We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Papillon

Save Saved
You added Riad Papillon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Papillon
15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My second stay at Riad Papillon and I have to say that it was just as good my first visit. It's a beautiful riad, cosy and very homely. It is located close to beautiful shops which sell amazing pieces of jewellery, candles and handmade shoes. The meals are amazing and Zouhair and the girls go out of their way to ensure that you have a everything you need. Thank you soooo much for making us feel so welcome...we're definitely coming back soon! Ami, Pinky, Nisha & Vimi x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend in Morocco staying at Riad Papillon - it was absolutely amazing! The riad is situated right in the centre so you can easily get everywhere, the feeling is so relaxed & tranquil. All the staff were so helpful & friendly. We had a meal at the riad on the first night and it was my favourite of the whole weekend. The breakfasts were lovely aswell!
I am already thinking about when I can go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and 7 other ladies have just returned after an amazing 3 nights stay for my hen weekend, where we took over 4 of the beautifully decorated rooms! The riad was beautiful and peaceful despite being so close to the souks! Which was an added bonus! The location was perfect and everything was easily accesible! Zuhair and the ladies that ran the place did an excellent job and made sure we had anything we wanted or needed and always with a smile on their face. I couldn't have asked for a better time and hope to return to Riad Papillon someday! Thank you! :-) from Emma and her chicks x

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a lovely couple of days here. Very friendly and helpful staff Great breakfast and a lovely meal on our first evening. It was so nice to have a meal on the terrace and not have to bother to go out.
Thw Riad is in a great position too. Easy to get to all the places of interest.
The rooms were lovely and clean with a lovely comfortable bed. Thanks again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this place as part of a yoga retreat, everything was amazing. We were met by the host Zee and he attended to our every wish and more. He was very approachable, friendly and professional. This really made such a difference to our holiday, as nothing was too much trouble!

The riad itself is beautiful, small and perfectly formed as they say! Rooms very nice with nice detail and personal touches. Would definitely return. Thank you Riad Papillon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in this riad twice on the same trip, once in a room on the first floor and once in a room on the ground floor. I preferred the room on the first floor but all the rooms are beautifully decorated with pretty wall hangings, rose petals on the bed, and incense burning to welcome you. The bathrooms are absolutely stunning and the double shower in our first floor room was a lovely touch. There is a nice plunge pool in the middle of the courtyard and sweet little birds flying around. The roof terrace is a great spot to relax in the sun (complete with tortoise!) and the breakfast is absolutely fantastic with lots of choice. The staff are helpful and informative and can sort you out with a light lunch or things like laundry. I would stay here again as it's very well situated for the Djemma El-Fna etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Were in Marrakech celebrating a 50th birthday (Just girls) and have never enjoyed a stay this much anywhere else. The Riad is clean and very accessible and very safe especially fro ladies travellin gon their own. great for couples and large families as well. The staff are very accommodating and nothing was a problem. Zeher the manager at the Riad was awesome and could not do enough for us. (Forgot my Chopard watch in the Riad and he drove it to the airport immediately). He was a bundle of information and gave us very valuable tips on the ins and outs of Marrakech and always advised us honestly and not for any kind of gain.The girls at the Riad were always smiling and happy to do their best for us. Breakfast, Dinner, Lunches and tea were served anytime and the food was delicious. All home made and very fresh. Home away from home and enjoyed the Riad experience. To be honest I don't think I would stay anywhere but this Riad on any future visits to Marrakech! Highly Recommend this Riad!

Room Tip: The Hibiscus room is a double room and beautiful and on the 1st floor. Although all the rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.