We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil well placed riad in a central location with excellent service and ideal for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Papillon

Save Saved
You added Riad Papillon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Papillon
15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil well placed riad in a central location with excellent service and ideal for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thi was our first time in marrekech and we really enjoyed our stay at Riad Papillion.with only three other couples staying and staff on site it was well run.there was air conditioning in our room great for warm evenings.breakfast on the roof terrace if you wanted and evening meal too if ordered. In advance.lovely staff.would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Many thanks to everyone at the Riad Papillon who made our trip to Marrakech so enjoyable. We arrived late evening and enjoyed a lovely dinner on the terrace. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and a bit different every day.. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our transport to and from the airport organised by the riad, this was really useful and very efficient. The riad provided us with a mobile phone in case we needed any assistance, although we didn't need it, it was reassuring as a number of our party had been there before. As a first time visitor I would have welcomed the phone. The staff also gave us useful advice and helped with our bookings for dinner.
The riad was cool and tranquil with lovely rooms. There were plenty of settees and chairs and the roof terrace is perfect for a bit of piece and quiet and a pot of mint tea.
Following a missed flight on our journey home the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We cant thank them enough for their assistance in our hour of need.
ps I would like to have bought some of the knick knacks from the hotel. Something to think about

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at Riad Papillon with our two children. The lovely Abdel is so welcoming and went out of his way to make sure we had all the information needed for a safe and enjoyable stay in Marrakech. He even lent us a phone in case we needed to call him.
The Riad is an oasis from the chaos of the city - plenty of space to sit and chill, lovely rooftop terrace and very tasteful furniture.

The only slight disappointment was the plunge pool - a bit small for the kids, but it wasn't advertised as a swimming pool.
All in all, recommended!

Thanks again, Abdel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Would really recommended this beautiful Riyadh.stayed for 3nights in a lovely room the quality of the bedding and furnishings were excellent.The staff were all extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay.Breakfasts were served on the roof terrace ,there was shade if required and the food was fresh and tasty.
Got a bit lost in the Souk but having the mobile phones from the Riyadh helped us get back on track.Would definitely stay here again and recommend Marrakech to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely ,cool enough to get a great nights sleep it was called Hibiscus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was our first trip to Marrakech and so considered staying in one of the main big hotel groups. So glad we changed our minds!! This is such a beautiful and well run Riad and our thanks go out to all the staff who made or 6 day stay so memorable. We opted to be picked up by the Riad driver and be met by Abdou as the Riad is tucked away cos we were late arriving. This removes all the stress at the airport and the haggling which, quite frankly didn't want to think about it. After our first nights guide to the city, dos and donts by the staff we were off and out the following morning and didn't get lost too many times nor did we need to use the emergency mobile provided by the staff. Such a great idea. So many things to say but these have already been said by others. We really enjoyed the city, our trip to the Atlas Mountains too (was a hard slog but well worth it so if your going to do this then take some good walking trainers or shoes).

That said, we are definitely planning another trip. We stayed 7th to 12th March and had glorious 25degree weather...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Papillion between 31st January and 4th February with 10 other ladies. We had the whole Riad to ourselves which was great!

We had arragned the the Riad to be picked up from the airport and our driver was waiting for us and dropped us at a drop off point where we were then greeted by Yassin our Riad host for our duration. We arrived during the day time and were led along some winding passage ways until we reached our Riad. On first entering the Riad, it was absolutely amazing, we were given a tour around this minature palace and taken on to the roof terrace where we were provided with a much needed Mint Tea in the beautiful sunshine.

Yassin was very helpful and showed us various routes and memorable places in order that we would not get too lost within the Souks, we were also given a mobile phone with his number linked so that if we required help, we could give him a call. I think that this was a very good idea as myself and friend did need to use this service once. Although part of the fun of Marrakech is to get lost in the Souks.

The Riad staff were very helpful - Yassin who was our host and advisor and the maids and kitchen staff who were very sweet and charming, Nothing was too much bother for them. Often my friend and I would arrive back to the Riad for tea/ coffee on the roof terrace after a day out - this was free and part of our stay.

Breakfast was basic but very nice. Consisted of yoghurt, fruit, breads with jams and egg based dish (scrambled, omlette, etc) and also a pancake or other type savoury/ sweet item, with teas/ coffees and fresh orange juice. Again the breakfast was included in the price of the Riad.

The rooms were all very nice 4 rooms with two beds (or doubles) and one room with 3 beds or (1 double and 1 single). The bathroom facilities were good and we were also provided with toilettries, slippers and robes. Fresh towels each day and our rooms cleaned and beds made.

We opted to have dinner at the Riad on the first night and paid £16 per person for a feast of moroccan delights and entertainment. It was a nice way in which to spend our first night as a group of friends before taking on Marrakech.

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone thinking about staying here. You are close to the main medina, taxis, bus routes and souks.

It was a bit cold in the Riad during the night but this was to be expected during early February. Extra blankets were provided.

Room Tip: Rose room has capacity for three beds but has the smallest bathroom of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Visited this riad in February. It was a group off 11 ladies so we were fortunate enough to have the riad all to ourselves. Bliss!

We arrived and meet very easily by our transfer and meet at the end of the transfer by Yassan who relieved us of our luggage. We were then led through the winding streets to the riad. We had dinner that night which was nice. We also had some entertainment in the form of 2 men playing some instruments and interacting with us! Very interesting.

The riad itself was lovely. The rooms although quite small were lovely and spacious enough for the 2 people that were staying in it. (One room had 3 people). It was furnished beautifully the bathrooms were all very nice. It got cold in the evenings, so we slept with the air conditioning on and under blankets.

The communal areas were all very nice and the terrace was lovely. We enjoyed sitting up there for breakfast and at night, although a little chilli in Feb!

Breakfast in the morning consisted of fruit, yogurt, an egg based dish, bread with butter and jams and fresh orange juice, tea and coffee. It was a lovely start to the day.

We were also given a mobile phone to communicate with the staff if we got lost and they could help us to find our way back. There was a little shop on the corner by the riad so that was convenient also, although nothing was too far away.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.