We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Beautiful Riad - Peace and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Save Saved
You added Al Fassia Aguedal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Fassia Aguedal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MH 9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Beautiful Riad - Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned with the family from our 4 night stay at the Al Fassia Aguedal. It was the best decision we made. The riad was quiet and peaceful and all you can hear are the birds singing.
The rooms are beautiful and clean, with huge rain showers. We booked one suite and one deluxe room and both were huge rooms with Sofa and dressing area and large cupboards.
We had breakfast each day next to the pool - and it was a very different breakfast we have never experienced. It was all fresh and healthy and although not the traditional breakfast it was still amazing - fresh orange juice, fruit, yogurt, jams, bread and cake and pancakes and eggs.
The staff were very friendly and helpful always willing to help and provide a 5 star service.
We chose this Riad as we wanted to be away from the noise and crowd and wanted peace and quiet but also close enough to get a taxi to the centre. We also chose this Riad as it was very safe - there is a wall all around the Riad and whenever we returned to the Riad in the evening the security guard would ring the bell to let us in.
The location is very practical too - there is a cinema nearby (not sure if they play english movies), and a large shopping centre where there is a food court if you want some "english" food - Pizza Hut, Dominos, TGI Friday, Virgin Cafe..... and a Carrefour which was very useful to get bottled water for 30p and some snacks like crisps etc. We used to walk here and back in the evening at 10pm and it was perfectly safe - I would stick to the main road rather than use the walk path as it was a little dark.
This is a beautiful Riad ran by the wonderful owner Myra who is most helpful and the lovely staff which makes you feel that you are staying at home. You will not make the wrong decision if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: We had one room facing the back road - which had views of the agdal gardens (do not visit this - i h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
114
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is in an area not too far from the airport, opposite to Jardin Agdal. It is gated... in ryad style with courtyard in the center. The staff are very friendly and wonderful. It is also closed to a shopping center with supermarket called Carrefour on the ground floor. They included free breakfasts with our room rate...toasts with orange juice, fruit salad, coffee or tea, and yogurt. The restaurant inside the hotel is also very nice. Their food is very tasty and inexpensive . The starter is from 80 durhams and the entree is from 110 durhams. My favorite is Mixed Kabob which is only 120 durhams. You need to take a taxi to Medina which is the main tourist spot. I stayed in one of the ryad in Medina and ran away to find a safer place to stay. I was very happy here. Medina is not a safe area to stay. Most of ryads are in residential areas of local people with winding, dark, scary , and narrow roads. There were groups of men gathering along these roads which made me feel
unsafe, frightened , and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Stay here if safety is your concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We chose this guest house because the Trip Advisor reviews were so good. Well we were not disappointed at all. I emailed before we arrived and asked if them to arrange a pickup at the airport. This worked very well and was cheaper than using the airport taxis service. The guest house is only 20 mins drive from the airport and there was a warm welcome when we arrived. The guest house is situated a couple of miles from the Medina and it is much quieter being away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The taxi ride to the medina is very cheap and there are plenty of taxis outside the guest house. We did walk one morning and it was a bit too far in the heat. The temp was about 22-25c and in the sun it far more even thought it was January! At night it did drop a lot and we needed jumpers and heater when sitting outside in the restaurants. We could not fault the service at all with all the staff being very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room overlooked the pool and was very spacious with a welcome bowl of fruit when we arrived. We had several meals round the pool for lunch and also had a very nice evening meal in the main restaurant. The bath room had a large bath with a shower over. Very substantial towels and no issues with hot water in the morning or evenings. The air conditioning worked well and we only needed this during the day as the nights were chilly so we had to put the air conditioning on heat. The pool was cold and we braved the water only one day! We would highly recommend this and would return if we were going back due to the quite location and friendly staff. There is a shopping mall a 5 min walk away with restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very impressed with this riad! Al-fassia was recommended by a friend who stayed there last year-it exceeded all expectations! Stayed 1week with husband and 2year old-absolutely loved the calmness and tranquility this riad offered, my daughter absolutely loved the staff and they were extremely helpful in heating her milk, etc. I found the location to be ideal as short cab ride away frm medina but far enough to escape the madness. Will definitely be revisiting next time in marrakech. Sofia the manager especially helpful, all in all a terrific riad which I highly reccomend

Room Tip: If u need anything just ask they will try upmost best to provide it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm writing this review 2 years later than I should have, For some reason its always been at the back of mind but with so many things going on in a busy life I thought I'd better say a few words before i forget completely.
I am very impressed with this lovely hotel its got great rooms all decked out in a traditional Moroccan style with tiled floors and walls with stunning coloured stain glass windows. The owner and staff were extremely friendly and arranged a sight seeing tour locally and further afield at the drop of a hat. The pool was clean and really lovely to swim in after a hot sweaty day inside the walls of the old city which is only a 10 minutes drive away. This place has also got a top class restaurant attached to it where you should eat because it has the best traditional Moroccan food you will find in the whole Marrakesh.I will go back soon just because it was so good and a real oasis in the desert.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here after spending several nights at Myra's other Riad in Fez. It's a long walk or short cab ride from the center of town but worth it. Not only are the food and service exceptional but you'll be greeted at breakfast by Myra Chad the proprietor and quintessential hostess who will share her gracious spirt (and even her dentist). Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Al Fassia Aguedal was the perfect stay for our honeymoon. My wife and I were really excited about both taking a cultural trip as well as laying by the pool and relaxing, and Al Fassia hit the mark on both fronts. Sophia, the reception manager, was instrumental in helping us find the best places to visit both on a tourist level and for those quaint and stylish little restaurants and cafés that litter the medina which would take forever to find, if you managed to locate them at all, and she gave us detailed maps and acceptable costs for taxis to shuttle between the 'must see' sights of Marrakech.
We wanted to take her with us everywhere we went!!
Myra, the Hotel Manager was welcoming, funny, and hit the mark perfectly with being there enough to feel that presence of someone who is in charge, without 'over-managing' by always looking over the staff's shoulders.
The rooms were superb; spacious, beautifully furnished, and with modern amenities whilst maintaining the classic Moroccan style.
The bathroom was bigger than my house and the shower was powerful, with a dinner plate sized faucet.
Unfortunately we didn't get to sample the Moorish shaped pool. Many Moroccan pools I believe are not heated, but had we travelled in the hotter months we could quite see ourselves staying way too long by the poolside, finding it difficult to pull ourselves away from the stylish wooden deck beds adorned with deep mattresses and pre laid lounge towels to head into town.
Taxi's were booked by Sophia and were booked on a meter price plus a standard fee. But here's where you have to watch yourself.
These prices change daily, in fact they change from the beginning of the journey to the end. We had many a fight with a driver for changing prices, giving wrong change etc. no fault of the hotel, but simply something that you have to be prepared for when enjoying the benefits of a hotel on the fringes of town. Sophia told us that even she had to deal with this on a regular basis, so this exercise is not just reserved for the tourists.
Do look at taking the bus though. Although no one seemed to know many details about the bus, you can catch a no. 25 or 251 (I think) from the back of the building. And for only 50p per person to Jemaa El Fna. Arrival every 20 minutes and the price is fixed, for the journey duration at least.
Sadly we didnt have chance to sample the restaurant food, but the menu and seating area looked spacious and stylish, and if its sister restaurant in Gueliz is anything to go by (the Geuliz restaurant is currently ranked #31 of 388!) you're in for a treat.
They also offer a Hammam and massage service, but we had already booked into one in town prior to arrival.
All in all, a great stay, and it contributed enormously to a wonderful 5 days.
It'll be top of my list again when we return.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Fassia Aguedal

Address: MH 9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Fassia Aguedal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Al Fassia Aguedal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia Aguedal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.