We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia Aguedal

Save Saved
You added Al Fassia Aguedal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Fassia Aguedal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MH 9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here after spending several nights at Myra's other Riad in Fez. It's a long walk or short cab ride from the center of town but worth it. Not only are the food and service exceptional but you'll be greeted at breakfast by Myra Chad the proprietor and quintessential hostess who will share her gracious spirt (and even her dentist). Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
113
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Al Fassia Aguedal was the perfect stay for our honeymoon. My wife and I were really excited about both taking a cultural trip as well as laying by the pool and relaxing, and Al Fassia hit the mark on both fronts. Sophia, the reception manager, was instrumental in helping us find the best places to visit both on a tourist level and for those quaint and stylish little restaurants and cafés that litter the medina which would take forever to find, if you managed to locate them at all, and she gave us detailed maps and acceptable costs for taxis to shuttle between the 'must see' sights of Marrakech.
We wanted to take her with us everywhere we went!!
Myra, the Hotel Manager was welcoming, funny, and hit the mark perfectly with being there enough to feel that presence of someone who is in charge, without 'over-managing' by always looking over the staff's shoulders.
The rooms were superb; spacious, beautifully furnished, and with modern amenities whilst maintaining the classic Moroccan style.
The bathroom was bigger than my house and the shower was powerful, with a dinner plate sized faucet.
Unfortunately we didn't get to sample the Moorish shaped pool. Many Moroccan pools I believe are not heated, but had we travelled in the hotter months we could quite see ourselves staying way too long by the poolside, finding it difficult to pull ourselves away from the stylish wooden deck beds adorned with deep mattresses and pre laid lounge towels to head into town.
Taxi's were booked by Sophia and were booked on a meter price plus a standard fee. But here's where you have to watch yourself.
These prices change daily, in fact they change from the beginning of the journey to the end. We had many a fight with a driver for changing prices, giving wrong change etc. no fault of the hotel, but simply something that you have to be prepared for when enjoying the benefits of a hotel on the fringes of town. Sophia told us that even she had to deal with this on a regular basis, so this exercise is not just reserved for the tourists.
Do look at taking the bus though. Although no one seemed to know many details about the bus, you can catch a no. 25 or 251 (I think) from the back of the building. And for only 50p per person to Jemaa El Fna. Arrival every 20 minutes and the price is fixed, for the journey duration at least.
Sadly we didnt have chance to sample the restaurant food, but the menu and seating area looked spacious and stylish, and if its sister restaurant in Gueliz is anything to go by (the Geuliz restaurant is currently ranked #31 of 388!) you're in for a treat.
They also offer a Hammam and massage service, but we had already booked into one in town prior to arrival.
All in all, a great stay, and it contributed enormously to a wonderful 5 days.
It'll be top of my list again when we return.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a 4 night stay in a new city and the hotel staff were so brilliant in their support and recommendations. They saved us a fortune in taxi fares by explaining the 'normal' cost rather than the asked for amount.
The hotel itself was cosy with good sized quirky rooms. Service was great with wishes often anticipated. Breakfast was very fresh and no hint of full English which is a refreshing change in any hotel theses days. I would recommend this hotel without reservation for a relaxing stay just outside the madness of the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 4 nights winter 2013. We arrived at the airport and the cabs refused to go less than 250 dh so we called the hotel and were picked up in less than 20 minutes for 120. When we arrived, had tea and cookies and a lovely conversation about Marrakech/received a nice map we used the whole time, tour of the riad, and walking directions and cab parameters. Our room was large and nicely decorated and quiet and dark at night. Cookies and fruit and water waiting when we arrived and the bed was turned down every night (this hotel was very clean and well maintained). The shower was great - hot water and a rainfall head. The pool area was beautiful and you can have a drink there - there are 2 lovely lounge rooms, one with a fire, to read in at night. All staff were really pleasant and helpful and made you feel welcome. We ate at the restaurant twice and enjoyed it both times/plus, it was really nice to spend the day in the city, come back exhausted and crash by the pool, then have a late dinner and relax in the room after.

The only thing is this is a walk (2km) into town. I can't say this is a drawback because we liked how quiet and peaceful this was being a bit out of town, and you walk in on a nice pedestrian pathway (30 min). Walking at night felt pretty safe/and there are tons of cabs along the way if you change your mind. You can take a quick cab too ... But they will try to rip you off (it should be about 40 dh in at night). The city tourist bus stops in front of the mall 3 times a day too (the Aguedal Tour, I think the first time is 10a / you can buy tickets on the bus)

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband Bob and I stayed at the hotel for a week from 8th Feb. From the moment you are welcomed in and the gates are shut behind you, you are in an oasis of tranquility and relaxation. Mira a flawless diamond in management and her team of precious gems look after you so unobtrusively and well. All is spotlessly clean, rooms are spacious with very comfy beds, fruit , pastries,water and flowers were waiting for us in our room on our arrrival.We were desperate for a rest (running a small hotel ourselves) and a rest is what we got, the breakfast suited us very well....lots of it and very fresh, served on the sunlit terrace....no time limit when to have it too...a lovely bonus. We ate most evenings at the fantastic in house restaurant. Service was great,food too and a fab place to people watch...it was packed every night with the great and good of Marrakech plus most of the guests from the hotel. All in all it was a wonderful experience, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town but still easy to get to by taxi...10 mins or walking...30 mins. Great attention to detail in every way, a good fairy came in every night and turned down the bed......beautifully. All the staff were smiley and serene and quietly attentive....loved it...will return....soon I hope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is the best restaurant I went to in Marrakech. The atmosphere is warm, with good music, excellent food and great service. My wife and I went for a dinner during our last night in town and could not have made a better choice. I recommend the Morroccan red wine and for dessert the crepes with honey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Breakfast was disappointing, It was very basic and consisted of mainly bread and pastries, Orange juice ( which was good) and coffee which was not of a good quality. If you ask, however, they will make you a fresh omelet or attempt at crepes.

The Hotel is a bit far out of town for my liking and I guess I should have made more enquiries as to the exact location. Using taxis to and from was expensive and a hassle as the majority of the taxis we used hiked their prices with a different price each time. So be sure to agree on a price ahead of time.

Marrakesh, once considered a chic destination, began a tremendous construction boom which has now evaporated as a result of the global financial crisis. The result of which is now a very polluted skyline which can be seen upon landing at the airport, as well as an incredible amount of dirt which blows around everywhere thanks to the now barren construction sites. You will see this on the way to this hotel.

It must be mentioned that there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, so you are either stuck with eating at the overpriced hotel restaurant, or, once again you must take taxis to and from the newer par of the city. It all added up considerably to the cost.

Overall, we found this hotel expensive for what it had to offer and indeed for its out of town location. Look for less expensive hotels in a more central location reducing the need for troublesome taxis.

On the plus side, the rooms were immaculately clean and large, the staff was lovely and accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Fassia Aguedal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Fassia Aguedal

Address: MH 9bis route de l'Ourika, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Fassia Aguedal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Al Fassia Aguedal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia Aguedal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.