We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderul riad away from the madness of down town Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Miria Palais Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Miria Palais Riad to your Saves list
El Miria Palais Riad
Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“wonderul riad away from the madness of down town Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Thanks to Badia for making our stay so lovely. The hotel is amazing - not sure what Alan5185 is on about.

My girlfriend and I had a lovely room (2 I believe), chilled out by the pool, went for massages and hammans and took long showers. So very relaxing.

The drinks were great - Italian co-owner so they knew how to make a good spritz for my gf and had plenty of beers available for me. Tagines were among the best we had in Morocco. I have already recommended this place to two of my friends. And would do the same to you!

Thanks Badia and your lovely staff - we will be back.

Kevin and Laura

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    46
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
166
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Definitely not 5*. Do not be fooled by the glamorous website pictures. Our holiday was ruined when we were put in room 10. It was akin to a prison cell or underground bunker, small, basic, no daylight, the lights had to be on all the time, no terrace or anywhere to sit. The wardrobe was that small we couldn't unpack our cases. The sheets & towels had holes in them. The bathroom was ok. There were cockroaches as big as clothes pegs. As for getting a decent nights sleep there were dogs barking all night every night, our room was by the entrance & next to the staff store room so we could hear every coming & going from late at night & from 5 am when staff turned up. When I requested a move I was told there was nothing available & that I had booked a standard room! Nothing on the website showing this 2* room!
The hotel & pool were really nice except that there were only 4 parasols to 20 sun beds again not what you expect for a claimed 5*
We wondered why the jacuzzi was always free, we soon found out, it was freezing cold!
We dined at the hotel every evening due to the fact the hotel is so isolated & it cost £20 return in a taxi to Marrakech, the menu did not change but the food was ok. Drinks were ridiculously expensive, (£4 bottle beer, £7 gin & tonic).
Staff were attentive & helpful.
The excursions offered at €60 pp are not worth it. We were told it was only 1 1/2 hrs each way to Essaouira when in fact we were stuck in a minibus for 3hrs each way what a waste of a day!
Had we been put in a room similar to what we were expecting & seen on the website we would have enjoyed the holiday & not dwelled on the negative points.
We chose this hotel/riad based on the website photos & trip adviser reviews & are curious why there is only 1 similar review to ours (we only saw this one after we returned).

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room, you will be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just a review to say thank you to the hotel. We spent the easter bank holiday weekend in Marrakesh and booked this hotel online. The food was great and custom made daily. Although there was no buffet, the food reflected genuine Moroccan cuisine and was exceptional. The breakfast was good and although would start at 8am with request could start from 7am.

The rooms were wide and spacious and the decor really reminiscent of the old Riyads that one would expect.The grounds are nice and the staff are all caring and approachable.

This is an excellent hotel for anyone who wishes to get an authentic taste of Morocco in a building that makes you feel like an amir of old! Very highly regarded and recommended.

Dr Mo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at el miria in the dark but when the doors open we were in a beautiful court yard where the Badia introduced herself she escorted to the lounge area for morocain tea a biscuits while our paper work was sorted, our room was fantastic huge bed and ensuite was wonderful and smelled gorgeous. The spa and facilities were amazing. Lovely pool and lounge area, food was good. A truly amazing place to get away from everything and just relax because the chaos that is marrakech is only a taxi ride away ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and I have just returned after a wonderful stay at the EL Miria Palais. This hotel is beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, warm helpful staff, lovely pool. We would highly recommend it in every way, our one comment would be that as non meat eaters there was no fish on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

For our first trip to Morocco and Marrakech I decided to go for the oasis rather than the medina and according to my wife I got it perfect. With such a myriad of choices this Riad rose above expectations and provided us a quality lasting impression of our 4 days here. The decor is amazing from the wooden carved roof in the entrance to the furnishings throughout the rooms and the main dining area, as well as the pool and spa lighting. We had a wonderful balcony overlooking the Riad pooland grounds and a panoramic of Marrakech and the surrounding Atlas Mtns. It is Moroccan tradition to show humble on the outside and display wealth on the inside. Do not be dismayed by your approach to the Le Miria as the area is under slow development. Also note the sign on the road is small and difficult to see as you drive by it? Badiaa is an amazing host and will help you out with anything, so ask her. They run a shuttle (15 minutes into medina) but you need to ask about it. Hope you enjoy it as much we did!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The interior of the hotel and room are fabulous, servied daily, really clean and had a great shower with plush details. We were also lucky enough to be given a free upgrade as the hotel was quiet. The staff were smiley and generally helpful, although as we could not speak French, it was difficult to communicate and found it difficult in getting information as there wasn't any in our room regarding the shuttle bus/treatments etc. The Spa was great, and I highly recommend the Hamman, it leaves your skin feeling amazing and was really good value. The breakfast was good, generally the same every day (bread and pastries). The dinner menu was ok but limited and a little bland for our tastes consisting of tagine's and Italian food, The service was top class and we had a few nice dishes but would have loved more choice. I would recommned this hotel for a quiet break, however, if you are looking for something a little more social, closer to other restaurants/bars, I would suggest looking closer to Gueliz and coming here for a day spa as it can feel a little isolating and alcohol was on the expensive side. We stayed here in January, so it was too cold to use the pool, so visiting here in the spring/summer months would be ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Miria Palais Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Miria Palais Riad

Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Miria Palace is situated on one of the oldest oases of Marrakech. It was recently built in the purest Arabian-Moresque style similar to the grand vizier's residences. All the rooms of the hotel have the comforts expected in an establishment of very high standing to incite guests to feel like Sultan and Sultana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Miria Palais Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Miria Palais Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.