We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice riad, made excellent due to the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Papillon to your Saves list
Riad Papillon
15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice riad, made excellent due to the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The rooms at Riad Papillon are not huge, and it's not incredibly luxurious, but it's comfortable and located just inside one of the main entrances to the Median (Dar el Bacha), so access to other parts of the city is easy.

Zee, who seems to be at the riad 24/7, is incredibly attentive, friendly, and informative, and he really pushes the quality of the stay here over the top. Many thanks to him for all his help during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
59
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Eight of us stayed two nights and were able to have the riad to ourselves. We were completely spoilt by Zouhair and his colleagues, nothing was too much trouble. It was so peaceful amid the buzzing city. Our rooms were cool but the terrace basked in sunshine. The plunge pool was bracing but perfect after a bustling day in the souks. We were given a banquet on our first night, vegetarian and non veg food delicious. A safe and tranquil home to return to after a day out in the city. Use of the riad mobile was such a great idea.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful and we had some made into twin rooms and some double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the two first floor bedrooms. The riad is centrally located for all the main sights and attractions of the medina and offered a tranquil, cool and welcome retreat from the frenetic hours of exploring the souks and sightseeing. The air conditioned rooms were very comfortable and had a mini fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks and water. Although dark by their very nature, the bedrooms opened onto the bright interior courtyard with its fountain and dipping pool.
We breakfasted on the roof terrace and had a dinner prepared for our arrival - a tagine for myself and my husband and grilled fish for the others in our party. The food was plentiful and quite good.
This was my second visit to Marrakech and what stood out above all else was the kindness and helpfulness of the staff, especially Sa'id, who was extremely attentive and accommodating. He took time to point out the most direct way through the souks to the Jemaa el Fna square and made restaurant recommendations which were excellent. He arranged a morning's sightseeing via caleche and took us to the meeting point, waiting with us until our transport arrived.
All in all, a great stay and value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Since there were four of us, it was nice to have the privacy of the two fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Riad Papillion for 4 nights. We were there for a hen party - highly recommended to stay at this Riad for a big party. Zee and all the staff were great and really made us feel at home. The Riad is beautiful and location is great to experience true Marrakech. We had dinner at the Riad one night and entertainment (belly dancer) was provided too. Really well organised and our whole party had a great time! Thanks again to all the Riad Papillion staff!

Room Tip: All rooms are ensuite and very well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

From the moment we booked our stay, the staff were amazingly helpful, e-mailing to suggest an airport pickup (well worth it, we would never have found it in the heart of the medina's back streets) and lamb tagine on the first night. We were met from the taxi by Aziz who walked us to the Riad and immediately made us feel at home and welcome.

We were given a map and useful information about what to do, including how to haggle! The food was plentiful and the breakfast very tasty. Our room was small but sweet. It was a shame we were there during two unusually cold days so couldn't use the roof terrace.

The staff make this place and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Riad Papillon is an absolute gem - a haven of calm and tranquility, right in the heart of the Medina. You really do feel like you're staying in a friend's home - everything is super-relaxed, with breakfast served at a time to suit you and lots of comfy sofas to unwind on, inside the riad and on the rooftop terrace. There were some lovely thoughtful touches, including a mobile phone to call the riad staff if you get lost in the Souks maze, great tips on local restaurants and a surprise birthday cake for our friend's birthday. The rooms are beautifully furnished (if a little dark!) and very quiet despite the riad's central location, so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep (in very comfy beds!). It's worth asking the riad staff their advice on things to do - we booked a trip to the Atlas mountains which was a highlight of our trip and good value for a full day out with a local guide. We booked through Hip Marrakech who were really helpful - they responded super-quick to all our emails, gave some great advice and helped us choose the best riad for us, advising on those that could cater for gluten-free diets in particular. Riad Papillon and their lovely team (especially Aziz) are just what you need to come back to after a fabulous day out sightseeing and we would definitely recommend staying there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at Riad Papillon for 17 days over Dec '13.
The staff are amazing, so attentive and helpful.
Located in the Medina it makes it a pleasure to find your way around and back to the Riad again.
Zee also arranged a few tours for us.
Zagora trip is a must if you don't get car sick.
We highly recommend a visit to this Riad.
Colin & Sonja Bouwer
South Africa

Room Tip: The only room I would not recommend is the Rose room. The rest are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.