We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Papillon to your Saves list
Riad Papillon
15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

While everything at this riad was brilliant the helpfulness of the staff was the best I've ever experienced. They really went above and beyond what was expected of them, with everything from directions to telling us how much we should be paying for things. The rooms were excellent and food is delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this Riad with my boyfriend for 4 nights. The staff are extremely helpful and because the Riad is staffed 24/7 there is always someone to answer your questions. We were welcomed with a lovely meal of Lamb Tagine cooked by one of the ladies. I would highly recommend this if you land late in the evening, as we did. We were provided with a mobile in case we got lost in the souks, however we never needed to use it. Overall I would highly recommend this beautiful, clean Riad located in a tranquil central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Riad Papillon for 3 lovely nights during June. We were met at the airport as requested and driven to the Riad. Yassim (apologies if the spelling is incorrect) greeted us off the taxi with a warm welcome and a smile. As we walked the short distance taking in the sights, smells etc we wondered where we were going but when the front door was opnend we instantly loved it. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms had everything we needed, all of the staff were very friendly, Yassim in particular, gave us lots of information. Overall, it was in a great location - a great base to begin exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We only have praise for this riad and the staff at this guesthouse! We stayed for three nights at the beginning of May 2013 and stayed in the Rose room for all three nights. This was the beginning of our journey in Morocco and we feel that we got a first-hand feel of what Moroccan hospitality is all about. From the minute we arrived in the Medina we were greeted by Abdel from the riad who walked us to the premises and explained to us our whereabouts. For the next three days, he was just exceptional. He went out of his way to accommodate us - he even accompanied us to a medical clinic in order to ensure our safety and well-being. The manager Abdou even found time to call to the clinic to help us out.

The riad was super - great room on the ground floor, lovely shower, beautiful roof terrace for breakfast and late afternoon drinks! We felt at home but more importantly, we feel that we have discovered another family in Morocco!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I found Riad Papillon at the Destinations exhibition in London and met with the delightful owners Mike and Louise. We love their environmentally friendly approach and their passion for Morocco-this is why we chose their place (as well as the fact we got an amazing deal for staying there for 10 days!)
The staff were quite incredible the service level is not really comparable to other hotels because they basically take care of you as if you were a long lost friend. Abdilla even went to the post office for us (2 miles away) because we couldnt find anywhere to buy stamps!!!
We ate at several different restaurants-cafe de la poste, la studio, maison arabe but I have to say that none of these was as good as the lamb tagine that Hasna and Meriem cooked for us on our arrival evening. They even gave us a free cookery demo.
We felt totally at home here and even though our room was a bit smaller than some of the higher priced riads we have stayed at before it was cosy and full of character.
Highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: We loved the bougainvilia room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in marrakech where we stayed at riad papillon for 4 nights. The riad is in a great location - right in the heart of the medina but very peaceful and quiet. The staff were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner on the roof terrace on the night we arrived - a fantastic lamb tagine. Breakfast was served whenever we wanted it - no set time. We were given loads of useful information and a mobile phone incase we got lost. The riad also arranged our pick up and drop off at the airport which I would recommend. All in all, a wonderful stay - our first time in Morocco. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A group of 9 University friends stayed at Riad Papillon and had the most wonderful trip to Marrakech. Our 4 night stay was made perfect by the very accommodating staff who were constantly helping us, guiding us, booking taxis, making tea - there was nothing that was too much trouble. The bedrooms are very clean and are centered around a courtyard. The Riad is situated at the end of a narrow street so it had no passing noise, in fact it provided a real oasis of tranquility from the hustle of the city.We had pre-booked supper on arrival which was delicious(on the roof terrace) and airport transfers which were faultless. If you are looking for a city break that provides a change in culture as well as a recharge of your batteries then Riad Papillon, Marrakech is the place to be. Thank you to all the staff, we will be recommending you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.