We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Papillon to your Saves list
Riad Papillon
15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Riad Papillon, earlier this month, and had a fabulous time, the Riad is lovely and the staff are very welcoming, the rooms are very comfortable and having the outside space to sit with a book was so relaxing. We had dinner in the riad twice and the food was excellent on both occasions.
Zee was a wonderful host and very helpful when our luggage was delayed and we had to contact the airport a number of times, he also gave us lots of useful tips for getting the best out of our visit to Marrakech.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
59
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Riad Papillon. What an excellent find - surpassing all expectation. Zouhair and " the Ladies" could not have been more welcoming. The Riad is a lovely blend of old and new , with traditional Morrocan architecture as well as the new mod cons of WiFi , Air-conditioning etc.
The location is perfect for exploring Marrakech - Zouhair provided us with maps as well as a mobile phone , very useful. The meals were excellent - especially the lamb and vegetable tagines.
We all became lovers of Mint Tea and can heartily recommend sipping , when feet immersed in the dipping pool following a hard afternoon haggling in the souks.
Many thanks to all..........I am sure we will return......

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The rooms were very nice and we enjoyed the quiet location, but it was really Zouhair that made this such a wonderful experience. He gave some fantastic suggestions for dining, spas and shopping that really made our last day in Marrakech special without breaking the bank. Also we were frazzled the first evening when we got back to the riad and realized we had left a camera out in the souks; Zouhair immediately got on his bike to go retrieve it for us -- amazing!! Would highly recommend Riad Papillon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good location within easy walking distance of the medina. The accomodation is ok. My room was on the ground floor and was very dark I understand that this is due to the design but better lighting would have helped.
The roof terrace is a relaxing place to sit especially in the evening, the only shame is the large plastic sheeting covering the open area of the courtyard. The reason for my score is
the level of service in this Riad is fantastic and the staff were always happy to help with all requests . Well done Zouhair.








Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The rooms at Riad Papillon are not huge, and it's not incredibly luxurious, but it's comfortable and located just inside one of the main entrances to the Median (Dar el Bacha), so access to other parts of the city is easy.

Zee, who seems to be at the riad 24/7, is incredibly attentive, friendly, and informative, and he really pushes the quality of the stay here over the top. Many thanks to him for all his help during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Eight of us stayed two nights and were able to have the riad to ourselves. We were completely spoilt by Zouhair and his colleagues, nothing was too much trouble. It was so peaceful amid the buzzing city. Our rooms were cool but the terrace basked in sunshine. The plunge pool was bracing but perfect after a bustling day in the souks. We were given a banquet on our first night, vegetarian and non veg food delicious. A safe and tranquil home to return to after a day out in the city. Use of the riad mobile was such a great idea.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful and we had some made into twin rooms and some double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the two first floor bedrooms. The riad is centrally located for all the main sights and attractions of the medina and offered a tranquil, cool and welcome retreat from the frenetic hours of exploring the souks and sightseeing. The air conditioned rooms were very comfortable and had a mini fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks and water. Although dark by their very nature, the bedrooms opened onto the bright interior courtyard with its fountain and dipping pool.
We breakfasted on the roof terrace and had a dinner prepared for our arrival - a tagine for myself and my husband and grilled fish for the others in our party. The food was plentiful and quite good.
This was my second visit to Marrakech and what stood out above all else was the kindness and helpfulness of the staff, especially Sa'id, who was extremely attentive and accommodating. He took time to point out the most direct way through the souks to the Jemaa el Fna square and made restaurant recommendations which were excellent. He arranged a morning's sightseeing via caleche and took us to the meeting point, waiting with us until our transport arrived.
All in all, a great stay and value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Since there were four of us, it was nice to have the privacy of the two fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.