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a stressful year in 2012 and decided to take a Thomson Platinum hotels holidays, which promises the following:
Platinum benefits:
Many Platinum hotels are just for adults. This means we don’t take bookings for under 16s, so peace and quiet are all part of the deal”

Thomson may not take bookings for under 16s but this does not extend to the hotel taking bookings for under 16s especially at weekends, for Moroccan families.

I agree with the previous review “Not the best not the worst” it really was bonkers at night time.

There was extremely loud music in the lobby from 7pm-9.30pm, it was impossible to sit in the lobby after dinner and have a conversation, or “peace and quiet” as promised by the “Thomson’s Platinum”
The reception area is also in the lobby, you need to shout at the reception staff due to the loud music.

I do however agree with most of the reviews regarding the hotel, staff, service, meals etc.which were excellent.

I would never take a “Platinum hotels” holiday again

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

All inclusive hotels are not normally our bag but once in a while it is nice not to have to think about anything other than where to wander to get your next meal and drink. I think this Riu was a great choice for Marrakech. The Medina is a bit intimidating so you can pop in and out on the shuttle bus or on trips but know that your can return to the friendliness and relative tranquillity of this hotel. The rooms were large and well equipped. 2104 got the sun in the afternoon but not so that you could sunbathe in it. The bed was a little lumpy but not the worse we have ever had. We did have a bit of trouble from the many many hotel cats - one peed on my husbands expensive cardigan when it dropped from his chair at lunch time - a cat was on it within seconds and did its dirty deed. And another cat could be heard crying near our apartment quite a lot of some nights. I think the management should think about getting rid of most of them as I don't think they are adding as much as detracting.

The hotel staff are generally very lovely - especially the ones in the restaurant and around the pool (the reception staff and main bar staff less so). It was hard to get small notes for tipping purposes from main reception - usually it was just 50 dirham notes. Once after giving me change I asked if they had any 10 dirhams and the male receptionist said sniffily that the 20 dirhams he had given me were not much for tipping purposes. Excuse me mush - I will decide! We happened to be going to the main square and I wanted change for if I took photographs and didn't like being questioned on how much I should tip. If they continue to only hand out 50 dirham notes then their colleagues will get tipped less.

Anyway, although I had some issues I only point these out so management can see there is always room for improvements. For the money we paid it was very good value and if you are a people person and like to get involved in the activities going on round about then you will love it. If you like lounging around in a nice environment - you will love it. (the main pool is till cold but the indoor one is great) Thomsons also offer some not bad value trips (for them) so you will not feel like you are in a prison. I personally loved the grounds and walked around them looking at the birds and flowers quite a few times. It might be a while before we do an AI again as we like to be a bit more adventurous with our food but I would imagine it would be perfect for families or people who eat a lot and often. :) (It was also a bit cold on occasions.)The Moroccan restaurant was worth booking a couple of times.It had the most intimate atmosphere. I went for my birthday and we got a complimentary bottle of fizzy wine and a birthday cake. I managed to intercept the waiters coming to sing me happy birthday as I had seen them sing for another guest and I would have been a little embarrassed - but the thought was lovely and much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

stayed here 21st to 28th jan with 3yr old, the hotel is immaculate the food is great but most of all the staff make this place, in every department from the hotel manager to the bar staff they are superb, they can not do enough to ensure you have a great holiday, and a special mention to Tima and Mido from the entertainment team who made sure our little boy had his best holiday ever.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the spectacular Atlas mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just arrived back from a brilliant week all inclusive stay with friends at this resort.Everything about the hotel was excellent. The food was well cooked and nicely presented and a good choice,the waiters always happy and friendly.The entertainment team worked very hard with always a smile on their faces and took time out to chat with everyone.The only fault I found was the Hamman treatment and massage at the Spa on site too short and expensive.Will definitely re visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony were brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed as a party of 12 - 6 adults and 6 children late December. Overall I think the hotel offers great value for money. The fantastic staff here make all the difference, they are very warm and friendly from the reception staff, entertainment team, bar and restaurant staff and cleaning team, they all deserve a lot of credit.
The rooms were always thoroughly cleaned although the bed hurt my back and the food was okay - the meat was sometimes tough beyond a joke but delivered with a smile :). We always found something we liked to eat and the waiters kept the drinks coming throughout.
The drinks were hit and miss but we eventually settled on a cocktail we liked and just topped up with alcohol. As mentioned in other reviews, the cats are plentiful but never a nuisance.
The kids club wasn't as well organised as in some other AI holidays we have taken but the kids all had a ball during the evening entertainment. Others have also mentioned the freezing pool, some brave souls ventured in but no one could stand it for longer than a few minutes. Its such a wasted opportunity as the pool area is gorgeous and sun loungers are plentiful. The weather was good and if the hotel had invested in some solar panels or something like that to warm the pool then it would have been great. The indoor pool though made up for it and was enjoyed by all.
All things considered, it was an enjoyable holiday and hubby and I really enjoyed the massage we had. The free shuttle into town was brilliant and we took advantage of it a few times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a week long holiday here. It was our first experience of an all-inclusive resort and we are definite converts!

The resort is lovely with a lot of water features, a huge outdoor pool (although far too cold at the moment - I went in for about 1 minute on one of the days! The indoor pool was a good size and heated) and friendly staff.

Our room was spacious and clean. We had a 2nd floor room with great views of the Atlas Mountains. As this is a resort, not a hotel, all of the rooms are a short walk from the reception/ pool etc but not too far at all.

The food was mainly very good....I can imagine how it would get tedious if you are there longer than a week but there is enough choice to have something different everyday for the week. The choice is good there is always a Moroccan dish and then pizzas, pastas, meat dishes, 'vegetarian corner; etc. Plenty of fresh fruit and salads on offer all the time aswell. We also had smoked salmon and sparkling wine at our first breakfast which I think must be a Sunday treat! We tried the Moroccan restaurant which was a nice change from the main restaurant.

The staff were all very friendly - in particular the restaurant staff were always very cheerful and helpful.

There is always some kind of activity going on if you want to do something around the pool (darts, cookery demonstration, ping pong etc) but equally the animation team leave you alone if you are not interested. There is also a nighly show (also put on by the animation team) but we only watched that onece.

Even though you can smoke in the hotel (not the restaurants), we didn't find anywhere particularly smoky or unbearable and neither of us are smokers.

We took the shuttle bus into the town a few times and it was nice to experience Marrakesh but it was also nice to return to the resort!

We travelled with British Airways but we never saw our rep and booked one trip through him (via phone) to the Atlas Mountains which was very scenic.

I think we picked a good time to go as it wasn't too busy at the start of the week so no queues etc in the restaurant, plenty of space around pool, no problems booking the shuttle bus etc. However, toward the end of the week there was a Moroccan bank holiday and the resort filled up with Moroccan holidaymakers so we got a taste of what it must be like in high season....much busier in the restaurant!

I think this is a great resort if you want to 'dip your toe' into Marrakech but want somewhere relaxing to return to but not ideal if you want to fully immerse yourself in the country and the culture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech’s old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.