We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and holiday in the winter sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and holiday in the winter sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Tikida Palmaraie - lovely hotel with fantastic pool area which was all the better for being nice and quiet at this time of the year. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms were a good size though as honeymooners we requested a double bed and got two singles pushed together! The food was all good for the size of the people they were catering for and was plentiful - there were only a couple of hours a day where food was not available which was great for my 'always hungry' husband! The staff were very helpful throughout the stay and friendly to all the guests. The only downside to this hotel was it allowed smoking indoors - as non-smokers we thought there should be a designated smoking area rather than allowing it in the main lobby and bar areas as they were thick with smoke every evening which was not good, especially for those with children. We had considered a stay in the centre of Marrakech but after a few visits were glad that we chose this hotel which was a welcome oasis and retreat from the hustle and bustle of the town 10 mins away by shuttle bus.

All in all, we would receommend and return to this hotel

Room Tip: We were in room 5154 which was a distance from the main restaurants and bars but for that reason was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,035
    281
    65
    21
See reviews for
755
1,690
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

So happy I opted for this hotel over a traditional Riad! Although I think I would love to stay in a traditional Riad as they are beautiful I was so pleased to be able to retreat back to the hotel after a busy day of excursions to have a drink in the lobby or to stretch out on one of many sun loungers or beds dotted around the largest swimming pool in Marrakech! All inclusive food is always a concern for us as we kind of expect a lower quality of food when catering for so many but we were so wrong! Had a lovely gala dinner on NYE. Fillet of beef and duck particular highlights and accompanied with so many choices you really do get spoilt on the other hand the drinks menu is incredibly I assume this is due to lack of alcohol in muslim religion so tip would be to get some duty free to have a drink you'll enjoy! The only thing I missed and would of certainly of got from a Riad in the Medina was a personal service, there are so many members of staff we never spoke to the same person twice! Would 100% return to the Tikida Palmeraie as long as tradition and culture doesn't sway be towards something older. Oh and don't worry about being miles from reception, all rooms are a short walk away and we could see all the blocks from our balcony so it isn't that spread out!

Room Tip: We were in 1102 and although we were closest block to reception we never had any winter sun on our b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 10 night stay at this hotel. Arrived late in the evening was shown to room, lovely clean big room. 2 single beds pushed together, very comfortable to sleep on. Main dinner hall big tables not too close together. But the French seem to think they can move you tea from off your table so there friends can sit next to them, waiters in dinner hall was very helpfully at breakfast and dinner always showed you to a table got you drinks. Animation team all very friendly no matter what time of day even after New Year's Eve what was a very long day/night, next morning they had a smile on there faces. All staff make you feel like family. Evening shows were a laugh. Weather was lovely and hot during the day but very cold at night and early morning. Would return to this hotel great holiday

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was majestic, rooms palace like, staff friendly and never failed to entertain! The food selection was excellent catering with traditional Moroccan dishes, Italian dishes and many other cuisines around the world. The amenities were great i.e. an outdoor and indoor swimming pool, a gym and spa on-site. The location was good, just a few minutes by taxi from the Medina. The backdrop of the hotel was excellent as you would wake up to a view of the beautiful Atlas Mountains on a clear day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Got a very attractive last minute deal for a week for the family over the New Year period. Not done all inclusive before but this resort, some 15 mins outside the Marrakech Medina in the Palmeraie did it well. Exceptionally friendly staff and overall a high quality offering. In addition to the massive dining hall, there are good options for alternative eating in an Italian and a Moroccan style restaurant. Initially a bit worried by the out of town location but there is a free shuttle bus (needing booking a bit in advance), alternatively the taxi ride is only 80-100 dirhams. Daytime temperature was in the 20s but too cool for swimming in the very large swimming pool (which had ample sunned capacity). Overall a good week's chilling out under the winter sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited the tikida palmeraie in August 2012 for two weeks with my boyfriend. We have stopped at previous riu hotels in the past and have not been disappointed. The hotel was lovely and very clean. However, lots of wasps around the outside bar area. The cocktails were standard (all taste the same) not as good as the ones in Mexico. However Mexico was more expensive, so you get what you pay for.
Staff are amazing, all very friendly and polite. However, did feel sorry for them and all the hours they put in. They had to do most of the enteraintment at night, they did try their best but wasn't the best.
Our visit was two long at two weeks- not much to do other than visit the markets... We did buy lots of bargains... bags, headphones (beats) and Ice watches =)
Lovely weather- very very hot. Pool amazing! lots of sun beds but had to get up early for the double beds! some people put towels out at 3am!
Towels could not be swapped until 9.30am- bit of a pain putting them down then having to take them off to swap them as then closed at 2pm.
I would go back but maybe for a short stay. not far on a plane and worth a visit!! Good for the money =) x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Riu Tikida Palmeraie is a large modern hotel twenty minutes outside the old walled city of Marrakech. Although just off a main road, the hotel has beautiful gardens and is bright, clean and modern. I visited with my husband and four older children for a three night break after Christmas. The rooms were large and well appointed, with separate bathrooms and toilets, a rarity these days. The mattresses were firm and comfortable and the decor plain and modern. I chose the hotel because there were six of us and I needed a reasonably priced base that would suit teenagers and allow them freedom without danger at night, i.e the possibility of remaining in the bar when their jaded parents retire to bed. All this worked out well but of course involved the usual compromises made when travelling with a large group. If you are travelling as a couple, there are many far more interesting and romantic hotels in Marrakech than this, to suit all budgets and I would say avoid the big chains.
The hotel has a very large outdoor pool, too cold for this time of year, and a good heated indoor pool although the changing rooms are unheated and unpleasantly cold. The food was rather dull, absolutely not five star and lacking in Moroccan specialities. The dining room staff are smart, charming and helpful. The hotel runs a shuttle bus into the centre, the last one leaves at 8pm so no good for nights out, and be aware that you have to book tickets for the shuttle which is often full. We spent a lot of money on taxis.
We booked with Thomson for the first time, and did not find them impressive. The camel trek we booked was not well handled and although the people at the Moroccan end were charming, the trek is not through what remains of the Palmeraie, but through a run down patch of waste ground complete with rubbish and pylons in the background to spoil any photography.Take a taxi into the palmeraie and you will find many locals offering very similar camel treks for less cash and in more attractive surroundings. On our return journey, flying with Thomson, we were seated in six different rows, a first for our well travelled family, and at the Gatwick end our baggage reclaim was delayed for 2.5 hours without explanation.
Overall, stay here if you are very insecure about staying in the city, but otherwise, be more adventurous and you will find many more interesting and beautiful hotels and can eat very cheaply at the famous night barbecue or try out more exotic restaurants. Tikida is certainly not 5 star. The public areas smell very smoky at all times, most unpleasant, and the evening entertainment is poor. The food is dull,and bathroom toiletries come in sachets. I cannot imagine staying here for longer than a few days. We had an excellent holiday but most of it was spent exploring the many fascinating sights of Marrakech, an exciting destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Atlas away from the road, otherwise traffic noise is audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening winter 2009/10 * Located in Marrakech * Main building and 2-storey annexes * 65,000 m2 gardens * 5 km from Marrakech's old quarter * 800 m from various shops * 13 km from the airport * 900 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.